We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonor Points!
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingman, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome staff and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel due to a family member being handicapped they went above to make sure our room was right for a disabled person. They were so awesome great location clean rooms and they would jump through hoops to get you what you needed. Would highly recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed our location, clean rooms and importantly found our hotel staff to be accommodating. We will be sure to share your positive feedback with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    201
    136
    59
    41
See reviews for
217
227
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at this location for one night as we were traveling through Colorado. We arrived late and so we were o.k. to head to our room and call it a day. It's a good thing because our room was on the 10th floor and the elevators in that particular area of the hotel were out. Coincidentally, that elevator was in the main part of the hotel, where the front desk is located. I have no idea what the other guests did who were on the lower floors.

We were told that we could walk up 6 flights of stairs and then take an elevator which was working up to our room. Or there was another choice, which we took. They had a van which took us around the back of the hotel and we walked across a short bridge which took us directly to our room from a short hallway once we were inside of the building.

We loved our room, even though it was very small. It was like brand new - very well appointed, extremely quiet and very comfortable. That was the good part. Please take note - having read some of the other reviews, it sounds like there are older parts of the hotel. Our was not one of those parts. Our room literally looked like it had never been stayed in before. We slept with the windows open and we were extremely comfortable. There was no air conditioning in our room, but there was a box fan in the closet. We did not need to use it since there was a cool breeze. It may not be that comfortable at other times of the summer.

Starting on the 6th floor, this hotel has 2 separate towers where the rooms are located. When we made the reservation, we were told that for some of the rooms you would need to take multiple elevators to get to the room. We figured that we would be fine, and allow others who had lots of kids and/or luggage to stay in the rooms with no multiple elevator option. We didn't know until we got to the hotel that the elevator was not working.

We left the next morning, so we really didn't get a chance to look over much of the property. The front lobby was very nice and there's a restaurant located on the property, too.

I would have really appreciated a discount for the inconvenience of being cut off from the rest of the property and amenities. Oh well. (The magazines in the room were outdated, which was surprising for the Double Tree.)

For the winter skiiers, this hotel is close to some of the ski runs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aspen tower on the 10th floor. It was very quiet, since this is the top floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

If you like the smell of wet dog, like tufts of hair on the carpet and the sound of yapping next door then this is the place for you.

Oh, and I am a dog lover!

Other faults include no bedside table or light in our room and no air conditioning. The only way to cool our room was to open our window which was fine except the AC unit from the neighboring building was loud.

Then there are the elevators. It takes two elevator banks to get from the parking garage to our room on the 8th floor. There is only one elevator per bank meaning it took forever. I took the stairs instead.

Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your response, we will use your comments as we continually evaluate our pet policies. We are sorry that you had some disapointments with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Doubletree Hilton in Breckinridge and complained the 2nd day that no one cleaned our room and we asked for fresh towels and complained to front desk. Coming back from fishing on the 3rd day they had not cleaned our room again and I complained to front desk and no one responded and again we had to round up fresh towels. We asked them to send someone up to at least pick up the used towels and no one showed up after calling twice. So 3 nights and no clean room daily.
Ordered food from room service and they brought no silverware or condiments for our burgers. At least the burger was good.
Do not recommend this hotel and I am a loyal Gold member.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakvail, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the feedback, we are sorry that you did not receive the housekeeping service that you deserved. We also apologize for the miss on the room service order, glad you enjoyed the burger. Your comments are important to us, they will be shared with the staff as we continue to seek ways that we can improve the service that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is going to be a very mixed review. The hotel has many perks...it is in a good location in Breckenridge close to Main Street, dining and shops. The rooms are large and comfortable, some with wonderful mountain views. The free Wifi is a perk, and the Internet connection was very fast. The warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in are a nice treat. The staff all seemed eager to please.

