We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay! Clean, Comfortable...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay! Clean, Comfortable...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We have nothing but positive comments regarding this location. It was a bit deceiving at first due to the fact that it is not a “new” fancy hotel; but is a NICE cozy property and appears to be newly renovated. The hotel is in a very quiet residential area and just a few short blocks from CU Boulder. We did not walk to Pearl Street Mall, but a person could walk if they didn’t mind a short trek.

The staff at the Quality Suites was outstanding and should be commended – very friendly and professional. We were offered warm chocolate chip cookies and lemonade the moment we walked in and were told to help ourselves to drinks in the breakfast area anytime. I’m sure we looked a bit frazzled as we had been on our motorcycle for 9 hours riding from New Mexico to Boulder! Needless to say, the cold lemonade and warm cookies were fabulous.

We had two reservations – one for using our points and the other for the second night. (For some reason, when I booked on-line, I ended up with two reservations and two room types.) The desk clerks efficiently combined our two reservations and made sure we stayed in the same room and didn’t have to move the next day. The room (108) was very spacious and CLEAN with a huge comfortable king bed with triple sheets andsoft down comforter, a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and wet bar. The room also included complimentary paper “house slippers” and the use of thick cotton bathrobes – very nice. The shower was great with a nice strong spray - not a wimpy sprinkle. The hotel offers many "green" options, such as soap, shampoo and lotion dispensers and not changing linens daily unless requested. Otherwise, lines are changed every three days. The indoor pool was great and there is also a sauna with workout equipment and showers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and never felt “unsafe” – I don’t think there is anyplace in Boulder that we thought unsavory!

The desk clerk gave us directions to CU-Boulder’s Folsom field (which was a couple of blocks up the hill behind the hotel) and we saw spectacular fireworks at the stadium accompanied by the Boulder Philharmonic! It was a fantastic display and was awesome set to music – what a nice bonus.

We had a quick breakfast Saturday morning and the breakfast area was neat and clean and restocked frequently by the nice young man working there (he also cheerfully helped with the waffle maker). In my opinion, the menu was better than most “continental breakfasts” – eggs, sausage, muffins, assorted pastries, cereal, make-it-yourself waffles, fruit, coffee, milk and juice.

If you are expecting “plush and fancy” you might be disappointed. But if you want clean, comfortable and affordable with friendly staff, then this is a great place! We’ll definitely stay here again when we visit Boulder.

  • Liked — Cookies & Lemonade! Comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    139
    55
    14
    3
See reviews for
100
130
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Stayed at this motel on June 13 after reading reviews on TA. Many of the more expensive places were booked up, so we gave this a try.
The pictures on their website were better than the actual experience.
The person at the front desk was very friendly. Check in was easy and she provided directions and a map to the Pearl St. Mall. (It was a longer walk than we would have liked)
I had told her my husband was a light sleeper and we needed a quiet room. That didn't happen. This is a motel. The room we were given was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the parking lot.
There were room doors closing, people talking and car noises until 2 AM. Not a good thing.
In addition, the bathroom was very small.
The queen bed was uncomfortable. The complimentary breakfast was nothing great.
I would spend the extra $$ and stay somehere else the next time we visit Boulder. I ended up only staying 1 night instead of 2.
You get what you pay for.

  • Liked — available room
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

The Quality Inn is in a good location. It is within walking distance of the main street in Boulder. For the price, it is a good value, with breakfast included - nothing fancy, but I was glad to see some healthier options such as yogurt and fruit available.
The rooms open to the outdoors. Some of the rooms opened into an outdoor "hallway" and others did not. If you don't want your door opening right into the parking lot, you will want to request one of the rooms with this little hallway like ours, room 106. Our room was nicely done with "mountain" decor and was equipped with a small refrigerator and microwave with nice cabinets and a granite countertop!
The indoor pool could use a facelift, however, the temperature was very warm, and we enjoyed it immensely. The hot tub and sauna were nice as well.
We had some trouble with the wireless internet signal in our room, but the lobby had a computer available for use and we were also able to print our boarding passes there, which was wonderful.
Check in and check out went smoothly and everyone was friendly while we were there. However, I caution you to BE SURE you do NOT LEAVE anything behind in the rooms. In our haste to leave, we left behind some very important items. Each one thought the other had picked them up. We realized our error within two hours and promptly called the hotel from the airport and described where we left the items. We were told nothing had been turned in and that no one was available to go and check the room again, but they would check it out later. We called again as soon as we arrived at home. Again, we were told nothing was there and no one could double check. Their customer service in this area was VERY disappointing.
Even when we followed up with our concern with the parent company "Choice Hotels", we received no indication that they would look into the situation further or review their policies. No one even pretended to care.
I have only left something in a room one other time. In that situation, it was a few days before we realized we had left the item. However, they had kept the item and even mailed the item back to our home in another state.
No one plans to leave anything important behind. However, it can happen and if you choose to stay here BE EXTRA CAREFUL that you don't leave anything you care about behind as chances are you will never see it again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

