We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ick.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boulder to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boulder
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Omaha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ick.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I went for a quick weekend and chose this hotel as he had points available and in our experience, any Holiday Inn is generally average, so we figured why not. When we first arrived, we were quite impressed. We arrived late and the kind person at the front desk offered us midnight snacks and bottles of water. A nice touch. The remainder of the weekend was just disappointing. We had a plumbing issue rendering the bathroom unusable and this was not addressed in a timely manner. It took hours for someone to do so. Our room was not completely cleaned on any day of our stay. In fact, one day we came back to the hotel and it appeared as though they cleaned the bathroom, but not the room as the bed was not made. Again, I realize this is a Holiday Inn and not the Ritz, but simple things like attention to detail and cleanliness should not be too much to ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and drawing our attention to the errors that occurred during your stay. We appreciate you mentioning some of the perks we offer our Priority Club members as well as the positive experience you had with the front desk staff. Currently we are working with our head of housekeeping to assure that this will not occur again. Please feel free to contact me directly and we will work to provide you with the high standards we hold ourselves to at the Holiday Inn Express Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
34
31
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want to be in North Boulder (but pretty close to downtown), this is a great place to stay. I had never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before, so didn't know what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was pleasant and courteous, the room was big and clean, the breakfast was OK, the cookies in the afternoon were great and the price was right. It has a fitness center that I didn't use and a guest laundry facility which is really helpful if you are hiking or biking. Not a fancy hotel, but very hard to beat. I'll stay there again the next time I am in Boulder.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

And we will keep the cookies on standby for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while visiting our best friends who moved to Boulder. The hotel was clean, quiet, and a great value. The continental breakfast is great! (except for the western omelet) The front desk staff is very helpful and knowledgeable of local restaurants, bars, hikes, and activities. Carin & Aaron at the front desk are the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are proud of our staff and always love to hear good things about them. I will make sure they see your amazing comments and I will continue to praise them for their hard work.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Was at a conference in Boulder July 18-20 and honestly wasn't expecting much since it was a Holiday Inn Express, but was pleasantly surprised. This hotel was chosen because it was close to the conference and it's location so far away from downtown was the only drawback. It was a fairly modern, clean hotel with very comfortable beds and really that's all we needed. The coffee was horrible (almost expected at a small hotel) but teh free buffet breakfast was relatively tasty and got us going in the hectic mornings. There were also some nice coffee shops, shops and restaurants in the general vicinity which was a nice plus. And once we determined that the SKIP bus right out front took us to Pearl Street we were set (at only $2.25 for a trip - and 2 hours with a transfer it was a bargain). The buses also had A/C which was a bonus in the +40 C heat. I also found out that once downtown I could take the HOP bus directly to the main shopping centre (Target, Macy's, Nord Rack) and back. So even though we were on the outskirts we spent a lot of time right downtown sampling local brews (I love CO for that!) and really quality food at reasonable prices. The front of house staff were also very good - friendly, prompt and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and we are elated that you chose the Holiday Inn Express for your conference lodging. We are located on the Northern part of Boulder and just a Skip or a Hop away from the downtown shopping. Although the bus is convenient, you don't necessarily need to travel to the downtown area for something to munch on or have a local sip. In the North Boulder area we do have a local brewery just blocks from the hotel itself. Upslope brewery is an award winning brewery walking distance from the Holiday Inn Express. We are also just up the street from a local winery and many local restaurants.

Thank you for mentioning our staff and I'm sure on your next stay they would love to help you with any food, drink, or shopping suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

While on the outskirts of Boulder, this hotel is very convenient to the "downtown" area of Boulder and the college campus. Set against the hills, the hotel is located near a homeless shelter and a gentlemen's club. Which was a bit disconcerting initially, but did not seem to have an impact once on the property.

Room Tip: Higher floor seemed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for you lodging needs. We are located in the Northern part of Boulder or 'NoBo' which is rapidly changing and growing. In NoBo one of the many shops located nearby is the family friendly Gateway Fun Center, the only Mini Golf and Go-Kart location in all of Boulder. We expect the area to continue to grow and change and hopefully by your next stay there will be another new and exciting store in our neighborhood. Thanks for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent two nights here and enjoyed my stay. My room was facing east towards the main road by the hotel, but there was no noise from outside or inside the hotel. The room was a good size, not too large and not too small. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. There was a small kitchenette with a microwave and small fridge and a coffee maker. The large flat panel TV had many, many channels to choose from. The front desk staff were very friendly, as was the breakfast staff. I enjoyed the breakfast - the typical HI Express breakfast with a pancake machine, hot cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, cereal and more.

The only potential downside for some guests might be the location, as the hotel is located on the northern tip of Boulder. I usually stay in the southern part of Boulder, so this was a change for me. But the drive to Pearl Street Mall or the University is still no more than ten minutes or so and it is an easy drive. There are funky shops and cafes and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, so it's not like you are isolated in the wilderness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Express. We always love to hear back from our guests.

Yes we are located in the northern end of Boulder, or NoBo, which allows our guests the possibilities of unique experiences specific to our location.

For example, just steps behind our hotel is the Wonderland lake hiking trail or if you are interested in some of the local flavor, we are the only hotel located within walking distance of a local winery or a local brewery.

Thank you again for you review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked 2 days ahead and didn't have much choice - it was back to college time. This north Boulder hotel was unexpectedly very nice. Nothing unusual on the outside, but the staff were exceptional. The front desk happily let us check out late to get in one more hike. The breakfast room attendant kept the area well stocked and spotless. She had her hands full with 50+ Army soldiers who had spent the night. They even hosted a free by-the-pool barbecue (especially for the soldiers, but everyone was welcome - did those young men enjoy that!). they baked 2nd and 3rd batches of their promised 7:00 PM cookies and the 4:00 PM popcorn was a nice touch, too.

The bed was really comfortable - nice and firm, fresh, crisp sheets and pillows marked "firm" and "soft". the bathroom was spotless with very nice, thick towels. The business center is in a living room area that faces east and has a fireplace - like being at home, not in some dark corner.

We were right off the lobby on the first floor, but it was quiet. Right on Broadway, it's an easy, short drive to downtown. Just watch out for the ever present bike riders in Boulder!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains (over half the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I was touched by your sincerity and your ability to describe our hotel so eloquently. We look forward to your next stay, and we'll keep the cookies and popcorn at the ready. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Address: 4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boulder 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boulder hotel is an all non-smoking, beautifully appointed hotel in North Boulder 4.5 miles from the University of Colorado and 5 miles from IBM, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and the Gunbarrell Business Park. The Boulder Holiday Inn Express is located within minutes of Boulder Reservoir and 1/4 mile from Wonderland Lake Hiking Trail and other great hiking trails for the outdoor adventurous. Featuring Express Start breakfast with exclusive hot cinnamon rolls, hot entrees. Free local phone calls, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center to fit your needs. Airport transportation is available through Boulder Super Shuttle. Free wireless high-speed Internet access, 2 two-line phones, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in all rooms. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located 3 miles from the Pearl Street Mall area and downtown Boulder. We are pet friendly with a fee. Visit Boulder, CO and Stay Smart at your home away from home the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boulder Hotel Boulder
Holiday Inn Boulder
Boulder Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boulder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.