That being said, there are some cons too. This is an older hotel and it shows, but that alone would not bother me. There were small oversights that were annoying, like when housekeeping cleaned the room and left new toiletries, but left out the shampoo. Or when breakfast in the restaurant was one mishap after another - condiments not being brought with food, slow service, etc, Our waiter was very nice and accommodating...the issue seemed to come from the kitchen. Little things like this put a damper on our stay.

I might stay at this property again if I got a bargain, but it would not be my top choice in Breckenridge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you were happy with our guestrooms and the hotels location, and enjoyed a few perks sucjh as free Wifi and a yummy DoubleTree cookie. We are sorry that you had some disapointment with the replenishment of the amenties by housekeeping and slow service in the restaurant. We have shared your feedback with our staff and will look to improve in these areas. We hope to have your back at our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My Husband booked this hotel as a romatic weekend get away for us and it was a wonderful weekend except for this hotel. It gets a poor rating because of the overall lack of customer service. The highlight was the room was spacious, clean and an amazing view of the mountains. The location is also great as it is walking distance from the main street in Breck. Unfortunately we were met with indiffernce at the front desk; told that the underground parking was already full but they had free valet and if we went back out to our car they would have a Valet meet us. We waited over 15 mins and they never showed up. We ended up having to self park across the street. We were told that they had a free shuttle into Breck which we wanted to use as it was pouring down rain but we quickly discovered they only had one shuttle and this was being run by the only Valet on that evening. We ended up driving ourselves into town. We booked a king size bed and was given 2 queen and when we asked for a king we were told they were sold out. We were given room a room on the top floor with a mountain view. The room had a thermostat on the wall that did not work. We finally turned on the AC unit under the window which blew a small puff of warm air. It was a hot humid night in Breck with no airconditioning. Might have not been so bad but our room was right about the hot tubs so it was loud with others tryin to enjoy the view so we could not leave the door open. The rooms do not have hair dryers and when we called the front desk for one they do not have any. The hotel allows pets, which we really don't mind, but they were on every floor. There is only one elevator for the Spruce Tower and it smelled as if a dog had an accident in it. Because the dogs are permitted on every floor we got woken up at 6 AM with a barking dog in the hallway. Breakfast is not included in your stay. The buffet was delicious but it is $15 a person so be ready for this additional cost. I was going to give this hotel a 3 but my husband who paid points and cash for this hotel rates it a 1. He has a Platinum membership with Hilton due to his extensive travels and simply was unimpressed with this overall experiene. When we return to Breck for another get away weekend I doubt we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney T, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for your dissatisfaction in our service. We are using your experience as a training opportunity for our staff to be better informed about our parking, shuttle and services. We pride ourselves on being one of the only dog friendly properties in Breckenridge. We are sorry about the barking disturbance. I have alerted our housekeeping staff of the elevator odor, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for being a Diamond Member through Hilton Honors. We would like to note that complimentary breakfast is included for Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members that stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our room size, view and our great Breckenridge location we hope that you consider us for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is an out dated, basically old, crummy and over priced hotel, that does not live up to the reputation of Hilton or Doubletree. No A/C. Our screen door was broken as was the window screen; wallpaper was peeling off the wall; lamp shade was bent and stained--bathroom very small. Pool is a waste; tiny and not worthy of a "resort". Buffet breakfast was adequate. Service questionable. Only one elevator is not adequate for a hotel of this size. Only positive is location; free parking and easy walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakvail, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel, We apologize for the condition of your room. We are working with our maintenance team to ensure our future guests have a more pleasant stay. You will be pleased to know that next spring we will be completing our multi-year renovation with a total refurbishment in all the guests rooms. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Address: 550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Breckenridge is a true mountain experience offering views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. Our full service hotel is directly across the street from Peak 9 of the world renowned Breckenridge ski resort. The chair lift is within walking distance from the hotel. We are also only a 10-minute walk to historical Main Street where you can find a variety of shops, dining options and exciting Gold Rush history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Great Divide Hotel
Great Divide Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.