We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lodge on Peak 7

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Lodge on Peak 7
Save Saved
You added Grand Lodge on Peak 7 to your Saves list
1979 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for a weekend for a surprise 60th bday for a friend. We had a total of 5 rooms (4 studios, 1 one bedroom) in the North building. The location is wonderful with an extremely accommodating and friendly staff. They have a barbecue/grilling area, swimming pools, gym, family entertainment center, movie theater and all sort of wonderful amenities. You can walk out of the lodge south building and take the chair lift up peak 7. You can also take the short walk from the south building (under 1 minute) to the gondola. You can catch the gondola over to the alpine slide area or take it down to the center of town. The gondola ride is free. I would have given 5 stars however house keeping did not take away any of the dirty towels that were on the floor in a couple of rooms when they came in to service the room. Keep in mind checkout time is 10:00 am.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    52
    23
    13
    11
See reviews for
116
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights at this incredible resort. The pools and hot tubs were beautiful! We ate at Sevens a couple of nights and it was very good. We had the suite and it was pretty small, but nice. The views of the mountains was incredible. My husgpband wants to go back soon!

Room Tip: Get at least a one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gold Point is great! We look forward to the best views in Breck... right from the deck! The resort is great. The staff is helpful, efficient, and friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean, and fully furnished. There is access to wifi in your rooms and movies right at the club house.

Breckenridge and Summit County are also the best ski towns in all of CO. Gold Point puts you in the best location to experience all the surrounding areas. We are able to sight see so many locations because of the central location.

We highly recommend Gold Point as a top vacation spot for enjoying what Breck and Summit County have to offer; we are partial to the great hiking trails ourselves.

Room Tip: The rooms all face the west mountain views, so request one with a deck. You will love the views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky enough to have the use of a studio apartment at Grand Timber Lodge for a week from a friend. It was fantastic especially the use of all the amenities including billiard table, lounge area etc. Hot tub great top one almost to hot but did not stay long. Room so clean and new, lots of towels for room and swimming. Refreshed after three days and could get more whenever you liked from pool areas. Concierge and front desk super helpful always, did not use shuttle service as we had a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here in July but as an avid skier I can see that this hotel would be amazing during ski season. It is right at the base of a ski lift, which makes it highly convenient. However, there are a lot of hotels in Breckenridge that are on or near the base of the mountain and for the price I see this hotel can reach in winter months, I probably will never stay here in ski season over a cheaper place.

They have a great hot tub and pool set up that is at the base of the mountain, viewing the ski hills. The lights in the water change colors and it makes the ambiance at night really nice. I think we used a hot tub that was filled with salt water, not sure if they're all that way or not.

This hotel is not close to the main street/downtown area. They have a shuttle to drive you to and from which is nice, but I prefer to be within walking distance to downtown because it's nice to come and go as you please without waiting for a driver.

Overall, this was a really nice hotel. They are big on time share presentations, but very polite and still treat you well if you decline. It was clean and had a nice outdoor area, is at the base of peak 7 and seems newly built. I don't think it's worth staying here over a cheaper place closer to town but if you get a good deal it is entirely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Other than the oxygen issues that my husband and mother had, this was a great getaway! The spa does have an oxygen service as well - if needed. Rooms were great - new and clean.....replenishing of towels left a little to be desired but you can help yourself to pool towels in the lobby, if necessary. Indoor and outdoor pools were wonderful - my 4 year old and 43 year old had a very fun time in them! We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that but staff throughout the resort all seemed friendly and helpful. Loved the gondola rides to town - would definitely recommend to anyone visiting.

Room Tip: we had a suite which was small but it adjoined to my sister's master suite which was wonderful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

GLP7 is well maintained and manicured, and during the summer, spectacularly green and beautiful. Gorgeous indoor/outdoor pool set-up and the pools are heated. Sevens Restaurant isn't bad (though it was woefully understaffed while we were there) and there are tons of family-friendly amenities on the property, not to mention the Rockies just outside the door.

GLP7 is also the highest elevation resort on Peak 7. I didn't notice any other properties above us, but noticed many below off Ski Hill Road. The property is situated at the base of the Independence Quad Lift - which means you're going to sleep at 10,000 feet. There are issues that come with that if you don't already hail from a high altitude locale.

