We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF you love horses...”
Review of Breckenridge Stables

Peak 9, Breckenridge Ski Resort- Co Rd 751, Breckenridge, CO 80424
(970) 453-4438
Update attraction details
Ranked #24 of 27 attractions in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
23 visitor photos
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    12
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Breckenridge Stables
See the most recent reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“IF you love horses...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you do not know what you want, he wranglers will pick a horse for you; give them a description of your preferred steed and of the 40+ horses, there will be one right for you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great ride, and guides. The horses were fine for most part. We missed a bull moose by an hour, unfortunately. The previous tour got to see it.. We really enjoyed it, though my wife would have liked a more tame horse.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A favorite part of this trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited this site because we had a very eager young rider in our family. It was her first time on a horse, but the staff did a great job of making her feel confident and at ease while keeping an eye on her. Our wrangler, Dale, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Nice scenery, well-trained and well-treated horses; a good experience for all of us. The ride route is on a somewhat rugged trail, so be prepared. Others have complained about price and service, but we had pleasant service from everyone we dealt with, and the price, while high, did not seem out of line, given what it costs to feed and care for horses.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our guides. The problem was that they were asked to do too much. We had very young riders who need a lot of help and they were spread too thin. Several times someone needed help and the guides couldn't get to them or were busy trying to help someone else.
As we were finishing up we crossed a group starting their ride. I heard their guide tell our guide she had just been thrown off of a horse. She said she felt like throwing up. When asked why she was still taking the tour she said her supervisor made her.
Overall, this feels like a poorly run tour. Money over safety or employee wellbeing. If you are an experienced rider you're probably ok. Otherwise, look for another venue.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey and Pray for Good Weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was fun for the grand kids but there is no allowance for weather. Some people and companies allow for acts of God when considering their services. This is not one. Plan for he trip early to stay away from forenoon showers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breckenridge Stables also viewed

 

Been to Breckenridge Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breckenridge Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.