We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty room, poor service, poor WIFI” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Village at Breckenridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village at Breckenridge Resort to your Saves list
Village at Breckenridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   535 S Park Avenue, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel amenities
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty room, poor service, poor WIFI”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We reserved this studio room at the last minute through a popular reservation website. When we checked the young woman at the desk said "oh, you reserved it through _ " and her tone was not good. This was after she kept us waiting at the desk while she made a call that should have been private. We were charged $22 by the hotel itself for parking and internet. You park in a private garage that is for hotel guests only which was nice but the WIFI signal was so weak we could not use it. There was no air conditioning in July and when we called for help on adjusting the thermostat we were told to open the windows and get out the fan. It was a beautiful clean studio style condo with a full kitchen but overall we felt like unwanted guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at Village at Breckenridge Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on our tripadvisor page. I apologize about the service you received at the front desk. That is very uncommon and will be addressed. The 20$ plus tax resort fee is towards the parking here on property and access to the amenities such as the health club facility. When booking through a 3rd party website such as expedia or hotels.com, the resort fee is not included in the rate but is confirmed through the reservation process that it will assessed upon check out at the property. We do intend to always reiterate this with guests' as they check in but, I apologize if it wasn't done in a polite manner. We always recommend to our guests' to book directly through our central reservations to receive the best pricing and have the resort fee included in your bill right then and there. I apologize about the issues with the internet service. We will touch base with our provider to see if any issues may be persisting with the service.

If you have any questions please reach out to us directly!
Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    93
    50
    38
    26
See reviews for
77
88
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at this property for three nights in July 2013 while attending an on-site conference. I was sold a two bedroom condominium unit for a conference rate of $149 per night.

The property is located one block from Main Street in Breckenridge and consists of multiple buildings in a single complex. It is a mixed use development with on-site lodging, food and retail. During ski season it features ski in/out access. The property is clean and attractive with parking available underground. Presently some walkways are closed for construction.

The lobby area is small for the size of the property and became crowded at peak times. Staff there are polite, professional and made check-in a breeze. They displayed an obvious commitment to excellent customer service.

My assigned unit was in the Wetterhorn building. As mentioned by other reviewers, all units are privately owned and available for rent while not being utilized by the owners. This can lead to inconsistencies in quality and decor. Perhaps by luck or by fortune this was not a problem during my stay as the unit had been fully renovated and was typical for a high-end resort area condominium. Top quality furnishings/appliances, two decks and great decor combined with outstanding housekeeping services and led to a great stay. This was a large space for a single traveller but could easily serve a group of eight during a winter vacation. Even the lobby area within the Wetterhorn building was an attractive and well furnished space.

Regrettably conference facilities did not match the excellence of the lobby staff and accommodations. The conference area appeared dated, had inadequate restroom facilities for larger groups and had food quality that was below par for peer properties within the market. Even simple things like audio visual services did not match up. Inconsistent sound and equipment problems reflected this to all attendees. Having had the opportunity to attend conferences throughout the Rockies, facilities at The Village need some work.

Overall this is a very nice property and is worthy of every consideration. While it would not be at the top of my list for meetings or conferences, the accommodations I enjoyed would serve a family well for vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at Village at Breckenridge Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our tripadvisor page. We truly appreciate all your feedback! I noticed you had some issues with the conference space. It sounds like you are referring to our 10 Mile Conference Room. We actually have plans this upcoming offseason to renovate it completely; including bathrooms!

I appreciate all your kind words in regards to our staff too. We hope to see you back at the Village in the future! Hopefully for a vacation!

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came up to Breck for the 4th of July. We stayed at the Village over the Memorial Day Weekend earlier this year and had a great time, so we decided to stay here again this time around. The best part of staying here has got to be the location during the summer, and I imagine it has to be just at convenient for the ski season. It's just about a 5 minute walk to the south side of Main street and not even that far to be right on the Riverwalk. The Front Desk was always welcoming us back from town, and the underground parking can't be beat. We could always find good parking spot, though I think it may be a chore during the ski season. The pool was located through the weight/exercise room and was half indoors and half outdoors with a clear wall that can be lowered during the cold months to keep in the heat. There were also a couple of outside hot tubs that were nice, but would be perfect after a day of skiing. We were on the fourth floor, and thought it was nice to have to use your key card on the elevator to get to the rooms for security sake. Our room had a queen bed with a pull out for the boys, along with a full kitchen. The views of the mountain were really nice, however, the view of the patched up parking garage rooftop below were a little undesirable. Our only real complaint had to be that every time we opened our windows the fresh smell of cigarette smoke billowed into our room from the smokers using rooftop area out side of the conference center on the first floor. Aside from that all was well. We are already looking at booking our ski vacation at the Village.

Room Tip: I'd suggest, if you do get a room with a mountain view, to get one on the highest floor possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at Village at Breckenridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to review our property on tripadvisor! We appreciate your comments in regards to your stay. Summer is incredible in the mountains but, you will have to come back for ski season!

