We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a trip not to miss in the fall.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boreas Pass Road

Boreas Pass Road
Breckenridge, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Attractions in Breckenridge
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Activities: Driving, Viewing foliage
Attraction details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a trip not to miss in the fall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A trip not to miss. in the fall. Aspen in bright yellow and orabge, mountains full of them. Spectacular views from the Continental Divide. Remanents of old buildings to explore. The road is narrow at times but safe. Many places to pull off and enjoy the views

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    59
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took this drive during peak fall color. The aspens were a psychedelic kaleidoscope of color. They were so bright it hurt our eyes. They were red, orange, gold and yellow. The pines, spruce and fir were dark green for contrast. The sky was a brilliant blue. The views are knock-out gorgeous. You have to experience this as the English language can’t do it justice. Go in the morning for the clearest air and lightest traffic. The dirt road is narrow, but there’s ample room to pull over if you pass a vehicle. We drove a one-ton truck and didn’t have any trouble. Do not forget you camera!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Go early in the day and early in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Last year we took this road to discover the foliage in the first week of October. Not only were all the aspens leafless, but seeing the views in late afternoon meant looking into the sun. This year, we went earlier (end of September), and the miles of neon aspen canopied roads were magnificent. However, we didn't remember to go earlier, and spent a lot of time photographing into the sun. Also, be prepared that the rough dirt road is narrow (used to be a railroad) and very pitted--hard on a car. But very worth the trip! Great views above Breckenridge.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Yellow aspens in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We drove the length of the Boreas Pass on a beautiful sunny Colorado day (September 31st, Monday). I understand that weekends are to be avoided during the leaf peeping weeks since many cars drive the route for it's beauty. We stopped often on the dirt road to take wonderful photos of the snow capped mountains and yellow/red aspens. The trip should take about 45 minutes without stopping which cannot be resisted. The dirt road does have many dips and rocks but a 4 wheel drive vehicle is not absolutely necessary unless the weather conditions are bad. If you start off in Breckenridge, you'll pop out of the mountains in Como, a very small Western town. If the weather is good as it was for us, it is a fabulous journey.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Drive for Fall Colors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We took this drive hoping to see the Aspens changing color and were not disappointed! We went up on a very chilly Friday morning, nice and early so there was not too much traffic (which is good because when two cars are going in opposite directions one has to pull over and in some areas, there just isn't room). The fall colors were stunning and the drive was so worth it! We drove the entire path stopping every so often to take pictures (that takes about an hour and a half considering we stopped often to take some pics). Planned on hiking but it was 24 degrees at the height of the colors and we decided against it. Not being from Breckenridge, we thought this would be a loop and take us back to where we entered but it did not. We took it all the way through and wound up in a tiny little town of Como, Colorado. In hind-sight, we should have turned and headed back up the path at the old railroad station to avoid this detour but it was a great adventure! If you do this and enter the town of Como, just follow the signs for Fairplay and head back to Breck. This too is a beautiful drive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boreas Pass Road also viewed

 
Breckenridge, CO
 

Been to Boreas Pass Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boreas Pass Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.