We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for the Traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boulder Twin Lakes Inn to your Saves list
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Boulder, Co
1 review
“Excellent Choice for the Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had the oportunity to stay with these folks at Boulder Twin Lakes, a few months ago. I just wanted to say that the location, continental breakfast, the rooms and more importantly the front desk staff made this an amzing business trip for me. I would highly recommend this Hotel for a nice family atmosphere with great amenities, and at competitive prices as well.

-Robert Marsden

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    55
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
71
47
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pros:
spacious room -
comfortable furniture (excepting bed issue, see below)
safe/secure/quiet neighborhood
competent staff
inexpensive and very good value


Cons:
1. The beds in our room (208) had wood at the foot of the bed, at the level of the mattress. Depending on how tall you are or how this affects you, it can be uncomfortable and cause you to sleep diagonally, which may present issues for you and your bed partner. This will be an issue only for some people, and may not be relevant for all the rooms - you could ask. Not a dealbreaker - I'd stay here again - but worth knowing if you are 6'1" or taller.

2. The breakfast was one place where I missed being in a chain hotel. One morning there was no more coffee, and while I certainly could have found someone (no one is in attendance in the breakfast room) and had more coffee made, I was in a hurry and just did without. The bread is presented in the plastic bag it comes in from the supermarket, so when you reach in to take your slices to toast, you (or me, anyway) think about everybody's else's germy hands handling the bread.....I would have preferred the sterility of a Comfort Inn plastic holder with plastic tongs in this matter...

But overall, very good value , comfortable, recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

There's nothing fancy about Twin Lakes Inn. But the bed is terrific, and it has a kitchenette--vital for me since I don't want to go our for all my meals. There's also a generous cold breakfast every day that includes fresh fruit salad and boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, hot coffee, etc.

The walking is great--there's access to the Twin Lakes trails a block away. One of the lakes is fenced and dogs can play unleashed there. You can easily bike to Boulder, or drive there in ten minutes maximum.

It's a great place for anyone who wants an inexpensive place to stay in the Boulder area. I will recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Talk to them about your needs. I came here to work on a project and brought a portable table; they p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Clean, well-kept room in a quiet CO foothills neighborhood that was more like renting a small apartment than staying in a motel. Small strip mall just a mile away has two excellent restaurants, especially Bogey's (all day including breakfast) and Cafe Blue (funky gourmet). Walking and jogging on the shady streets and trails was delightful. We didn't eat breakfast at the inn due to limited protein/fiber options. Single queen bed and plush pillows were very comfortable. Short drive to either Boulder or Ft. Collins. We've stayed there before, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I ended up at this hotel after a terrible experience at the Millennium. The experience I had at Twin Lakes was the polar opposite. Banesh, the gentleman in reception, remembered my first name and called me by it every time he saw me. He bent over backwards to help me find directions to an event I was attending. He was always available and helpful and pleasant. The room was large and clean, had a microwave, fridge, couch and table. The bed was comfortable. This hotel is at the north end of town and out away from the main drag some miles. It was peaceful and close to Twin Lakes for walking/jogging and enjoying wildlife.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Five of us 50+ "Girlfriends" recently stayed at this quiet & lovely neighborhood located motel. Spacious rooms with microwaves, small refrigerators, & plenty of space for our downtime activities- crafting, card playing, etc. Never did make it to the hot tub, but did take evening walks in the nearby park with nature trails. We thought breakfast was filling enough for our days' of sightseeing in Boulder & nearby Estes Park. Friendly & willing to please staff at the motel, who steered us to restaurants & gave great map directions.

Room Tip: No elevators for the 2 floors. Seniors with need ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a fairly nice hotel. Rooms were clean. Nice quiet neighborhood. The landscaping and walking trails were nice. Bathroom was very small. No sink. But kitchen area had 2 sinks. They had continental breakfast but only thing hot was coffee and toast you make yourself. So would have liked to see more hot food choices. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#8 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.