We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family ski trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water House on Main Street Breckenridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Water House on Main Street Breckenridge to your Saves list
Water House on Main Street Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   600 Columbine Road, PO Box 1190, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off Breckenridge, CO
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family ski trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in 5111 and were very pleased with the accommodation which was on the ground floor (it features in some of the Resort Quest images).

The furnishings were high spec, comfortable and useable. The master bedroom was spacious, had an extremely comfortable king bed & a lovely bathroom. Each bedroom was equipped with a humidifier. I would agree with a previous comment that the second bedroom was a bit cramped with 2 twin beds pushed next to each other, but our kids seemed quite happy (maybe it was the distraction of the plasma TV & DVD machine!)

The kitchen was well stocked for cooking and had every implement that we required.

There was a washer and dryer in the unit and there was even laundry detergent and a laundry basket provided.

Free WIFI, DVD player and flatscreen TV's in both bedrooms and the living room. Great loan DVD service (free one DVD per 24 hour slot).

The heated pool and hot tubs were great, and it was good to have bathrobes provided for the short walk from the condo.

It is a c 100m walk to the lift. En route you store / pick up your skis at the "grand storage" under main street station - they were very organised & helpful, although it's still a bit of a trek to the lift. We booked rentals through our holiday company, but numerous companies offer rental packages & deals, so be sure to do your research.

The condo was not inexpensive, but was fair value, considering the quality, cleanliness and all the extras. We would most definitely consider returning.

The staff were very helpful and the ski valet area where you could store your ski stuff was very handy. The free shuttle bus to take you back and forth to restaurants was also a bonus, especially on the very cold snowy nights.

Ski school: Our kids had 3 days in ski school (we booked ultimate 4 package) and I had 1 day in the adult group lessons. In all sessions, the staff were first class, and we all gained hugely from the lessons. My only 2 complaints would be (i) it's more expensive than equivalent in France (although the staff were brilliant!) (ii) you couldn't guarantee the same teacher from one day to the next

Recommended eateries are: the Coffee Depot next door to accommodation for breakfasts, Blue Moose for cooked breakfast, Bubba Gumps for the shrimp, Blue River Bistro for a more up market dinner, Erics for the pizzas, Taddeo's for great pasta & fresh food, the Brewery for a fun / local experience and most definitely the Quandry closest to the condo, for their Happy Hour and great staff.

Recommended activities: Take in the local mining town - Main Street has lots of lovely shops, bars & eateries. Also ice skating (all year round in-door skating only 2 blocks away).

Summary: A costly holiday (especially as were travelling from the UK), BUT BRILLIANT!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family

Room Tip: 5111 (where we stayed) was brilliant. 5110 (where our friends stayed) was equally lovely. I unders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in 5110 and were very pleased with the accommodation which was on the ground floor. It was lovely to come back to after a hard day's skiing. Only criticism would be that it didn't have a kettle. The staff were very helpful and the ski valet area where you could store your ski stuff was very handy. The free shuttle bus to take you back and forth to restaurants was also a bonus, especially on the very cold snowy nights.

Recommended eateries are: the Coffee Depot next door to accommodation for breakfasts, Blue Moose for cooked breakfast, Bubba Gumps for the shrimp, Blue River Bistro for a more up market dinner, Erics for the pizzas and most definitely the Quandry closest to the condo, for their Happy Hour and great staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in condo 5205 and were very happy with the quality of the entire place. The furnishings were classy but yet comfortable and usable. The MB had an extremely comfortable king bed with good linens and the soaking tub was great for our sore muscles from skiing. The bedrooms did get very warm during the night but we finally figured out to crack the window AND turn off the heater completely. I am usually cold so I'm not sure what was happening with the heater. Each bedroom was equipped with a humidifier. The second bedroom was a bit cramped with 2 twin beds pushed next to each other. It was tight to walk around the bed but since we just had our 2 young children in there it wasn't really an issue. The view was beautiful from our bedroom and also from the living area.

The kitchen was well stocked for cooking and had every implement that we required. Placemats, wineglasses and an awesome rabbit wine corker were nice touches. The vent over the stovetop was a bit wimpy and didn't expel cooking smoke/heat very thoroughly. A grill on the deck would be nice if the resort allows it.

there was a washer and dryer in the unit and there was even laundry detergent and a laundry basket provided.