We did two full days and one night of acclimitization in Denver before heading to GLP7 late the second day. Our original plan after leaving Denver was to spend three days atop Breckenridge, descend to Boulder for a recovery night, before coming back to Breckenridge for two more nights. The best laid plans . . .

Slept okay the first night at GLP7, then hiked up Peak 7 the following day. No infants or toddler backpacks are allowed on the Independence lift, so I toted my 3 yr old in the backpack while carrying my 9 month old in a Baby Bjorn on my chest straight up the mountain. We stopped and picnicked high above Breckenridge overlooking the Blue River valley, and then descended in a truly beautiful, driving mountain rainstorm (which might not have been so beautiful if we hadn't packed raincoats).

Slept fitfully that second night - I did a lot of Cheyne-Stokes breathing and seemed to wake up every 75 minutes or so. The next morning, we descended to the town of Breckenridge via the Breckconnect Gondola and spent the whole day there, mostly by the Blue River. Family totally loved it - my wife went shopping, while my two older kids played at the many scenic spots along the river. But if you don't deal with high altitude on a regular basis, you'll quickly realize the mistake of playing at a lower altitude and then re-ascending higher to sleep.

The whole family was totally out of breath and wracked with headaches by the time we got back up to the GLP7, and we went to the spa for oxygen ($20 a pop for a 30 minute session, although spa staff let my wife and 3 yr old stay for a lot longer). My 3 year old had an FEV of 84%; I had one of 76% and had to lobby with spa staff not to be sent to a doctor (I have had previous experience with HAPE atop the High Sierras and Kilimanjaro, so none of this was particularly surprising).

Neither my wife nor I slept a wink that third night - another symptom of high altitude sickness - and then fluid started leaking into my lungs. That, coupled with the lethargy of our three-year old made it easy to agree with my wife and check out for good the following morning and descend after just three nights there. So, that's what we did - limped off the property, reconfigured our vacation on the fly, and spent the rest of it in Boulder.

I will say that GLP7 appears to be ideally suited for skiing - you're doing all your playing at elevations as high as 13,000 feet, while descending to sleep at 10,000 feet, and the lifts are right out the back door. But if you're there during the summer, once you've done the hike up to the top and there's nothing else to do above 10,000 feet, you're better off just staying on the property, as opposed to descending for any length of time to town and climbing back up to try and wind down for the evening.

p.s. We did a timeshare swap with our home unit at the Paradise Island Beach Club in the Bahamas, but the exchange was less than even. We gave up a two bedroom, full kitchen, oceanfront condo sleeping six for a small studio suite with no balcony, sleeping four, in a dark hallway of suites designated for travelers bringing their dogs (the property is dog friendly). No biggie for us this time around - our three kids are small - ages 6, 3 and 9 months - and we were able to rearrange the furniture in the living room to fit the sleeper sofa and a Pack and Play. The kitchen is a kitchenette - not that different space-wise from the galley of a small boat. In fact, small boats have more seating for eating. Studio suites are adequate for couples and families with small children, but four adults will feel like they're on top of each other after just a day or two.

If you're coming from low altitude, drink lots of fluids, pack the Tylenol, and try to do all your playing at a higher elevation than where you're going to sleep.

Room Tip: Bottom floor suites appear to be designated for travelers with dogs. We heard several during our st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lodge on Peak 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge on Peak 7

Address: 1979 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Specialty lodging in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy sophisticated luxury and uncompromising comfort at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Our spacious residences offer refined elegance in a convenient location, just steps from the Independence Superchair at the base of Breckenridge Ski Resort’s Peak 7 and along the Breck Connect Gondola route. The resort features an on-site restaurant, Soothe day spa, private movie theaters, a family fun center and much more! Our concierge service can help you experience all the adventures the Rocky Mountains have to offer. Relax and rejuvenate in our indoor grotto, outdoor hot tubs, refreshing indoor/outdoor swimming pools, and state of the art fitness facilities. At the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: a convenient and exciting location, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge On Peak 7 Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lodge on Peak 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.