We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke-filled and noisy.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Save Saved
You added University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Smoke-filled and noisy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My initial thought on this place was, "what a great location for only $70!" Then I walked into the room only to be choked by the intense smell of smoke. My attempts to change rooms were fruitless- the front desk agent seemed well-rehearsed for this common complaint.

Do not stay here if you value sleep. Its prime location turned into a nightmare due to the constant drunk college kids walking past our window throughout the night and the constant sirens from emergency vehicles on Broadway.

Pay the extra money to stay at a decent place in Boulder. You won't regret paying the extra money and you won't have to feel bad about throwing $70 away at this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Boulder University Inn, we are in a prime location - convenient walking distance of just 2 blocks to the popular Pearl Street Mall, The Hill and CU Boulder. We are sorry we were unable to accommodate your request of switching your reservation that you made online to a non-smoking room as our property was sold out during the evening of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
17
39
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at UI. We love to go to Pearl Street so this is the perfect location to be in walking distance. The place does need some updating and it is scheduled to begin in October. The pictures of their plans look great. The staff is helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Arriving here to stay a few nights prior to our daughter attend the Fall Semester at CU Boulder was pleasant. The rooms are ample size but we needed a larger room for the four of us (two parents, college freshman and younger brother). We traveled all over Asia last year so we work well together in small spaces but the room was surely large enough to accommodate us all. Two full beds (not queen). The pillows were pretty firm, a bit lumpy but workable. The beds were not the firmest but the remodel may included new beds which would be nice. The shower was a stall- no tub with plenty of towels. Decor was older but clean. The best part was location. Across the street was a whole foods-esque place called Alfafas. This was key as the breakfast provided here was ample but not grand. Oatmeal and Oj are the best choices for the hotel.
The pool was great and we were the only ones in it. End of August was like bath water as the temp soared above 80 degrees. They will provide bikes free of charge for daytime roaming- nice extra.
If you're looking for location, this hotel is prime- just three blocks from Pearl Street, the mecca of restaurants, street performers, etc.. It is the heart of Boulder. The school is just south of the hotel and the hill is only three blocks to the south as well.
A good choice for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are above the office but they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose this hotel due to the location, within walking distance of pearl street and the college. The location was the best part. Price was high for what it was. Breakfast was ok.
We also enjoyed the free bike rentals they offered, which was nice since they are located right next to a great bike path!
The room was ok, but it smelled weird and the floors squeaked quite a bit (on both the first and second floor).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked two nights at the University Inn because it was the cheapest option I found that was walking distance from the city center. And while about $110 was cheaper than the other hotels, it seemed too much to pay for what I got. The room was clean, but clearly hasn't had any work done in 10-20 years. I could feel each spring in the bed, the curtains had several small holes in them, I could hear every time another person closed their door, I was awoken the second night by one or more bees on me, and there was a very strange stain on the ceiling. It was manageable because I was there solo, but I don't think my significant other would have been very happy there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

There is a sign in the lobby that says the entire motel is going to be rebuilt/remodeled in the near future. When making a reservation, you will want to ask the hotel when the remodel will start or whether it is done.
We stayed in room 119.
There were no maintenance issues. The carpeting is dark. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. We were not disturbed by the other tenants. However, we could hear someone walking in the room above us. Weekends are busy and room rates are higher on weekends. We paid $107 per night, which is still relatively low compared to other area lodging.
We parked our car within 30 feet of the room and did not have to carry our luggage up stairs or long distances. Parking is free in a part of town where you have to pay for parking everywhere else. The location is optimal for exploring the downtown on foot. Bicycles are loaned for free. The motel is located next to one of the many interconnecting bike paths in town. You can park your car at your room and not need it again until you leave town.
Across the street from the motel is a natural foods store called Alfa. They have excellent products. You can buy pizza by the slice or sandwiches there and eat very cheaply inside the market. You have a great selection of desserts from the bakery and drinks from the market. There are a lot of interesting foods and drinks to try.
Although the accomodations are not luxurious, this is an excellent place to stay.
I forgot to mention that there is a continental breakfast furnished by the motel. It features yoghurt and cereals, but no fruit. We chose to eat breakfast out.
Check in and out was quick and easy. The staff are personable.
We did not use the swimming pool, which is inconspicuously placed on the north side of the property near the street.

Room Tip: Room 119 was great. If you are bothered by noise from above, ask for an upstairs room. If you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We shopped around for a hotel that would be close to the downtown Pearl Street area and this place was within walking distance and the price was reasonable compared to the other chains in the area or the upscale places at $250+/night. We only stayed one night, thank goodness, because the room wasn't that great. It smelled like smoke, although it was a non-smoking room. The AC didn't work that well and it took a long time for the room to cool down. The shower had mold on the ceiling that had been painted over and the walls of the shower weren't that clean either. The carpet was dirty. The bed was ok and sheets were clean. We opted to stay on the first floor so we could park right outside the door but we could hear every step taken in the room above us which became quite annoying. The pool was right along side the road and even though there was a privacy fence, there is a lot of foot traffic thru the area so we didn't even attempt trying out the pool. There is a park area behind the hotel and from the front door of our room we could see a group of people sitting under a tree behind the hotel. At first glance, it looked like a group of homeless people and we started to get concerned about the security in the parking lot with leaving items inside our car. However, after a closer look, we realized they were just a group of locals who dressed like homeless people (seemed to be common in Boulder). We spent most of our time downtown dreading coming back to the hotel room..hoping to drink enough local brews to put us to sleep quickly upon returning to the room.
I would give this hotel 2 stars, except for the fact that the location was perfect and the hotel staff was very helpful and nice. If you don't plan on spending time in your room, then this place will work if you want a reasonably priced room close to the downtown area.
They served a continental breakfast, which we opted to skip..try out the "The Buff Restaurant" instead (featured on Man vs. Food on the Travel Channel).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder's best lodging value offers it all with spacious rooms, complimentary WIFI, continental breakfast, and outdoor seasonal pool. Walk to CU and Pearl Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.