We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be four-star except for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boulder to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boulder
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Would be four-star except for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times, most often using reward points, and most often for either 10,000 or 15,000 points. Imagine my surprise when I checked today and it has jumped to 35,000 points!!!!!

The hotel is on the upper-end of my personal Holiday Inn Express rating scale with typical HIE amenities. Yes, it is in Boulder but has no view of the snow-capped Rockies. Nothing special to warrant that ridiculous price. I will miss staying there but will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear mrssimptom,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the number of points required to redeem a night stay at our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
36
34
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting a friend in Boulder. It was your average Holiday Inn Express. Very clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Best part was at 7 p.m. each night they had fresh baked cookies from the oven! And at 4 p.m they set-up a popcorn maker in the lobby. Great perks! The hotel is within walking distance from one of the local breweries - Upslope. Worth checking out if you have a chance!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Our front desk staff loves baking those yummy cookies nightly, but I really think they love eating them too!
We are located near Upslope Brewery and are currently working together on a package deal which includes your overnight lodging, and one 20 dollar gift certificate to Upslope Brewery Company per night which can be used for any of their products (t-shirts, six packs, etc.) It can also be used in their tap room which is just down the street from us. You'll also get one pint glass with the Upslopes logo. It's a great opportunity to combine to amazing things, a comfy bed and a delicious beer!
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Drove from Ohio to Boulder for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised at the accommodations, considering the area.
Room was clean and quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave excellent directions.
The breakfast was unbelievable! Besides the hot waffle maker, they also have a hot pancake maker, something I've never seen in a hotel before. The cinnamon rolls are warm, fresh, and taste homemade. The eggs were fluffy and the bacon was hot. Great variety for breakfast. The breakfast staff couldn't have been nicer. We came in late our first morning and they made sure we had food. Very impressive!!
Would definitely stay there again if we are ever in Boulder again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your excitement of our delicious breakfast. I personally am addicted to the cinnamon rolls. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I went for a quick weekend and chose this hotel as he had points available and in our experience, any Holiday Inn is generally average, so we figured why not. When we first arrived, we were quite impressed. We arrived late and the kind person at the front desk offered us midnight snacks and bottles of water. A nice touch. The remainder of the weekend was just disappointing. We had a plumbing issue rendering the bathroom unusable and this was not addressed in a timely manner. It took hours for someone to do so. Our room was not completely cleaned on any day of our stay. In fact, one day we came back to the hotel and it appeared as though they cleaned the bathroom, but not the room as the bed was not made. Again, I realize this is a Holiday Inn and not the Ritz, but simple things like attention to detail and cleanliness should not be too much to ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and drawing our attention to the errors that occurred during your stay. We appreciate you mentioning some of the perks we offer our Priority Club members as well as the positive experience you had with the front desk staff. Currently we are working with our head of housekeeping to assure that this will not occur again. Please feel free to contact me directly and we will work to provide you with the high standards we hold ourselves to at the Holiday Inn Express Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want to be in North Boulder (but pretty close to downtown), this is a great place to stay. I had never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before, so didn't know what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was pleasant and courteous, the room was big and clean, the breakfast was OK, the cookies in the afternoon were great and the price was right. It has a fitness center that I didn't use and a guest laundry facility which is really helpful if you are hiking or biking. Not a fancy hotel, but very hard to beat. I'll stay there again the next time I am in Boulder.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

And we will keep the cookies on standby for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while visiting our best friends who moved to Boulder. The hotel was clean, quiet, and a great value. The continental breakfast is great! (except for the western omelet) The front desk staff is very helpful and knowledgeable of local restaurants, bars, hikes, and activities. Carin & Aaron at the front desk are the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are proud of our staff and always love to hear good things about them. I will make sure they see your amazing comments and I will continue to praise them for their hard work.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Was at a conference in Boulder July 18-20 and honestly wasn't expecting much since it was a Holiday Inn Express, but was pleasantly surprised. This hotel was chosen because it was close to the conference and it's location so far away from downtown was the only drawback. It was a fairly modern, clean hotel with very comfortable beds and really that's all we needed. The coffee was horrible (almost expected at a small hotel) but teh free buffet breakfast was relatively tasty and got us going in the hectic mornings. There were also some nice coffee shops, shops and restaurants in the general vicinity which was a nice plus. And once we determined that the SKIP bus right out front took us to Pearl Street we were set (at only $2.25 for a trip - and 2 hours with a transfer it was a bargain). The buses also had A/C which was a bonus in the +40 C heat. I also found out that once downtown I could take the HOP bus directly to the main shopping centre (Target, Macy's, Nord Rack) and back. So even though we were on the outskirts we spent a lot of time right downtown sampling local brews (I love CO for that!) and really quality food at reasonable prices. The front of house staff were also very good - friendly, prompt and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and we are elated that you chose the Holiday Inn Express for your conference lodging. We are located on the Northern part of Boulder and just a Skip or a Hop away from the downtown shopping. Although the bus is convenient, you don't necessarily need to travel to the downtown area for something to munch on or have a local sip. In the North Boulder area we do have a local brewery just blocks from the hotel itself. Upslope brewery is an award winning brewery walking distance from the Holiday Inn Express. We are also just up the street from a local winery and many local restaurants.

Thank you for mentioning our staff and I'm sure on your next stay they would love to help you with any food, drink, or shopping suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Address: 4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boulder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boulder hotel is an all non-smoking, beautifully appointed hotel in North Boulder 4.5 miles from the University of Colorado and 5 miles from IBM, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and the Gunbarrell Business Park. The Boulder Holiday Inn Express is located within minutes of Boulder Reservoir and 1/4 mile from Wonderland Lake Hiking Trail and other great hiking trails for the outdoor adventurous. Featuring Express Start breakfast with exclusive hot cinnamon rolls, hot entrees. Free local phone calls, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center to fit your needs. Airport transportation is available through Boulder Super Shuttle. Free wireless high-speed Internet access, 2 two-line phones, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in all rooms. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located 3 miles from the Pearl Street Mall area and downtown Boulder. We are pet friendly with a fee. Visit Boulder, CO and Stay Smart at your home away from home the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boulder Hotel Boulder
Holiday Inn Boulder
Boulder Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boulder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.