We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside fool you !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added University Inn to your Saves list
University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Phoenix
1 review
“Don't let the outside fool you !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Recently remodeled rooms are beautiful, bathrooms spacious and contemporary, everyone helpful, quiet at night, and convenient wAlk to shopping and restaurants . Would return .Giuseppe was very cordial.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Boulder University Inn. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed our remodeled guest rooms, our convenient location, as well as our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
18
40
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very comfy king bed and elegant, just-renovated bathroom with luxurious shower stall.

You wouldn't know it from the typical, 2-story motor lodge appearance. Great location: right by the main intersection of the Boulder Creek Path and easy walk to Pearl Street Mall (which you MUST visit). Farmers Market also right behind the Inn. But vagabonds gather and sleep by the creek right behind the hotel. Good thing there is a high steel fence.

TV not hi def. Free bikes to borrow--rideable but not well-maintained.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed our property during your time in Boulder, Colorado. It is wonderful to be able to offer visitors excellent accommodations and amenities, in an amazing location, and at an affordable price. Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Took a chance and was not disappointed. Cute room. Small but sufficient. Very close to pearl street mall. Across from boulder univ. price was ok. Fulfilled our needs. Would recommend. Especially liked the close proximity to pearl street mall where we went for dinner and a nice walk to stretch out after a long drive

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boulder University Inn, we are thrilled you chose to stay with us during your time in Boulder, Colorado and enjoyed your experience. Great to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location to Pearl Street and that you would recommend us to others. That is truly one of the best compliments we could receive. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here two nights with a colleague while attending a conference. Rooms were very clean. Jana, who runs the place, was very helpful with a last minute room change (we booked a single bed room by accident). Also, my colleague with whom I was traveling realized he was missing his watch after leaving boulder. Jana and the other staff searched our room immediately after we called the hotel and followed up via email promptly. The watch was later found in my dirty clothes. They also have bikes for guests!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review- We really appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Boulder University Inn. I will be sure to share them with Jana as well as our entire team. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

sorry to hear of others stays - was in Boulder on busy holiday week-end. Located in the heart of all things fun in Boulder - the University and Pearl St Mall. The motel is completely remodeled. Nice rooms, bathrooms, fridge, microwave. Staff very accommodating - Was in town for work and they could not have been more helpful. Guiseppe was awesome. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Boulder.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of our property, we really appreciate your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, including our location, guest rooms and amenities, as well as our wonderful team members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for around 17 days in November 2013. I was on a business trip. Following are the issue I faced.

1. Very poor WIFI connection in room 216, I complained but no improvement.
2. I asked for a cattle to boil some water but they did not give any.
3. There was a CRT TV and very few channels.
4. I was hoping LCD TV with HDMI input at least.

Room Tip: If you are on a long business trip, check for good wifi connection and a TV with HDMI cable so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Boulder University Inn. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are currently in the processes of upgrading our rooms that will include the items you mentioned in your review. We sincerely hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Quite surprised just how awful my experience was here. My girlfriend and I checked in for a night for some Boulder carousing and never again will select this hotel. First, we get to room and the key doesn't work so back to the front desk to get a key that actually opens the room. Ok, into the room and we find the room to be mind-numbingly cold and I'm someone who likes it cold. I swear the room must have been 50 degrees. Ok so crank the heater and let's get warm...hours later the room at least became lukewarm. Next up, the shower. Had to run the water for 20 minutes until it was finally hot enough to take a shower and thaw out from our freezing cold room. We survied the night, went out to get some coffee in the morning...back to the room well before check-out and once again the key doesn't work....back to front desk, get a key that works...pack up and get the hell outta this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We would like to first thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Boulder University Inn and would also like to apologize for the issues you experienced. Boulder has been part of the national vortex of freezing weather, accordingly we made every effort to keep all guest rooms at a warm temperature for not only the comfort of our guests, but also to ensure that pipes would not freeze in the building. Unfortunately, there must have been an issue with the specific heater in your guest room, as it definitely would not take long to heat, and would heat the room very comfortably. In regards to the water heater, the same is true. We believe that the weather unfortunately was the reason for all of the inconveniences you dealt with including your room keys. Please allow me to take this opportunity to apologize again as we take great pride in delivering excellent service and obviously feel short during your stay. We would love the opportunity to talk to you directly so please don't hesitate to call Renee at 303.215.4144 as this experience was completely unacceptable and we would love the opportunity speak directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder's best lodging value offers it all with spacious rooms, complimentary WIFI, continental breakfast, and outdoor seasonal pool. Walk to CU and Pearl Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.