We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boulderado to your Saves list
Hotel Boulderado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely old hotel with a great location for waking, shopping, and eating. Room was spacious and clean. Fresh chocolate candy daily. Service was great. My only complaint was that the Internet connection was a bit spotty at times and I would have to reconnect. The staff was also very accommodating when my flight was cancelled and they gave me the room for an extra night at the price I had paid on a travel website, rather than their higher rack rate. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A bit of a walk over the sky bridge to get to rooms in the east wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Director of Sales at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at Hotel Boulderado. I'm so glad we could be of service when you flights were cancelled due to weather. Your observation about our terrific location is shared by many guests. There are so many restaurants, coffee shops, pubs, shops and galleries just within the surrounding 2 blocks........too many to see in one visit. Please come back and stay with us again soon. If you prefer a room in the historic section please mention that when you make a reservation and we will be happy to note your preference.

Jennifer Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    174
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
82
149
19
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the newer section again and although the rooms are a bit on the smaller side the location and beauty of the hotel are worth it!!!
If you are going to dine downstairs make your reservation early!!!
Best location for visiting Pearl Street!!

Room Tip: We have only ever stayed in the newer section, I am not sure what the older original hotel rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Director of Sales at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed our fantastic location right in the heart of Boulder. The guest rooms in the new section are varied in size depending on the bedding type you prefer, and this is the case in the historic section as well. If you would like to view other rooms during your next visit our front desk attendant can certainly show you some new options. We can also email some interior photographs prior to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have lived in Boulder since 1996 and I never stayed at the Boulderado until last month. My only regret is not staying at the Boulderado sooner! You can't beat the location. I've always loved Q's and Corner bar which are located right in the hotel.

This is an incredible historical hotel in the heart of Boulder. I love the historical elements throughout the hotel. It is like walking around in a museum to some extent. I loved staying in the older part of the hotel.

We got married at the Boulderado and stayed there two nights, along with our families, who were traveling from out of town. It was the best weekend of my life. The staff was incredible, from the check in to the elevator guy, to the guys that open the doors for you every time you arrive or leave, etc.

Tonya was the event manager for my wedding and she was amazing! She was on top of every little detail and she was so sweet and a gracious host through all the planning and the event. She was very personable and great at communicating. She helped make our wedding day incredible.

The ceremony was in the porch room and the reception was in the Spruce room. I loved the way the staff and Tonya set both rooms up for me. Everything was ready ahead of time and you cannot beat the quality that I received. Everything from the initial phone calls with Tonya to her follow through with the final bill were pleasant. It was worth every penny.

All the rooms were great! We were upgraded to a suite and I was able to check out a lot of the other rooms where members or our family were staying. I was impressed by all of them and it was really cool how they were all different. I think all of the cleaning people are OCD the rooms are impeccably clean.

I've never stayed at such a nice hotel and I hope to come back for anniversaries! It is on the pricey side of hotels, but I think it is worth it and it seems to be competitive when comparing with other similar, high end hotels.

Thank you, Tonya, and the rest of the staff at Boulderado!!!

Room Tip: I'd say to stay in the older part of the hotel because it is cooler. If you are opposed to taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Director of Sales at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of Hotel Boulderado. It is the ultimate compliment for you to choose us for your wedding ceremony and reception. Our wedding team enjoys being personally involved in all the detailed preparations to make your special day truly a 'once in a lifetime' experience. As you know, we have many different event rooms that offer a vintage feel for you and your family to have a memorable celebration and you chose two of our favorites.... Being able to just take the elevator home to your suite makes it even more perfect. To make a bride this happy on her wedding day is the best review possible. Please come back soon and visit us at Hotel Boulderado!

