We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay at the University Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Save Saved
You added University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
NE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Another stay at the University Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Although not much has changed at the University Inn since my last review in Aug 2011, I did want to make note that upon the manager's post/comment to my review, when making reservations I requested a refrigerator for our 8 night stay. Luckily this request was granted. I was told upon check in that there are 4 refrigerators on site and are available as first come first serve. It was nice to not have to keep a cooler stocked with ice, especially since most days during our stay were over 90 degrees!

As always, we found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and accommodating. Not quite 5 star. Not yet anyway!

In the lobby is a poster board display of the renovations & remodeling that is going to take place at the hotel. I was told that the project will be done in 3 phases, with the first phase starting late October and the hotel will remain open during the renovations. I was also told that all rooms/bathrooms will be redone top to bottom. Double/full size beds will be replaced with queen size, giving guests the option of queen or king bedding. I believe all tv's will be replaced with flat screens as well. The lobby/breakfast area will also be redone and a new privacy wall will be built around the pool. The exterior of the building has what appears to me to be the typical look of other Boulder stone front buildings. Based on the photos, the exterior and interior changes look very nice!

I look forward to seeing/experiencing the changes on my next visit to town.

Mare

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are so thrilled that you chose to stay with us again. We too are very excited for our upcoming renovation which is now scheduled to begin in January 2013. We hope to see again if your travels bring you back to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
17
40
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is not a fancy place - but it's clean and quiet. Walking distance to Pearl Street Mall and the university. The creek runs behind the inn, and you can see the Flatirons from the parking lot. The free wi-fi was very fast, and the continental breakfast was fine. For less than $100 including tax per night in late July, it was definitely a bargain and I'd stay there again any time.

There is a grocery store called 'Alfalfa's' across the street that has excellent produce and a lot of varieties of healthy take out food. The Boulder Farmer's Market on Wednesdays is only .5 block away from the inn, and it's excellent.

The only negative I can think of is that there were very few electrical outlets in the room I was in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Tip: prepay online and the low rate is even better. As many of the other reviews state, this is not the fanciest of hotels, but we found it to be clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free bike rentals were perfect and a nice advantage. We stayed here a few nights before switching to the hotel where a family wedding was being held in town. The free internet, free breakfast, free bike rentals, great location and great rate, in my opinion, out weight the fact that it is not as fancy as some of the other hotels I have stayed in. We stayed on the 1st floor and did not experience any problems with noise at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at the University Inn for a long weekend during Boulder Creek Fest. It is in a perfect location, close to downtown Boulder. Nothing fancy here but the price is right. Free wifi & continental breakfast. Friendly & helpful staff. I recommend it if you are looking for basic lodging in downtown Boulder.

Room Tip: I suggest you select a room on the second floor because the floors tend to creak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Other reviews led me to choose university inn. People said no frills...they were not kidding. I could tolerate this old school inn but my brother freaked out because it wasn't anything close to a national chain. It appears it attracts some questionable guests (like the hippie dancing in front of my car as soon as I pulled in) but I also saw some nice husband and wife couples just trying to save some money in Colorado. The pool was murky. I would have been very disappointed if I had children with me.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The inn is on par with a standard chain hotel. But it felt like it hasn't been refurbished in quite sometime. It was clean though, and we had a nice stay as we weren't there to spend a lot of time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here just one night instead of two because we needed to be in Ft. Collins a day earlier but this was a well placed hotel with the Pearl Street mall just a couple of blocks walk away. Room was clean and pretty quiet; we were in the 2nd floor back, so there was a bit of noise from the bike path and school. No real problem though. The breakfast was truly continental and we went out for more breakfast later. Alfalfa's across the street is a good place for a quick breakfast snack. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder's best lodging value offers it all with spacious rooms, complimentary WIFI, continental breakfast, and outdoor seasonal pool. Walk to CU and Pearl Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.