We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lodge on Peak 7

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Lodge on Peak 7
Save Saved
You added Grand Lodge on Peak 7 to your Saves list
1979 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$75 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersGold level
Thornton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our family stayed at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 shortly after they opened. Construction was still ongoing and the front grand entryway had just been completed. This resort truly exceeded our expectations.

The rooms were elegantly appointed and spacious. We have stayed in many resorts through Interval International and none were as nice as this one. We did stay in early June, so the temperature was still moderate. We did not have any problems with the rooms being "hot."

The pools were excellent and far exceeded our expectations. We appreciated having different swimming areas for the younger children. The movie theatre was a highlight for us.

The appetizers were half-price during happy hour, so our teenagers got plenty to eat.

We did notice the altitude was a little unsettling if one has health conditions.

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to a family with children.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7! It’s great to hear that you truly enjoyed your time at Grand Lodge, and we certainly consider the resort to be very family friendly. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is a great vacation resort for anyone: couples looking for a romantic getaway, families with young children, and active adults. The amenities are unmatched, with a spa and large exercise room, Sevens Restaurant, 2 movie theaters, and a number of hot tubs and heated pools, just to name a few! In addition, the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is as ski-in/ski-out as you can possibly get, and a hiking trail for snowshoeing in the winter, and biking or hiking in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    53
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
127
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We arrived at hotel at 2:30pm with two tired kids under 6 years old. The staff at desk told us that our room wasn't guaranteed until 4:30. That was our welcome. No, you could go here with your kids, no suggestions for us at all and totally unhelpful. We then checked in at 4:30 not a moment sooner, and got somewhat settled. We were then woken up at 5:30am with a fire alarm so loud I was worried about my children's eardrums. This went on for 15 min and we had to go out in the cold. The next day there were no apologies or any communications from the front desk. Then at 11:30pm the next night, another alarm went off. Same volume and again no communication from front desk. The next day my husband called the manager of hotel, Ms?(her first name is Kent), and she has yet to return our phone call. Our stay was for one week and my husband and I were able to sleep in the same bed on the first night and from then on our children had nightmares and were terrified of "the robot in the ceiling". Needless to say our children got sick and I got sick because of the lack of sleep. When our check out date came we called the front desk for a somewhat late check out, it normally is 10am and we requested a noon checkout. We were denied and given one extra hour. In closing, throughout our stay we were approached numerous times by either the sales staff or the concierge staff to take a tour of the property for a timeshare. My husband felt like we were in Mexico getting hassled to buy a timeshare. This is the first time in my life that I have posted about a hotel but it is warranted. At first we wanted some sort of refund but now I just want to warn other families and other couples. THere are too many other places to stay, and in this economy where a vacation is a very big deal for many people, it should be a great experience. So stay away from this place, the staff is awful. And Kent, if you read this we're still waiting for a phone call.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Firstly, we would like to apologize for your disappointment in not being able to access your room immediately upon your arrival and for not being granted a two hour late check-out time, but rather a one hour late check-out time. Please know that our staff works very hard in order to have as many rooms ready for check in by 4pm or earlier. However, there are a number of factors that are involved with presenting our guests with units that hopefully surpass expectations. Our units are much more substantial than a standard hotel room, thus cleaning and inspections of each unit takes a considerable amount of time; therefore, we have a check-out time of 10am, as the standard cleaning time is approximately 2 hours per unit plus a maintenance and housekeeping inspection to ensure the units are fully stocked as well as fully functioning. We also rearrange room assignments to the best of our ability so as to assign clean rooms to guests who registered early. As stated in our confirmation details, our standard check in is at 4 pm. However, I see that you wrote that you were not able to check-in until 4:30pm, and I do apologize for this delay.

In regards to the issue with the fire alarms, we sincerely apologize that this was such a disturbance during your stay and we do not expect to have any further problems. It is rare that we experience any problems with the fire alarm system, much less 2 nights in a row. We had smoke detectors fail and this caused the alarms to go off. We have a very sophisticated fire alarm system, and, although rare, issues do occur. An explanation for the fire alarm problem was posted in the lobby and the Front Desk Manager spoke to all departing guests regarding the problem. Our Director of Guest Services has also issued a formal apology via mail to all guests who were inconvenienced by the fire alarms.

