We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Cozy place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Save Saved
You added Boulder Twin Lakes Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, Cozy place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The most important thing over there was the staff being so friendly and nice,
They were so helpful as we put any request,
Despite of the breakfast time being 7-10 am, they opened kitchen door 9:00 PM for us to eat as we just arrived from the airport
Overally, the place is soooo good and worth for the money you pay, if not more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    50
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
62
43
26
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Twin Lakes Inn is unusual in several ways. The front door is open 24 hours a day and gives access directly into the whole building. If there was a night porter, visitors would go past him, but there's no night porter. There's no day staff either, although some mornings there was a man behind the desk with his head in the computer reading a facebook page but he never looked up. He might have been a guest. We arrived on a Friday night around 6.30pm, having reserved three rooms, walked through the front door and were greeted by a basket on the deserted reception desk in an empty foyer. In the basket were envelopes with keys and our names. Help yourself. The rooms are fine - quite large but with an odd arrangement for the bathroom. The ensuite bathroom contains a toilet and a shower, however the hand basin is next to the kitchen sink in the main room. Parking and internet are free and so is breakfast - but don't get too excited. This Inn seems to have been established by marathon runners for marathon runners, and breakfast is a spartan affair of cereal, carbs, a banana and a boiled egg. However, there are a couple of good coffee shops five or ten minutes drive away, where breakfast is of course not free but at least there's a range of food available. When we booked online, the site said that the Inn was close to Folsom Field which is what we wanted. "Close" turned out to be a matter of opinion but you'll need a car. The Twin Lakes Inn is miles from any commercial centers, but there's not alot of traffic and it's certainly quiet. It was as if we had keys to a room in someone else's house when they're away - there was no linen service or room cleaning during the three days and nights we were there and we rarely saw another guest. But we liked the room and we liked being able to come and go without checking in, so for us it was a good experience. We'd recommend this place if you're looking to hide or need to avoid the media but if you're at all nervous about security or have young kids, I think you should look somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BineshPrasad, Owner at Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The building was built in 1985 and the Inn has been extensively renovated in the last six years.We try our best to maintain the carpets in hallways and rooms on a regular basis. It is not functional to steam clean when we are full or when the room is going to be occupied that day. One window panel was cracked in one of our rooms and the window has been ordered. We are going to change all our windows this fall/winter.
We have 16 camera surveillance system running 24/7 and we are located in a safe, quiet neighborhood. I am so sorry that you did not have a better experience of our Inn. I will take care of you personally for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Bizarre decore, breakfast not as good as advertised, kitchen sink directly next to bathroom sink. We confirmed room 106, double queen, and when we arrived after hours our confirmation packet said room 106 but we had the key for room 205, king bedded room. It was late and not worth the hassle of changing rooms knowing they were fully booked. It is also located in the middle of a residential area and looks as if it is just a converted apartment building but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telluride
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Twin Lakes is a comfortable , clean hideaway...I would recommend it to anyone...pet friendly with a great vibe...off the beaten path but easy access to anywhere in Boulder...I was extremely happy with both of my stays and will stay at the Twin Lakes any chance I get!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just stayed here during the middle of January. I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone who needs temporary housing while either visiting or moving to Boulder. We originally made the reservation for a month, but they were very flexible and let us reduce our stay in case we found an apartment earlier (which we did!). They even accept pets for a small fee which is a rarity, (we had 2 cats with us).There is a free buffet style breakfast in the downstairs kitchen with toast, eggs, cereals, fruit, pastries, etc. every morning. They even asked me if I needed/wanted anything else/different. There is also a full kitchen upstairs with all the appliances and cookware/utensils you'd need if you wanted to cook your own meals, which we did quite a few times. The place was always quiet and we encountered plenty of friendly guests. I'm not sure what I saw one person mention that there were drug-dealers in the building...couldn't be further from the truth! Honestly, I talked to the owner enough to know they would NEVER be ok with that, so I' definitely disregard that comment. The owner, Binesh and his family, are very friendly people and you feel at home while you are there. They always said hello and were very accommodating. The innkeeper, Neil, is just the guy you want to deal with after a long week on the road as we were. Very nice and professional. He gave us some suggestions on where to go around town and about the city in general. He even offered to help us bring some stuff out to the car!If you're looking for a place that is clean (very!), friendly (extremely!), and has a great location (7min to downtown Boulder), then you should definitely consider staying here...you won't be disappointed! ^.^ PS: There is no swimming pool, but there is a hot tub, so I rated the "pool" as excellent...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107, I think on the north-easterly side of the building. There was a beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed here years ago when it was Sandy Point Inn. New Owner, new look with the updated furniture! Still the same personal attention and warm feeling when you are there. Very family orientated and the b/fast kitchen is full with a nice array of items to choose from to start your day! The hot tub was not working when we first arrived,but it was fixed and ready to go by day 3 or 4.. The rooms are very clean, beds comfy and the flat screen tv is very nice as well. And of course free internet and laundry facility as well. Beautiful park to walk in and it leads right to my daughter's house so that is a BIG PLUS for us. Situated in a nice family neighborhood and very quiet. I would highly recommend this Inn. The owner and inn keeper were very pleasant. Felt like I was at home. Please disregard the pool rating..as they do not have one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Family and friends were in town for my daughter's mid-term graduation celebration. We had some last minute changes and Binesh (owner) was very accommodating. We always stay at the Twin Lakes because it is a great value, close to Boulder (on the bus line), quiet and comfortable. If you want an impersonal box go stay near the highway. If you want the personal touch and warm fuzzy feeling of staying at a B&B - stay here. The continental breakfast is more than adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Boulder
#8 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.