Jennifer Robinson
Director of Sales
Hotel Boulderado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

As others have said, the hotel is attractively restored and has a lot of character -- but thoroughly modern amenities. The location is at the center of town. We were in Boulder for a family wedding so our group occupied a half dozen or more rooms and we had a negotiated rate -- which was still pretty hefty. Our rooms were all in the annex building. Our king room was attractive and very comfortable; one of the other king rooms was 2/3 the size. The double queen rooms were larger, and some were huge. One of the relatives left for another hotel because a skylight over the third person's rollaway in the living area made it impossible to sleep. SO inquire carefully about your room; there is variation. The bathrooms were large and well-equipped. The decor was attractive in all cases -- the rooms actually look like the hotel's professional photos -- and the annex itself has an attractive interior with plenty of dark wood. It was built much more recently, but has the same Victorian style as the original building. As some reviews have said, getting between the main lobby and the annex on the inside is a bit complex -- up some stairs (or elevator), across a bridgeway, and then up or down an elevator or stairs to your floor. It's much easier, especially if you're headed out, to take the annex elevator down to the ground floor garage level -- the walls are open so it's bright, and it's just a few steps out to the street. Our one service complaint, and hence the 4 instead of 5 stars, were hassles on checking in. The front desk kept repeatedly saying the room for our kids, adjacent to ours, would be ready "soon," but housekeeping only managed to complete cleaning it hours later and we had to inform the desk that it was done. Otherwise, the service was pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant for dinner, and the staff was accommodating of our large group.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Director of Sales at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the comments about your recent stay. I'm sure the wedding weekend with your family provided wonderful memories. Your point about the variety of room layouts is one of the many reasons for our popularity. Hotel Boulderado offers 160 rooms in two buildings joined by a skywalk. The historic section was the original hotel and opened in 1909 and the newer Annex section was completed in the 80's. All of our guestrooms have upgraded finishes, flatscreen televisions, free wifi and other amenities. We are happy to discuss your stay prior to arrival and recommend the best room choice for your personal needs. I regret that there was a wait prior to checking in for your second room. If you have a chance to come to Boulder again, please feel free to contact me personally so I can offer you an upgraded suite for your stay.

Jennifer Robinson
Director of Sales
Hotel Boulderado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you appreciate history and charm of unique hotels, the Boulderado will not disappoint. The service was excellent and decor was charming, but I felt the amenities were not quite on par with the expense. For the price, the temperature of the room and bathroom should have been easier to regulate (either too hot or too cold) and the bathroom could have been more luxurious. The shower was very average and there was no counter space. That said, the location in town is perfect and everyone there was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Director of Sales at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our historic ambiance and the charm of the Hotel Boulderado. Our location in the heart of Boulder allows you to walk to some of the best restaurants and shopping in the state of Colorado.

I regret that there was a problem with the temperature of the room. We strive to make the guestrooms as comfortable as possible. Our front desk is attended 24 hours a day and can assist with any issue. We hope to welcome you again in the near future as a guest.

Jennifer Robinson
Director of Sales
Hotel Boulderado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

It was a real treat to have attentive service, gorgeous surroundings, great location and wonderful restaurants within the building. After college visits all day, it was relaxing and felt special to just go downstairs and eat a great meal in artistic, elegant restaurants. Very memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Director of Sales at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Boulderado. We are pleased that you have great memories of our comfortable surroundings and personalized service. Many families who have students at one of the colleges here in Boulder make Hotel Boulderado their home when visiting. Hopefully, Boulder will be on your itinerary many times during the next few years. Please keep in mind that the key college dates ( move-in week, football game weekends, and graduation) are sold out well in advance. We have the university calendar information and can assist to make your reservations to secure these important dates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a wonderful stay in a beautifully restored hotel. The architectural integrity has been retained adding great character to this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful making the stay even more perfect. Breakfast in the hotel dining room was superb.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Director of Sales at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Boulderado. Since 1909 we have been welcoming guests. As you observed, our historic interiors are carefully restored and preserved. We are a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. I hope you had time to appreciate some of the displays of memorabilia throughout the hotel. The next time you visit, our guest services department will be happy to share more detailed information or provide you with a history tour if that is of interest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jennifer Robinson
Director of Sales
Hotel Boulderado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Boulder
#2 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boulderado 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has been in the city's National Historic Register since 1909. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boulderado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.