We were truly surprised upon our arrival at this location! We expected a typical Quality Inn experience. We could not have been more surprised. The room was decorated in a western theme and the colors were earthy and warm. It was quite charming. We truly enjoyed the free breakfast and felt like we were dining in a little cafe. We found all the staff to be exceptional. From checking in to an employee, Jose, bringing my children pool toys to play with in the pool. It was above and beyond what we expected from a chain hotel. We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

This is a very nice little spot, one of the nicer Quality Inns you will find. Room is small but well furnished, clean and updated.
Staff is helpful and accommodating.
And it's close to everything in Boulder.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

This is a motel, nothing more, and despite what others have written, it is not that nice. It is on Arapahoe and quite convenient to the downtown (but not really within walking distance). The staff are hit or miss. Enrique checked us in and was very curt and despite offering to call us on our cell phone (nice gesture) when our room was available, he never did. No big deal but why even offer?

Our room was a little musty (mainly the window AC unit -- it was 85 degrees in Boulder when we were there), and the bathroom area small. No refrigerator or microwave. Small old fashioned televsion that faced the bed but did not swivel so you could not watch it other than on the bed. When we asked for an extra set of towels, the guy who brought them seemed a bit put out and let us know that he would be noting the extra towels on our room record - lest we took them with us when we left!

The breakfast at this property is pathetic, simply pathetic. Then to top it off, we had no hot water in the morning to take a shower. At least Max at the desk stepped up to the plate and found me another room with hot water so I could take shower -- one of the two-room suites located in the original late Victorian house up front. As an asidem, that room was spacious and very nice. Thanks Max!

Boulder is a really cool and beautiful place -- be sure to check out Eldorado Canyon State Park and drive up Boulder Canyon to Boulder Falls. There is a great independent bookstore on the Pearl Street Mall. We had some awesome sushi at Sushi Zanmai on Spuce Street. Great atmosphere and really, really fresh. Nice Whole Foods on Pearl Street and 29th.

Next time we will be staying somewhere else!

  • Liked — Convenient to downtown, comfortable bed, lower priced for Boulder
  • Disliked — Breakfast was awful, old fashioned motel style rooms and ambiance.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LewisHotelsColorado, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek, responded to this review, June 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Boulder Creek Quality Inn & Suites. It is disappointing to hear that you did not consider your stay satisfactory, as we constantly strive to provide all of guests with the best experience possible. On behalf of the hotel I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the hot water going out in your room during your stay.

We are proud to provide each guest with a complimentary breakfast. We believe that by offering a diverse buffet with eggs, sausage, waffles, hot & cold cereals, Danish, fruit, yogurt and beverages we are providing all of the morning breakfast essentials. With your comments we are going to test additional breakfast items in order to enhance our breakfast and further satisfy the guests.

Each guest room at the Boulder Creek Quality Inn & Suites is equipped with a TV that swivels, as well as both a microwave & a refrigerator, both of which can be found in the armoire. I regret to hear you were unable to locate them and make use of them during your stay.

We take all customer feedback very seriously and use it to better ourselves, which ultimately provides a better experience for our guests. Again, thank you for taking time to provide your comments, we truly appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

I stayed at the Quality Inn for three nights. The property was very clean and tidy and I felt comfortable and safe while staying there. There is a nice little pool (about 10 meters long) and a spa pool as well for chilling out at the end of the day. There is also free internet access in reception and a hot breakfast that's available every morning. I found the staff friendly and helpful.

As I was travelling by public transport and/or foot, the hotel was a little further from the very centre of town than I would have liked. But Boulder is very walkable, and there is a bus from the Transit Center that passes by if you don't want to walk.

  • Liked — included extras - eg pool, breakfast, internet access
  • Disliked — distance from restaurants and center of town
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LewisHotelsColorado, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek, responded to this review, May 16, 2008
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel! I am so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and it’s amenities during your recent stay. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the entire staff; they really appreciate them! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek

Address: 2020 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boulder
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, solar powered property in the heart of Boulder includes free deluxe hot breakfast buffet, and fully equipped guest rooms. Enjoy the on-site laundry, complimentary bicycles, 5 star bedding, robes, flat panel LCD Television with HD Programming, Clock-radio with MP3 player, reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, and iron and board. This is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek Hotel Boulder
Quality Inn And Suites Boulder Creek
Quality Inn Boulder
Boulder Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.