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was truly amazed at the level of service (and patience!) the hotel staff provided my family during a large reunion. The entire Village team was excellent which made us feel welcome and special.

I highly recommend The Village at Breckenridge for anyone who is going to Breck. Its in a great location and the service was superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at Village at Breckenridge Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page. We are so happy you all enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the kind words in regards to our staff here. They truly make any guests' experience special. Be sure to come visit us again in the future!

Thank you again,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Brilliant location - 3 minute walk from the slopes and Breckenridge is just one of the resorts that has it all - high altitude skiing - very snow-sure, all terrain types and the town is great as it has heritage and soul (real Artisan feeling to it) which stands it apart from the usual purpose built and sometimes soulless commercial locations we'd been to before.

The apartments themselves (our room) was a good size, spacious and well equipped with big TV, kitchen appliances etc and was comfortable. The challenges we had where firstly with cleaning as these are privately owned we found out after complaining after 4 days with no housekeeping that in a 2 week stay the room has one clean at the mid weekend. With Skiing you tend to bring grit etc in from the outside and shower lots so after 3 days the floor was gritty, bathroom a mess and the bins etc over flowing (nasty) there is NO equipment to self clean and I ended having a row with the establishment and my travel operator to get this sorted, even when they did come up they didnt hoover the floor so this also ended up in follow up complaint - not a great experience to be honest. Also from other resorts we've been to like this when you arrive at 4am knackered from 24 hours of travelling previous places have some basics ready - just some coffee / milk / something to eat in a welcome pack here we had nothing so had to wait until the following morning until we could get to a market (nothing onsite at all).

Overall I couldnt recommmend Breckenridge enough and we will certainly going back.. although next time staying at a place with housekeeping!

Room Tip: Check the room location - ours overlooked a central area with aircon units and other rooms so you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at Village at Breckenridge Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on our tripadvisor page. We truly appreciate your feedback! Much discussion has occurred within our housekeeping department about moving back to providing daily service to our condo guests'. For winter 2013-2014 we plan to service guest rooms each and every day (regardless of length of stay) due to much of the guest feedback we've received this year.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future!
Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The village is a complex of several hotel/condo buildings. I am not sure how many of them and how each of them is called. There is one underground parking and it's areas are color coded for different buildings. I stayed in the "Peak 9 Inn".

I went there to meet with my business partner who came from overseas, but since I was making such a trip from Florida, I decided to stay closer to the base and to spend weekend skiing.

Peak 9 inn, as I understand, is a mix of units owned by the hotel itself and units owned by private parties still maintained by the hotel. I booked mine on VRBO ($210/night for studio)so it was about 30% less than on Expedia.

The hotel is located right at the base of peak 9. So you put your skiing/snowboarding boots right in your room, walk 80 yards and you are on the lift. There is ski/snowboard valet service at the entrance, which I found just fantastic. you don’t have to carry, load, store your equipment at the end of the day when you are tiered and ready to relax. You just hand your ski/snowboard to the valet service, get a receipt and the next morning pick it up at the same spot. Rooms are on a smaller side, but cozy, about 400 sq.ft with king bed and a couch. The kitchen came handy to cook hot breakfast.

If you get there by car, the underground parking is a must. They charge $20 per day, but it's worth it. There is no way you could find a spot to park near peak 9. They would not allow to even just unload skiers if they are not guests of the hotel.

There are several bars and restaurants in 5 minutes walking distance. Basically, it's just at the end of the main street, where all tourist attractions are. My favorite restaurant there was "kenosha's steakhouse". It's reasonable priced with good food selection and quality.

I would recommend this hotel and I hope, I will be coming back there next year. Also, I would recommend the skiing school. They have classes for all levels. For a skiing class in a group of no more than 4 people $266 including the lift ticket.

Also, I would recommend to have lunch on the mountain at least once. The food is just OK, but the views are stunning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a conference here so not much of a Choice, front staff friendly, Concierge, amazingly energetic, a huge plus for for the hotel, rooms are small but furnished, little older and musty, location is right at the base, everything is there for you. Price a little steep, would have given a 4friend but rooms were older,and musty,pull out sofa for kids was older. Everyone was extremely nice, rooms need to be updated. Stoves and refrigeratir were new. The front staff was very friendly. One other issue was 3 out of the 4 of us got. Altidue sickness, base is 9680a ft so be prepared, this has nothing to do with the hotel, but we had to go down to lower altitude and asked if we could leave earlier, the manager said there would be no refund, we asked if we could at least have a credit they told us NO, wish they would have tried to accomodate us. Skiig clas for kids was great, my wife said it was amazing powder trails.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village at Breckenridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village at Breckenridge Resort

Address: 535 S Park Avenue, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village at Breckenridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village at Breckenridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Village Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village at Breckenridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.