Free WIFI and great cable channels were helpful for the evenings we stayed in. A DVD player and flatscreen were in both bedrooms and the livingroom. The remotes worked easily and the WIFI password was clearly displayed.

The heated pool and hot tubs were great and it was nice to BYOB. There were a ton of bubbles in the hot tubs that I could've done without but otherwise everything was clean. The fluffy bathrobes provided made the trip to the pool comfortable.

It was kind of confusing figuring out where we should go to check in but I had called ahead of time and learned that we just needed to go to main street station.

We were close to the Quicksilver lift and stored our ski equipment in the "grand storage" under main street station. they were very organized there and even went out of their way to get our gear early on Easter morning so our kids wouldn't miss the Easter egg hunt. It was kind of a far way to carry all of our gear to/from the lift and closer storage would've been great. we rented from Christy's, which was just around the corner. Be sure to check out their online coupons as we got our kid's rentals for free!

The shuttle promptly arrived within 15 minutes each time we requested it. The front desk provided us with sleds at no charge so we could sled at Carter Park.

The condo was not inexpensive, but I felt it was worth the extra money considering everything.

Room Tip: the elevator is really slow. also, the first floor rooms may not get as hot?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this condo for the Octoberfest. The condo was very clean with high end kitchen appliances. Very comfortable bed, the heated tile floors in the master bathroom were awesome, nice hot tub, great spot to enjoy a sip of wine in a beautiful place. Front office staff very friendly and helpfull. The condo location very strategic, close to the main street where all of the restaurants, shopping center and entertainment are located. We recommend this hotel and definitely will be back.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We (family of four) spent a week here in August and loved it. A first class property with a great staff. Not a single negative thing to say. Great location to everything on Main Street. The concierge Helen was helpful in arranging activities. Would love to return next year. Altituide sickness here is real, but only for a day or so. Make sure you reserve the private theater for a movie one night. My kids loved it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayes in condo 5308, 3 bed / 3 bath. It was exactly as the pictures from Resort Quest displayed on web site. The condo was top notch, plenty of room. We are a family of 4, more room than we needed. Very quiet. The set up at Main Street Station was a little confusing @ first when checking in. We were looking for a sign for Water House, the entrance signs are for Resort Quest & Hyatt. Very conveniant to town, across the street (shopping / rest) & mountain (peak 9) lift is 3-5 min walk around Maggie's pond. Christy's sports is in complex for rentals. There is a complimentary ski valet in building for ovenight storage of boots / skis, very nice area for changing boots. The resort shuttle was on demand and always ready to take or pick up if needed. We used it once to drop off at Breck Connect Gondola 1st day to go direct to peak 8. All other mornings we took short walk to lift. No need for shuttle to town, that close. Pool and hot tub were clean and conveniant. This was a excellent selection! Your only decision away from Water House would be if you want to be directly on slopes. If you are going for 1st time to Breck like we did, we struggled wth the decision to stay on PK 7 & PK 8 vs closer to town. There is truly a give & take. PK 7&8 base lodging are awesome (Cystal, Lodge, One Ski
Hill), but in no way conveniant to town. Would have to shuttle or Gondola, PITA. Highly recommend Water House. You sacrifice a short walk to lift for the best of both ski & town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

REALLY like the appointments, the new feeling, wonderful rooms. They are top notch quiet luxury. The staff and support is all friendly, but not too helpful. Examples: before arriving, asked the company (ResortQeust) for a confirmation - the first email was 22 pages of illegible nonsense. Never got it. Asked for a copy of my bill on checkout, never got it, their computer was down and they were going to email me a copy - they never did. My favorite: the room keys stopped working right at checkout, so we were locked out of our room without warning (that sure is one way to insure prompt checkout - 10am - so early!!). Would like to stay here again, but I'm tired of this stuff (this was our 3rd stay).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Water House on Main Street Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water House on Main Street Breckenridge

Address: 600 Columbine Road, PO Box 1190, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Water House on Main Street Breckenridge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water House is the newest luxury condominium accommodations in the heart of downtown Breckenridge, and a very short walk to the Peak 9 ski lift. Spacious one- to four-bedroom Platinum-Rated vacation homes feature generous floor plans and luxurious furniture packages. Think soft brown leather chairs, rich wood accent tables, and warm earth tones. Enjoy an on-site fitness center, pool, hot tubs, movie theatre, ski valet and ski storage, concierge, bell, and 24 hour guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Water House on Main Street Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water House on Main Street Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.