We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Offer!
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“GREAT Hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor, I wonder if people actually stayed at the same place that I did! The Doubletree in Breckenridge was one of the best Doubletrees that I have stayed at.

Perfect location: all you had to do is walk across a parking lot and you are on the slopes, ready to ski to the lift at Peak 9. It was literally a 2 minute walk and a 30 second ski to get to the Quicksilver lift.

Ski Shop on premises: renting skis has never been easier - the ski rental is in the hotel. you can get your gear and immediately walk out to the slopes.

Restaurant: the breakfast buffet was on par with Embassy Suites. they had Omlettes made to order, fabulous fresh fruit (even with blueberries, blackberries, rasberries, and strawberries). Everything was yummy. It did get busy in the morning before ski-time, so just plan your time accordingly.

Staff: friendly and helpful.

Complemetary in lobby: water and Nature-Valley granola Bars. Nice!

Rooms: yes, the walls at the door are thin, so you can hear people in the hall. But, the rooms themselves are great. Bathrooms are neat and clean - recently remodeled. Bedrooms have the wonderful Hilton bedding. Great clean room.

Floors 7-10 you have to ride a 2nd elevator, so I would avoid those. You have to go to floor 6, walk down a different hall, then go up to 7-10... We were on floor 6 and found that some of the noise in the halls was probably just people moving fron one elevator to another. Floor 5 might be better for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Floors 7-10 you have to ride a 2nd elevator, so I would avoid those. You have to go to floor 6, wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    222
    143
    66
    45
See reviews for
239
246
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Located across the street from the chairlift and minutes to great shopping, this hotel is a great place to stay. We had a nice balcony with an amazing view. We got some amazing pictures of the sunrise. Rooms were very large and comfortable. We had 2 queen beds and a sitting area with a pull out sofa. The room was right by the elevator, but it was still very quiet. Hotel was completely booked when we were there over Springbreak, so check in was a little slow, but we were given a parking pass when we arrived early, so we could hit the slopes right away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moran, Wyoming
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Great stay at the Breckenridge DoubleTree!

Stayed at the property when it was the Great Divide Lodge....the management has done an amazing job improving the property over the past year.

The staff is absolutely world class, the rooms are spotless and MASSIVE, and the location is convenient to everything in Breck. Really appreciated the complimentary ski lockers, free shuttle service, and the new fitness center....not to mention the famous DT cookie.

Judging by advertisements in the hotel, there will be further renovations to the hotel in the near future. I can't wait to see the new progress when I go back to Breck next winter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a "girls getaway" and was very pleased with the location as well as the overall stay here. The rooms are clean and spacious the staff ready to help. perfect location for anything you want to do in Breckenridge The Quicksilver lift is across the street and the perfect starting point for your ski day. It is a beginners lift so if its your first time or your just learning this is the best place to ski on the mountain. Otherwise you can use it as a starting point to go over to peak 10 8 or 7. Or you can catch the shuttle just across the street from the hotel that will take you anyplace you need to go (all bus services are free in Breck) bonus ! Great restaurants are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights in Feb 2012. We got there mid morning and wanted to hit the slopes that day, the front desk staff was very helpful with the parking even though we were early. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's right across from Peak 9, the ski rental shop is on the first floor and the shuttle will take you in to town at night and pick you up. As others have commented, the hotel is going through a rennovation stage, the carpet is old, the wallpaper is old, but the bathrooms have been updated, the rooms were spacious. The 2 elevator situation is rough, so stay on floor 7 or below.

I'm a HHonors Diamond Member and used points for our stay, I have no complaints as I have stayed in lesser quality Hilton properties around the country. The breakfast buffet that is included if you are Hhonors was also a great bonus.

If you want to visit Breck I would recommend this place especially after they finish all the rennovations.

Room Tip: Stay on 7th Floor or below to avoid the second elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The hotel was perfectly fine for my purposes ... was there on a ski trip, there is a Breckenridge Ski Rental store in the hotel from which i got my ski gear, and the hotel is just across the road from the Quicksilver lift at the base of Peak 9 and about a five minute walk from one of the other big ski lifts (the name of which i forget).

I stayed in a very weirdly shaped room in the wing of the hotel which is about a 5 minute walk from the lobby to even get to the elevator (I think the hotel might have originally been two separate buildings that have now been connected). The elevator in my wing of the hotel were very very SLOW .... and I should say there is only one elevator, such that in peak times in the morning you could be waiting 5 or more minutes for the elevator to arrive. Big thing, however, was the noise ... you could hear a lot of what went on in rooms next to you, and whenever my neighbors closed their door, my entire room shook with the noise of the door closing on its own weight (i.e. they weren't slamming the door, the just let it close by itself). Also seem to be understaffed in the restaurant, though the staff do seem to try their best, but simply because of the number of guests, they can get overwhelmed and forget things at times. I also got charged for parking when i didn't have a car with me, but that was an easy fix on checkout.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Warm cookies made everything a little better. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable, but the shower drain did not work well and left standing water after. The elevator was broken, and though I don't mind the exercise it did become an inconvenience to schlep up and down 6 flights of stairs so often. The pools and hot tubs were a treat, though I would have preferred if the water in the hot tubs appeared cleaner. The fitness center has everything necessary for a complete workout (freeweights, cardio machines, cable machines, bench, swiss balls, sauna). Parking was very confusing when we first arrived as the entrances to the garages are not clearly marked. We also had issues with our key cards not working to access the garage. The guest room walls did not muffle noise well at all, we could hear everything going on in the hallways and adjacent rooms, as well as phones ringing and even noise from outside.

Parking is an extra $20 a day. No complimentary breakfast (I suggest going to Daylight Donuts for an ultra-affordable and satisfying first meal).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Address: 550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Breckenridge is a true mountain experience offering views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. Our full service hotel is directly across the street from Peak 9 of the world renowned Breckenridge ski resort. The chair lift is within walking distance from the hotel. We are also only a 10-minute walk to historical Main Street where you can find a variety of shops, dining options and exciting Gold Rush history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Great Divide Hotel
Great Divide Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.