We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - too far away from Boulder's main town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boulder to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boulder
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - too far away from Boulder's main town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was friendly and clean. The quality of the room was good too. It just lacked that something. It was a nice touch for the staff to provide guests with popcorn and cookies but if you want some atmosphere stay closer to the town.

The breakfast was average. The biggest turn off was the plastic plates, bowls and utensils. It can't be that hard to stick some crockery in a dishwasher. The environment will thank you as well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry you didn't have the overall amazing experience that we aim for. Although the Holiday Inn Express is not located downtown, we are only 3 miles away up Broadway. Additionally, we are located in North Boulder (or NoBo) which has many local shops and an atmosphere all its own. Local coffee shops, bakeries, creameries, and an award winning brewery are all within walking distance of the hotel.

In regards to supplying crockery, due to Boulder health standers we have found that after weighing both cost and health code restrictions, plastic dishwasher is the best option for our guests. However we do believe that we have a social responsibility to the environment, so we have focused on doing our part in different ways. We have built a 'Conserving for Tomorrow' program, where we focus on the conservation of water and decreased use of detergent that goes back into the environment.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to another opportunity to offer our services and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
38
35
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms were clean & comfortable. The staff was friendly & helpful. there were homemade cookies each evening! The continental breakfast was excellent with a staff member replenishing items as they got low. There were quite a few tables for dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. I personally, love those cookies as well! We make them every night and we've been experimenting in trying out different varieties along with the amazing classic chocolate chip ones.

Thanks again for your review and we'll keep the cookies warm and waiting for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my second time staying in this hotel in the past year and will definitely stay here when I go back to Boulder. Hotel is clean and very well kept. The staff is AMAZING! They are all pleasant and helpful, whether you are in need of a bottle of water or a recommendation for dinner they are more than willing to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that we were able to accommodate for your recent visit. We love having repeat guests and build our relationship. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We never even got to see the hotel. Concerned about the problems Boulder has had with the weather and flooding I called to check on the condition of the hotel. Imagine my surprise when I was informed that our reservation had been cancelled. I was then told that the hotel was completely booked for the next two weeks. I had put the room on hold and the following day my husband called, within the 24 hour period to confirm the reservation. The hotel staff managed to not complete the reservation. They also made it pretty clear that it had to be my fault. I have my original email with confirmation number. Thanks Holiday Inn Express. It is now Saturday and we leave Tuesday. I'm glad I called.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I would like to start by apologizing for the miscommunication. Due to the emergency situation that is occurring, our main focus his been assisting the evacuees and helping our community that is in need. Please be aware that we value all reservations.

Additionally we offer a 24hr hold for our guests convince. This hold does require that you reach out to our 1-800 number, our front desk, or even go online and complete your reservation within that 24hr period. If you do not reach out within that 24hr window, your hold will be released. Our records show that there was not any activity on your ‘reservation’ except when you originally established the hold. Because we are currently experience an influx of reservations, when your reservation was released, it was then made available for an evacuee in need.

Again, I apologize for the miscommunication. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions or comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was clean & staff was nice. The room was ready so they let us check in early. The outdoor pool was small but there were some kids who enjoyed it. The room was a large size with queen bed, pull out sofa bed, kitchenette with cabinets, microwave, mini fridge & small sink. Bed was comfortable, we didn't need the pull out. Was a good size room for a group of 4 to hang out. The TV comes with a video game system which I thought was cool but it was like 6.99/game so we just watched cable. I didn't have the breakfast so I can't review that but they do have popcorn, cookies, tea and coffee available all day. Location was convenient to some restaurants/bars and the bus to downtown for night life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your review and we're happy we could be apart of your Colorado experience! Please feel free to contact me directly for future bookings. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OKI
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The HIE in Boulder is located on the northern side of Boulder and is a bit out of the way, but still not too far a drive to the center of Boulder. Staff I interacted with were all nice. Hotel is clean overall although as other reviewers have commented – getting a bit run down. My room had a big chunk of shee trock out of the ceiling for what I am assuming was a leak repair. The breakfast area is too small for the amount of people trying to use it. Breakfast is typical HEI fare – not too bad.
If you are into the craft beer scene in Boulder you have to go to the Upslope Brewery on Lee Hill Rd just east of the hotel. Fun place!
I have stayed at the hotel several times over the past few years and will continue to when in Boulder.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We totally agree with you about Upslope! We even offer a package through the hotel for Upslope. It includes a gift card, pint glass, and lodging all for a discounted price.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Boulder is always a pleasure. The staff is always helpful and courteous and go the extra mile when asked. The breakfast in the morning is always delicious and the scents of popcorn and cookies in the afternoon and evening always put a smile on my face. I stay in nearly 30 hotels a year, and I always say, ""The Holiday Inn Express is my favorite hotel on the road."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and we will keep those cookies and popcorn ready and waiting for your next stay.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Address: 4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boulder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boulder hotel is an all non-smoking, beautifully appointed hotel in North Boulder 4.5 miles from the University of Colorado and 5 miles from IBM, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and the Gunbarrell Business Park. The Boulder Holiday Inn Express is located within minutes of Boulder Reservoir and 1/4 mile from Wonderland Lake Hiking Trail and other great hiking trails for the outdoor adventurous. Featuring Express Start breakfast with exclusive hot cinnamon rolls, hot entrees. Free local phone calls, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center to fit your needs. Airport transportation is available through Boulder Super Shuttle. Free wireless high-speed Internet access, 2 two-line phones, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in all rooms. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located 3 miles from the Pearl Street Mall area and downtown Boulder. We are pet friendly with a fee. Visit Boulder, CO and Stay Smart at your home away from home the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boulder Hotel Boulder
Holiday Inn Boulder
Boulder Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boulder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.