We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but could do better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Boulder Twin Lakes Inn to your Saves list
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but could do better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights during a recent tour of the Rockies, looking for somewhere affordable and well-located. Location was good for getting out to the mountains, but less convenient for downtown Boulder, being located in a suburb some 6 miles from Pearl Street. Reception was unmanned when we arrived late evening, something which was to be a feature of our time there. This wouldn't be a problem, provided you don't have any problems that need to be resolved.

Our room was 104, just along from reception and the breakfast room. It is a good-sized room with kitchenette, however the bathroom sink is in the kitchen, next to the kitchen sink. Somewhat unnecessary. Also, the fridge must have been leaking as the carpet in front of it was soaking wet for the 2 days we were there.

Breakfast was adequate, but did include hot eggs. The coffee, typical of American motels, was very weak. The property is non-smoking, but provision is made for smokers with lots of outdoor spaces that can be used. The motel also has a hot tub, housed in the courtyard inside a small conservatory-style building. The tub was unfortunately overfilled, which meant that water gushed out over the side when 2 of us sat in it.

The main problem with this hotel was the bed - it was so soft that backache was a big problem each morning. By upgrading the mattresses and taking a little more care over the small details, this place could be one of the best in Boulder. Right now, it falls short.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    54
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
70
46
28
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

After reading the reviews on this hotel, I was excited to be staying with them. Upon our arrival, we found a basket with envelopes in it which told us that we needed to check ourselves in. We had only one key for the room and a sheet that told us how to contact the inn keeper. Well, we did have to contact the inn keeper but found that the phone in our room didn't work. My husband finally went around the inn and found one of them. The room itself was pretty bad. It smelled like dog pee, had no bathroom sink, was very outdated and the air conditioner barely worked. It was hot & stuffy with a window that opened up to the laundry vent outside. We ended up checking out after one day when we meant to stay three more, but we weren't about to give them more of our money for that room. There are much better places to stay in Boulder.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

This is the second time I've stayed at the Twin Lakes Inn and it was even better this time around. Room 117 was very large and comfortable for a weekly stay with my older son.
Pros: Extremely comfortable beds and sheets
Soft, fluffy towels
Friendly accommodating staff
Good breakfast
Quiet residential area
Clean
Excellent value
It is a warm, homey atmosphere
Cons: Residential area so you need to drive at least 10 minutes to commercial areas
Poor cell phone service (not their fault)
Front desk staff was great but they don't man the desk a good part of time - they are always available by phone.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

This is a very special Inn -- truly felt like home. I loved that many of the guests come in to stay for a week at a time (many consultants, runners coming in for trainings...) so you can get to know each other. Truly a nice group of people visiting the Inn, and very friendly, helpful people at the front desk. It feels like you're part of the family after a while. The breakfast room in the morning has a variety of foods to choose from -- very healthy!! There's even a kitchen on the 2nd floor, so you can relax and make your own foods.

The rooms are large and spacious (slept like a baby). The bath tubs are sized to relax in. The location is perfect -- residential, quiet, yet close to anywhere you want to go in Boulder and the surrounding area. Best of all... it's quiet!! Even with families, you just don't hear any noise in the halls or in your room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs, co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I have stayed at Boulder Twin Lakes three times now for educational meetings. Each room has refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave and just the right set of amenities without going overboard. Beds are comfortable and the site is very quiet. They provide a nice variety of foods for breakfast every day and have just recently added a beautifully remodeled kitchen (complete with pots, pans, dishes and utensils) where we were able to cook most of our meals. The staff are all friendly and helpful and remembered us by name. This is an outstanding venue for groups as well as individuals.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

I stayed 5 nights at the Twin lakes Inn along with a group from the class I was attending. It felt like a very homey place and I already booked my next stay in Feb. there. It had all the comforts of home including a kitchen and dining room. The staff there were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and comfortable, very quiet and a bargin. I cant think of anywhere else I would stay in Boulder where I would feel more comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Clean, quiet - in a residential area near a corporate area; 5.3 miles off US 36 down CO 119. Know where it is and where you are going before booking. It was worth the drive for us. Restaurants and groceries available at US 36. Good continental breakfast with excellent opportunity to visit with other guests (corporate and long term). Lack of desk attendant not a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.