We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fresh fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi Japanese & Sushi

Wasabi Japanese & Sushi
311 S Main, Breckenridge, CO
970-453-8311
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 119 Restaurants in Breckenridge
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
boston,ma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Casual sushi restaurant. Good location and good prices. Friendly wait staff. Like most sushi places, nothing fancy. Good for a large group to share family style

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I went to Wasabi during our stay at Breck. This restraunt has a ton of windows overlooking downtown and the mountain range. Our food was incredible, drinks good, waitress very friendly. The guys behind the bar making sushi rolls are lightning fast. Everything we had there was delicious and prices were reasonable. More of a high end sushi place, but definitely worth every penny. Great vibe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthonrne, CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I arrived for lunch while on break while completing jury duty. After asking if the spring rolls were fried (they were) and deciding against them I order a bowl of miso soup. When i went to pay i realized i had no cash, just a credit card. The woman owner tore up my order and said I had to have a minimum of $10 for a credit card. She then walked away. i then said, ok i'll order more to make it $10. So i got a pice of sushi with some crab maet on it. It was the worst, smallest, most expensive piece of sushi I have ever had. Aside from having to get my own food, water and bus my own table, i was ignored while other customers were given table service. Save yourself the time and money and eat at some of the other fine restaurants in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Sushi with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had tickets to the music festival in August and decided we'd have sushi that evening since we didn't have time for a fancy dinner. Then we were running even later than planned, but went anyway. We explained time constraint to the hostess (chef/owner's wife) and she help expedite our drinks, orders, food and check so we comfortably made it to show on time. I was impressed with the service.

The Sushi was good. I had Sashimi which was fresh and well prepared. My wife and son had sushi and several rolls. They really loved every roll they ordered. It may be in the mountains, but they get high quality fish daily and the owner chef is excellent. The atmosphere is not fancy and the place is kinda tucked back off the street behind some shops, so you might not see it if you aren't looking for it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Recommend for sushi fans in Breck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Went after our first day of skiing. We are always somewhat skeptical of sushi at ski resorts and in the inter-mountain west but this place has the same Japanese couple as owners for the last 20+ years.

A bit hard to find in the back of a small set of shops. Service was was pleasant and place was not crowded although mid-December is certainly not a busy time in Breck.

Recommend sticking purely with sushi and sashami - we did order the "boat" - assumed a platter of sushi, rolls, and sashami but it was more a bento with a few rolls, some nigiri, and a somewhat strange chicken dish that was tasty but not expected. We also ordered a spicy tuna roll which was bettter than average.

We will likely go back next time we are in Breck.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Japanese & Sushi also viewed

 
Breckenridge, CO
 

Been to Wasabi Japanese & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi Japanese & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.