We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boulder to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boulder
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked 2 days ahead and didn't have much choice - it was back to college time. This north Boulder hotel was unexpectedly very nice. Nothing unusual on the outside, but the staff were exceptional. The front desk happily let us check out late to get in one more hike. The breakfast room attendant kept the area well stocked and spotless. She had her hands full with 50+ Army soldiers who had spent the night. They even hosted a free by-the-pool barbecue (especially for the soldiers, but everyone was welcome - did those young men enjoy that!). they baked 2nd and 3rd batches of their promised 7:00 PM cookies and the 4:00 PM popcorn was a nice touch, too.

The bed was really comfortable - nice and firm, fresh, crisp sheets and pillows marked "firm" and "soft". the bathroom was spotless with very nice, thick towels. The business center is in a living room area that faces east and has a fireplace - like being at home, not in some dark corner.

We were right off the lobby on the first floor, but it was quiet. Right on Broadway, it's an easy, short drive to downtown. Just watch out for the ever present bike riders in Boulder!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains (over half the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I was touched by your sincerity and your ability to describe our hotel so eloquently. We look forward to your next stay, and we'll keep the cookies and popcorn at the ready. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
36
34
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great location for the sports minded visitor. Biking, hiking, running all out your front door. Nice sized room, very clean and a good firm mattress. 10 minutes to downtown and the Pearl Street Mall. Free tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked through Priceline so had no idea what Hotel we would stay in and this was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the location with great restaurants close by. Estes Park was only a 50 minutes drive away :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulderhie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
It's great to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we are excited that we would were apart of your positive experience. We are the closest located hotel to Estes Park in Boulder and we are pleased to accommodate you while you were in town. Thanks and we look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga TN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here one night before heading to the Rocky Mountain National Park the next day. Excellent hotel. Check in was quick, professional, and friendly. The Hotel property is VERY nicely kept and the room was clean and spacious. Room was set up with a kitchenette with spacious mini-fridge, sink, and microwave. Lots of TV channels, and a simple to use good AC system. Location is on the edge of town, but not far from lots of the standard chain restaurants and stores. Great room, nicely kept property and great service adds up an excellent choice for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulderhie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We're glad you were able to enjoy all that Colorado has to offer. We look forward to your next stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hi,
We stayed 7/20 to 7/23/12 and the Customer Service was outstanding. Rooms newly renovated and very nice, like a Holiday Inn express I recently stayed at in Lakeland, FL. Breakfast was also very good and included many items that many other chains do not have. Will stay here again on our return trips to Boulder, Co.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor room at end of hall very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulderhie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves our service and our breakfast amenities. I've heard our pancake machine referred to as a 'Willy Wonka creation'. It's a new addition to our breakfast and were excited to know that it is well received.

Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was on the third floor, very quiet, had parking right outside and we had a nice view of the mountains. It was clean, comfortable, great shower and dark shades for an afternoon nap. We stayed here the night before our rental opened in Estes Park. There are plenty of nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. You do have to drive to get downtown. Boulder has so much to do and enjoy, worth an extra night's stay for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulderhie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. Nothing's better then a midday nap when your on vacation and we are please to accommodate you. Please visit us again on your next trip to Boulder. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It started out as a good experience at this hotel, clean room, nice pool, etc. After we checked out, my boyfriend realized he left a brand new pair of shoes (skate boarding shoes) at the hotel and we called immediately to find out if they were found. He remembers specifically where he left them in the room and told the staff so. He was transferred to the lost and found through housekeeping and was told they weren't found. We called back several times that day and the next day and were told that the shoes were not found. It was the first night on our vacation and the only hotel we stayed in on our trip. it has now been 5 days and no one has called back to say that they were found, so I imagine that an employee or an employee family member is walking around with new $80 shoes. Really, really, really uncool Holiday Inn Express staff!! What has this world come to when you have to steal someone's shoes?!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulderhie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please be aware that we take accusations of theft very seriously. I have personally looked into the situation and have found no reason to believe that any of my staff is accountable for your loss. We have many policies in place to guarantee that there is no theft, nor have we had any instances of such. Many of our staff has been with us for several years as I have previously mentioned, we have never had any instances of theft. We are sorry for your loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Address: 4777 North Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boulder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boulder hotel is an all non-smoking, beautifully appointed hotel in North Boulder 4.5 miles from the University of Colorado and 5 miles from IBM, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and the Gunbarrell Business Park. The Boulder Holiday Inn Express is located within minutes of Boulder Reservoir and 1/4 mile from Wonderland Lake Hiking Trail and other great hiking trails for the outdoor adventurous. Featuring Express Start breakfast with exclusive hot cinnamon rolls, hot entrees. Free local phone calls, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center to fit your needs. Airport transportation is available through Boulder Super Shuttle. Free wireless high-speed Internet access, 2 two-line phones, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in all rooms. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located 3 miles from the Pearl Street Mall area and downtown Boulder. We are pet friendly with a fee. Visit Boulder, CO and Stay Smart at your home away from home the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boulder Hotel Boulder
Holiday Inn Boulder
Boulder Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boulder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.