In addition, we are very sorry that you were not offered any suggestions on what to do upon your arrival. Our Activities Desk is always happy to provide guests with suggestions on activities to participate in both on property and off. We hope that you received the message that our General Manager, Kit Armour, left you upon her return to the office in order to address your concerns and we hope that you were satisfied with the outcome of that phone call. Again, we truly appreciate you submitting a review of your stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We've stayed at the Grand Lodge three times and loved it. Try for a one bedroom - they are dramatically larger and more comfortable than the studios. We also preferred a view of the ski area to the forest. The restaurant and convenience store are both very expensive so try to get food in town. It is a timeshare and they can be fairly persistent in trying to get you to do the tour, presentation, orientation, whatever, but we've always been able to tell them no and do our own thing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Priced and marketed like a 5 star resort but more like a trailer park.
Entire building too hot to sleep in, management knows and put indivdual room coolers in each unit rather than fix the system, not a reasdonable soultion at this price. Everyone has windows open.
Ski storage is in a seperate building, down 2 flights of stairs, in a room with no ventalation that is at least 110 degrees and hasn't been cleaned(water pooling, candy smashed on floor, etc) since we arrived.
Some rooms seem to have 10 plus people in them. 20 Ski boots stacked at the proped open doors.
WI-FI balky and failing- staff blames on too many users. Ethernet ports do not work.
Staff only interested in selling timeshares.
Construction ongoing but rates are not reduced.
Pool area full of people with coolers of beer(illegal to allow alcohol to be brought in from offsite), most of whom are owners using the property as day trippers- they get full use of parking, pools, lockerrooms, ski storage, parking, etc without having to spend the night or any $$ and overcrowd and trash the place.
Management and staff not responsive to complaints.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
The staff and management at Grand Lodge on Peak 7 would like to deeply apologize for your extreme disappointment regarding your recent stay with us. Because of the level of insulation required for the Grand Lodge, along with a number of other causes, heat in the units has become an issue. Our maintenance staff has many ways to cool down our residences including portable evaporative coolers and box fans. We have found that our staff is very successful in helping cool down our residences to a comfortable level. We have addressed the heat issue at Grand Lodge, and are working to remedy the situation every way that we can and unfortunately it is not an issue that can be resolved overnight, but do apologize sincerely for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay.

As Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is not complete, ski lockers will be moved to a much more convenient location when Phase 4 opens; the ski lockers being in a different building is only temporary.

We do strictly enforce our unit occupancy rules, as they are per the fire code. Unfortunately, once a unit is occupied, there is no way for us to be able to tell if guests are sneaking additional people into their units. If you see a unit that is obviously over-occupied, we encourage you to notify the front desk.

Day usage is a very popular benefit of ownership, and is utilized often by Grand Lodge on Peak 7 owners. Maintenance and Housekeeping do make great efforts to keep the property as clean as possible at all times, and we apologize if you felt those efforts were not sufficient. We always encourage guests and owners to come to us with comments and complaints, as we truly work to address all concerns. Our ongoing improvements to Grand Lodge on Peak 7 should attest to our attention to detail and our caring about the feedback we receive.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were told this was ski in ski out and the ski school was on the property by central reservations (phone number on Breckenridge Ski Resort website). When we arrived we found that was not the case. Shelby, the supervisor for central reservations, was the most argumentative and least professional customer service person I have ever dealt with (India included). She said we were within 30 days and there was nothing she could do, despite the inaccurate information provided by Rachel when we booked. The manager of the facility was pleasant, understanding, but she would not let us out of the reservation either.

So having no other alternatives we tried it. While the resort is ski in and ski out, it is on the Independence Chair which offers only blue and black runs. This is not an option for my 5 and 7 year skiers with little experience. The Ski School is a Gondola ride away. Our locker was all the way on the other end of the building from the Gondola. We asked for a different locker. You guessed it. They couldn't help us. So to get kids and gear to ski school or to a lift with green runs requires a mule and forty-five minutes. No kidding, a shuttle from an in town condo would be better and require less walking.

