We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Clean and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boulder Twin Lakes Inn to your Saves list
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Tecumseh, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy, Clean and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This "Inn" is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and has the feel of a High-end Hostel, which is a good thing. Full kitchen with plenty of plugs, a gas grill and gazebo for patrons to use, and a business center in the lobby. We arrived around midnight and found instructions and our key-check in info in a basket. Although it is a 15 minute drive to Boulder, the difference in price is substantial.... And it's not like one can save by not renting a car as Boulder is so spread out as to make walking / public transport too inconvenient. Anyway, I would highly recommend this hotel, I hope they keep up the good work and continue to make improvements.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    57
    28
    8
    13
See reviews for
81
56
30
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights over the 4th of july weekend.

1.) Price- First they have really low prices compared to other hotels in the Boulder area. You can't get these prices in Boulder with the quality of this place.

2.) Service- The place has a mom and pap feel and with polite helpful service to match. I left some luggage in a race to get to the airport and they went the extra mile for sure. They were kind enough to work with me to send it back to my home. Even gave me their cell phone # so I could keep in contact to make sure everything works out. They actually care about people.

3.) Rooms- The rooms have everything you need, clean, quiet, with comfortable beds, and the feel that your staying at a friends house on vacation rather then large hotels chains like a Best Western.

4.) Location- It's roughly a 7 minute drive to center of downtown Boulder, a lot shorter then it looks on the map.

RECAP- for the price, helpful staff, room quality, and location why would you stay anywhere else in Boulder?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my first stay and I was pleasantly surprised. Tucked back in a neighborhood, made this location quiet and restful. There is a BBQ area and outside seating for guests, and my double room had a full kitchen and all the amenities. The ambience was great with the posters of local, national, and international runners. Only 10 minute drive to downtown Boulder and Pearle Street. Being able to head away from crowds in the evening was very nice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was my 6th stay over the past 20 years and I will go back again hopefully next year. I've always gone with a Softball group and it's perfect for families. One suggestion to the Inn, Spruce up the upstairs kitchen with a backsplash and some paint it's a great room to cook for a group (which we did twice) or play games. Also have the help go in there daily and empty the trash and make sure there are clean towels and dishsoap. If there had been a broom and dustpan I would've swept. Love the washers and dryers and that you provide change. Morning breakfast could also be better but I bought my own and cooked so I only went to the breakfast room once.

Room Tip: Bed was broken in room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Be sure to check the room
A/C didn't work
Wet rug in front of fridge
Very basic breakfast
Located outside town
Would not stay there again
Might be good for families on a budget
No customer service
Not near shopping or restaurants

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here for a week with a family of 4 earlier this month. The location is in a quiet residential neighborhood with a park in the back utilized by the neighborhood and Twin Lakes is a short walk down the street with great walking trails which was nice. This is also just minutes away from the Celestial Seasonings Factory. There is a small shopping center about 5 min from the location which has a supermarket and a few resteraunts which proved to be very convenient to stock up the mini fridge in the room to save on food costs. The room however only has a microwave and fridge so some of your cooking choices are limited as the upstairs kitchen was off limits to guests during my stay due to the usage by the Japanese running club. Yes the rooms are oddly arranged, the carpet is ready for replacement and the room does not get cleaned during the visit but this was a great value and the room itself was clean upon arrival, offered enough space for everyone over the span of a week including closets and drawers so that all of your stuff can be out of the way and in a nice neighborhood. Due to the fact the room doesn't get cleaned I had to do dishes and make beds on my vacation but my job as mom never gets a vacation when the kids are with me and we are on a budget. Clean towels are available to you at any time in the guest laundry downstairs. The breakfast choices are good for kids since there are multiple cereal options, fruit, yogurts, bagels, etc but it does get monotonous after a week however, again for budget concious people you deal with it. This was perfect for our family since we were sightseeing in both Boulder and Estes Park so it saved us an extra 15 min drive to get to Estes since the hotel is more outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just recently stayed here in 2014 after a horrible stay in 2002 - it was under different ownership then. The new owners care and take pride in their place and WOW - what a difference it makes!
The beds are super comfortable, clean, fresh paint, free computers for the guest to use, mini kitchens in the rooms with a complimentary breakfast every AM for guests. They now have a hot tub, nice laundry area, pet friendly, nice views of a park outside the window and a trail to the Twin Lakes right up the block for walking. Mr. Neal is a great innkeeper and I felt safe and welcome.
Quiet neighborhood and I will stay here again when I go to Boulder again next year for another workshop. Prices are very reasonable for all you get!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
5.0 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 22 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#7 of 22 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
4.3 mi away
Millennium Harvest House
Millennium Harvest House
#19 of 22 in Boulder
3.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Twin Lakes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.