We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historical Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boulderado to your Saves list
Hotel Boulderado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Historical Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is very charming, has great service, a beautiful lobby, and houses an excellent restaurant. The place is very clean and it's obvious management pays attention to detail. There are friendly and professional employees, the mechanicals are in perfect working order, and there are nice touches throughout the hotel, from antiques throughout to an amazingly comfortable bed and quality toiletry products. The only reason we don't give this establishment an excellent rating is because the room had walls on the thin side (not horrible) and the balcony was shared with the room next door (making it unuseable). Also, if you have any issues with mobility, make sure your ask for room closer to the lobby as some of the rooms are a bit of a hike to get to.

Room Tip: Let hotel know if you have any mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    174
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
82
150
19
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you want to stay in a hotel with historic charm and a great location go to The Boulderado Hotel. Nice accommodations just a minutes walk to Pearl Street, the center of town. The staff was great, very friendly and always with a smile.

Valet parking was easy and convenient. The concierge was knowledgeable and very professional.
He had wonderful recommendations for restaurants, bars and a great easy hike to acclimate to the elevation change. A wonderful start to a vacation in The Rocky Mountains.

Room Tip: Stayed in the new wing on the 4th floor. A little of a hike but the rooms were very quiet and a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel with 3 kids. Gorgeous hotel a minute walk from pearl st mall. Right in the center of things. Service was excellent. A little on the pricey side. Great place for a wedding reception...many weddings going on while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our group had a meeting at the Boulderado recently and all agreed this is an excellent location for meetings. The hotel itself is a historic building with period furnished rooms and good accommodations for meetings. The hotel is 1 block from the Pearl Street, which is the center of town. There is an abundance of eating establishments from fast and inexpensive to truly outstanding and pricey, ie, something for every one. The staff was super friendly and very accommodating. There are two wings, one of which is newer and more modern. I stayed in the original wing and was very satisfied with my room. I heard from others that the newer wing was also very nice. One negative is that parking is valet only. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Boulder and especially for meetings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather Roff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is a pretty nice little spot if you are looking for a romantic getaway (staycation) or are in from out of town. It is very centrally located in the heart of downtown Boulder, and you can walk to everything. Pearl St. is 1 block away, and all the great bars and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk. Additionally, you are very close to hiking, etc.

Parking is additional $, so be prepared for that, but if you look 2 blocks up on 13th, you'll start to see free parking, so don't think you have to use the valet.

The only thing I would say is that for ambiance, the older hotel is quite nice, however the sound proofing is terrible. Thus, I recommend actually staying in the newer addition. I've stayed in both and found the newer one to be better for a good night's sleep. That said, the Boulderado is a popular wedding destination, so be forewarned that if you are traveling here in the summer time, on a weekend (Fri/Sat.) you will likely encounter a wedding party or two. If your are in the older part, and this wedding party actually... parties... then you could have a really miserable evening, and I speak from experience.

The staff is very good and courteous though, so just explain what you want when you go and they'll set you up.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in the newer part of the hotel and away from 13th. It is actually probably quieter o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wow, very disappointed with this hotel. 5-star location (a block away from Pearl Street Mall), 2-star hotel. We stayed in their standard room, and that's all it was - very standard and minimalistic. From the hair dryer to the toiletries to the decor - everything was overly simple and mediocre - same as you would see in a cheap hotel chain. No safe in the room, paid valet parking, and so-so restaurant. Yes it's a historic hotel and it's fun to explore the halls and discover little artifacts from the past, but it's extremely overpriced, and not worth it. One thing I have to say though - the room was very clean..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Hotel Boulderado is charming historic hotel in the heart of Boulder. The location cannot be beat. It is literally one block away from the Pearl Street mall.

I stayed at the Boulderado for 2 weeks on a business trip and very much enjoyed my stay. My office was only a few blocks away and I enjoyed my walks to and from the hotel. I had a queen size room which, while not large, was comfortable and included a flat screen HDTV. The hotel sits within a block and therefore is facing streets on 3 sides. If your room has a street view there is some road noise, but the roads are not terribly busy. What noise there was didn't bother me.

The service is great and the rooms are spotless. Staff often are there to hold open the front door for you when you enter and leave. Q's restaurant is located off the lobby and is excellent. There is also a more casual option called the Corner Bar that has some sidewalk seating if you're looking to people watch. There is no gym on site but I did find out that they have an arrangement with a gym around the corner, just show up with your room card.

The one thing to watch out for is parking. There is no parking at the Hotel Boulderado (nor is there anywhere in Boulder it seems). They gave me 2 options when I arrived. One - park in metered parking on the street or two - let the hotel valet my car for $10 a day. The valet option was cheaper than the meter. This extra cost was disappointing to say the least.

Overall this is a great place to stay. The historic atmosphere, great service and unbeatable location are enough to make me want to return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Boulder
#2 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boulderado 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has been in the city's National Historic Register since 1909. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boulderado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.