We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Boulder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Boulder to your Saves list
Residence Inn Boulder
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 Center Green Dr, Boulder, CO 80301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been staying here on business for over a month now. The Place is really nice and Homely. Home away from home. Staff are extremely friendly and will go out of the way to make your stay as pleasant as possible

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing Rt119
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    61
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
58
28
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ft Collins
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn with our friends for 5 nights. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was wonderful. The location is great so that we could bike downtown if we wanted or drive to a hike in 10 minutes. This Residence Inn also has bikes you can "rent" for free. Fun cruisers. We rented a 2 bedroom suite for 2 couples and it had all the amenities we needed. Another nice touch to the location is the free cookies at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake oswego
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are Marriott Reward Members. The main workers at this hotel are nice. The housekeeping service is beyond horrendous. I have been here 3 days. They didn't leave toilet paper and I had to call on two of the days. Today I was exhausted and laid down for a nap, but first put the Do Not Disturb magnet on the door, and the housekeeper pounded on the door then started coming in despite the sign. The room is not clean. Would absolutely not stay here again. The room itself is also awful, though the kitchen area is nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
My sincere apologies for your bad experience with our housekeeping. Our 91.8% cleanliness of suite score on our Guest Satisfaction Surveys is more typcal of what our guests experience. There is simply no excuse to explain why you did not recieve exceptional service in every aspect of your stay. We did have a misunderstanding with a guest in building 11 this week, stating that he left the no service magnet on his door but told the housekeeper that he really did want service, so the housekeeper entered the suite. I believe that may have been your family and I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We decided to stay at The Residence Inn during our one night in Boulder and were disappointed in this choice. While it garners above average ratings on this site, among others, I would describe the model and the specifics of what is offered as underwhelming and outdated. The rooms lack a freshness and are designed to emphasize the requirements of a long term occupant - the kitchen for example dominates the space while the balance of the quarters feel stingy and plain like a motel room that missed the last renovation cycle.
It's location is off the beaten track if that matters. The staff is pleasant and very helpful despite having little to work with.
All in all, an overvalued evening for what the Marriott is offering.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I am sorry that your one night in Boulder was disappointing. You are correct in that the suite is designed to meet the unique needs of longer term stays who require a kitchen and more living space. I appreciate your comments on our pleasant staff and apologize that we were not able to provide you with a more memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I are Gold Marriott Rewards members, so we have stayed in quite a variety of Marriott owned hotels. I want to begin by saying the people working here were very friendly and tried to help us as much as possible. Everything else was bad. The first room we were offered was a wooden fence away from a highway. As we went up the stairs (there are all individual buildings with approx. 8 rooms per building, all with outside entrances) we were met by cigarette butts and a cigar butt on the steps. We went in the room, closed the door, and could still hear the traffic, plus the room was a little musty. We went back to the office asking if there were any other rooms available, they informed us they were quite full because of an event at the local college. They offered us another room that was across from the pool and away from the highway, but this room had such a strong odor that my eyes were watering as soon as we opened the door. The front office people attributed the smell to the carpets just being deep cleaned; it smelled like they did a deep cleaning then sprayed the room with a strong floral air freshener. They offered us either of these 2 rooms and then said they could move us to another room the next day. We were staying in Boulder for 5 nights (planning to stay all 5 nights here) and we really did not want to stay here, in any room, after seeing the first 2 they offered. We made the reservations quite a few months in advance and we were using rewards points. I'm not sure if either of these things made a difference in our situation, I just thought it was a shame that there was not a nicer room for us. I was looking forward to the outdoor pool, on-site laundry, and free bike rentals. Instead we stayed at the Boulder Marriott which was quite convenient, very nice, very clean, awesome staff.
Be careful when selecting this Motel. Does not live up to the Marriott standards. Not sure how it got such a good rating; maybe I'm just a hotel snob, but this place just felt trashy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
My sincere apologies that we were not able to provide you with a suitable suite for your stay. Your experience is not at all representative of what our guests typically experience. I was shocked and embarrased by your photos and have used your feedback to improve our processes of room inspections. I can understand why you were disappointed with our hotel and am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. I would value the opportuntiy to regain your confidance in our hotel and invite you to call me personally to discuss how we can make that happen. Thank you!
Cathy Rothweiler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second stay here but it's definitely a mixed bag. It is convenient to our son's apartment and we needed a second bedroom, but that is one of the problems. The 2-bedroom "penthouse" is not really 2 bedrooms, but rather 1 bedroom and a loft. The person in the loft has no privacy and if folks are in the "living room" area with the lights on and talking, then the person who is trying to sleep in the loft can't. The Residence Inn in Longmont has 2 true bedrooms and is significantly less expensive than the Boulder location, but of course it's in Longmont, not Boulder. That hotel worked out better for us, except for the location.

Another problem is the loud plumbing. I was awakened every morning at 6am by the loud plumbing of the shower next door. Not fun.

We also requested a quiet room not on Foothills Pkwy. Well, they didn't put us on Foothill but they did put us on Valmont, facing a parking lot where there was loud construction going on for several days, all day long. Landscapers were cutting stones...very loud. When I asked why they put us there after I requested a quiet room over 2 months ago, they said that they can't and won't assign rooms when reservations are made, but only when the arrival date comes and they see what's available. So unfortunately there's no way to request a specific room in the buildings not on Valmont or Foothill--they are unable to do that. You definitely take your chances.

The breakfast room is also totally inadequate for the numbers of people who stay there. Best bet is to carry food to your room.

Finally, the staff is very friendly--even if they are unable to do anything about loud plumbing and loud room location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on Foothills Parkway and Valmont. But since they won't assign rooms until you check...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Was staying here for 3 nights. The room (studio) is big enough, outstanding kitchen and etc, although the bathroom is small. The price is a bit high, I think. BTW, you can check out bike freely from the hotel. That is one big plus. Oh, the breakfast is very good, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for your response and I am so glad to hear you were happy with your choice of hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boulder

Address: 3030 Center Green Dr, Boulder, CO 80301
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Boulder
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boulder 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boulder Hotel Boulder
Boulder Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Boulder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.