We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed, not exactly lux.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Boulder

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Boulder to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Boulder
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 Center Green Dr, Boulder, CO 80301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Boulder
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed, not exactly lux.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very clean, well laid out, did what we wanted, though a two "bedroom" was a bedroom plus an open loft. Bathrooms were cheaply done, but certainly worked. We were flying in and out of Boulder Municipal Airport which is only a mile and a half away and made it exceptionally convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you NYC Angels for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback on our clean and convenient property. Safe travels and I hope you will stay with us again if your travel plans bring you back to Boulder.
Cathy Rothweiler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
57
26
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Super cheerful and accommodating staff brighten up what is otherwise a bit dated version of a typical Residence Inn. Traveling with two teenagers for a Spring Break ski, eat and shop trip to Boulder, I loved the two-bedroom and kitchen configuration. But the 2-story layout made for a less private, hear every step reality. Located near a train track and a major road also detracted from the ambiance (but not terribly). Enjoyed the free bikes. Boulder has an awesome network of bike paths. Great since nothing of interest is in walking distance from the hotel. Enjoyed the fireplace after a snowy day on the slopes. Also appreciated the full breakfasts. Well presented with plenty of options to start the day. All in all, a great utility option made much better by a great staff. Not a great choice for a romantic weekend but perfect for weekend with the kids.

Room Tip: An upper-level room will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed review of our hotel. It sounds like you had the perfect Spring Break, complete with a cozy fire in your fireplace after a day on the slopes. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be cheerful. It's what keeps our guests coming back and writing great reviews such as yours. Thanks for the endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Boulder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent two nights here with my husband in order to visit our son in Boulder. The units all resemble condos and are in a little "neighborhood". The lobby, breakfast area and our unit are all very nicely decorated. Everything seems to be quite new. We had a king studio suite with a woodburning fireplace which was very nice for entertaining our son and his girlfriend. All was spotlessly clean. The warm chocolate chip cookies at the desk was a very nice touch. I enjoyed the plain yogurt at the breakfast spread. No complaints and the price is right!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Jon and Mic,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Nothing is more gratifying to us than hearing from a happy customer. I'm so glad you were able to entertain your son and his girlfriend while you were visiting and took advantage of our freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. They are a temptation that few of us are able to resisit! I look forward to your return visit to see your son. Boulder and the Residence Inn by Marriott are wonderful places to stay and visit all four seasons!
Sincerely,
Cathy Rothweiler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have only stayed at a Residence Inn twice but I have to say, I'm quite impressed. Lovely rooms, fireplaces, kitchens with all the amentities, very comfortable bedrooms and great breakfast each morning. What's not to like?

Some reviewers said that the property is too close to train tracks and that bothered them. Really? We heard a train ONE night and that's it. No big deal. To my wife and I this was a non-issue.

The location, while not "in the thick of things" was certainly centrally located and easy to get everywhere we needed or wanted to be.

It happened to snow several inches during our stay and first thing, a hotel crew was out cleaning driveways, sidewalks and roads to provide guests with a safe environment. They came back that afternoon and repeated everything since it kept snowing. Very nice!!

We would and will stay again next time we are in Boulder. A great spot at a great price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for kind words and great depiction of Residence Inn providing "everything you need"! I'm glad your Colorado experience included fresh snow and that our maintenance team kept the property shoveled and safe! I appreciate you sharing your experience with others and hope you will soon be able to claim that you've stayed at our Residence Inn three times!! Safe travels!

CathyRothweiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife had to travel to Boulder for work and I needed a break, so we stayed at the Residence Inn. Although it's tucked away in a little office/business district, it's a very pleasant, relatively small hotel. The kitchen itself is quite modern and allowed us to do all sorts of cooking while we were here for a week. The bed and furniture are comfortable and it even has an appropriate desk chair for working on your laptop. We did have a small issue with our room when we checked in, but the staff were very helpful, dealt with it right away and even gave us an apology card and a block of chocolate!

In terms of location, its proximity to the railway can be a bit irritating in the morning, but it's close to the main shopping area (28th Street) and it's a short drive, long walk or pleasant bike ride to the Pearl Street pedestrian mall. Overall, I would readily stay here again and thank you to the staff for making the stay a lot less stressful for us.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second floor because they are generally a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am delighted to hear that our staff was friendly and helped reduce the stress that being away from home for a week can cause. Having a modern kitchen with the comforts of home and the services of a hotel can make all the difference when you are away for more than a few days. I hope that your wifes business travels bring her back to Boulder and to the Residence Inn! Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great hotel. Clean, well-kept, reasonably priced, friendly staff, decent breakfast, and loaner DVD players to boot. The room was priced significantly less than similar ones at other places.

Our 2 room loft was nicely appointed with 3 flat screen TVs and overall nice amenities, although the lack of a single log for the fireplace was a bit of a turnoff. The temperature control for the loft room was also a little difficult. It was great to have 2 bathrooms and a refridgerator with an ice machine. The outdoor hot tub was consistently hot although the jaunt was rather cold. .

The breakfast was fine - scrambled eggs, bread and muffins, sausage patties, potatoes, waffle iron, cold & hot cereal, yogurt and yogurt parfaits, and a rotating sweet or savory hot item (pancakes, french toast, biscuits and gravy) - but just a bit boring. We did appreciate the generous toppings for many of the items, including salsa, green onions and cheese for the egg dishes. There is also a managers reception on certain nights, which we missed.

It's not in the middle of anything, but it's a pretty short drive to all of the Boulder goodies. Overall, a very good choice for anyone looking for a little more room and perhaps even those who aren't. I'd book it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you would stay with us again. Travelling with families can be challenging when you have different sleeping schedules and prefer to watch different television shows. Residence Inn has perfected the family hotel experience by providing three flat screnn TV's , two separate sleeping areas and two separate bathrooms! In addition, having a full kitchen with an ice maker right in your suite makes watching movies with Popcorn and drinks very convenient. Our complimentary breakfast buffet is an added value. I'm glad you enjoyed the variety of toppings for our waffles and oatmeal station. Our friendly and service focused staff will be waiting to welcome you back...which I hope will be soon! Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had a one night stay in Boulder and chose this RI as there aren't too many chain hotels in Boulder. I made a great choice as the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and spacious, and the location convenient. The hotel is located off a highway, in a quiet industrial park. The famous Pearl Street was a 10 minute drive away, and the Celestial Seasonings factory tour (highly recommend) also a 10 minute drive.

The lady at check-in was friendly and helpful and even pulled out a free coupon for a box of tea for us when we told her we were going to the Celestial Seasonings tour. She asked for our room preference and gave us a great room. I didn't hear a train whistle, but it's possible the train didn't run that day, or we were out of the room at the time. The room is large, with a couch and flat screen TV, full kitchen, and a combo table/desk. The only strange item was how the bathroom is set up. The vanity is outside the bathroom and is relatively large, but the bathroom itself is small and cramped. Be aware that the rooms are in separate buildings, so you must go outside for vending/pool/fitness center which are located in the main building. I lived this arrangement as I felt like the room was a mini apt and didn't hear any neighbors, but others may feel differently. Overall, I liked this hotel and would stay here again should I visit Boulder.

Room Tip: Car Headlights may shine into your room at night if you have a room on the ground level in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boulder

Address: 3030 Center Green Dr, Boulder, CO 80301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Boulder
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boulder 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boulder Hotel Boulder
Boulder Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Boulder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.