The condo's are pretty with stainless and granite. But that is where the nicety stops. If you have kids and want easy access to ski school, try One Ski Hill or several sites at Peak 4.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We apologize that you had difficulties with Breckenridge Central Reservations; I would encourage you to contact them as the manager would appreciate hearing feedback regarding his employees. It is unfortunate that you feel the location of Grand Lodge on Peak 7 was misrepresented as having a ski school right on property. The nearest ski school is at Peak 8, which is a Gondola ride away. The Gondola is approximately 100 yards from Grand Lodge on Peak 7 so is just a short walk away. So again, we do apologize for your frustrations with the reservations process and the location of Grand Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011 via mobile

The lodge is beautifully situated at the base of peak 7. Compared to other time share facilities, this property has excellent amenities - on site restaurant, lobby bar, ganme room, spa, etc

Visitors should be aware this lodge sits above 10,000 feet and those not used to the altitude will have a problem adjusting for several days. This affected several people in our group to the point of severe discomfort.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities but are sorry to hear that several people in your group experienced altitude sickness. As Grand Lodge is located at about 10,000 feet above sea level, guests who are not accustomed to this altitude should take the proper precautions. We encourage guests to drink lots of water and also have ibuprofen or Tylenol available in the case of headaches. It is also vital to take it easy upon arriving at altitude, rather than immediately exerting oneself, so that you can give your body the time to get adjusted to the elevation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERWYN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

The good news - this place is ON the slopes - you could not have better ski-in ski-out access. The bad news is that it is ON the slopes. It is 2 miles to the town of Breck, so if you want to go out for dinner, shop, etc. you have to drive, or take the free shuttle, neither of which is as convenient as if you could walk to town. So that is the tradeoff, but it sure is nice to be on the lift a couple minutes after you walk out of your room, and you could easily come back for lunch and be done just as quickly as if you went in a lodge.

The place is also beautiful - it is almost brand new, so everything is modern and nice. Great lobby, pools, etc. and a very helpful concierge. I also want to compliment the builder on having designed such an attractive building - although based on the "management responses" to other posts they will not hesitate to pat themselvs on the back in their response!!

We had one of the studio rooms. Nicely done, but small - sort of like a glorified Winnebago. Just a 2 burner stove, dorm-style fridge, dishwasher and microwave. No oven. The only windows were in the bedroom, so it was dark, but again nice - just be prepared for it to be small.

The heat has been mentioned elsewhere - had to keep the window open and heat off all the time or we would have melted. Had someone been staying on the pullout in the living room they might have roasted to death - it was hard to cool that room without it having a window. This building must have been built mostly out of insulation!!

Finally a shout-out for having free wireless!

Good chance we would stay here again, but we would upgrade to a one bedroom. The decision point for us will be whether we like being that far from town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We would like to take this opportunity to address the heat issue that guests and owners have been experiencing at Grand Lodge as of late. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort that you experienced due to the heat issue. During the planning of the Grand Lodge, it was decided that the resort would not feature air conditioning in an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs. In fact, very few resorts at 10,000 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long. However, the passive solar gain that we experience from the intensity of the sun at our elevation coupled with the high value of insulation required by our strict energy and building codes (and to minimize sound transmission between rooms) do often result in trapped residual heat.
First and foremost we suggest you open all windows and balcony doors and turn on your ceiling fans as the building’s air handling systems are designed to push the cooler air from the hallways through the units to the exterior. When windows are closed the warmer air is unable to escape, allowing the cooler air into your residence. We know that this does not solve the heat problem all the time. In this event, we ask you to please contact our front desk so that our maintenance department can assist you. Our maintenance staff has many ways to cool down our residences including portable evaporative coolers and box fans. We have found that our staff is very successful in helping cool down our residences to a comfortable level.
Again, we do sincerely apologize for any discomfort that you experienced during your stay with us and we hope that your next stay will reflect our commitment to addressing this concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lodge on Peak 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge on Peak 7

Address: 1979 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy sophisticated luxury and uncompromising comfort at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Our spacious residences offer refined elegance in a convenient location, just steps from the Independence Superchair at the base of Breckenridge Ski Resort’s Peak 7 and along the Breck Connect Gondola route. The resort features an on-site restaurant, Soothe day spa, private movie theaters, a family fun center and much more! Our concierge service can help you experience all the adventures the Rocky Mountains have to offer. Relax and rejuvenate in our indoor grotto, outdoor hot tubs, refreshing indoor/outdoor swimming pools, and state of the art fitness facilities. At the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: a convenient and exciting location, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge On Peak 7 Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lodge on Peak 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.