We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service- Do not stay in the new section of hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boulderado to your Saves list
Hotel Boulderado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Service- Do not stay in the new section of hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The lobby and historic hotel is very nice, the staff was helpful and very friendly. However, we stayed in room 444 which is a corner room in the newer section. At night there were very loud noises from the ac/heater system for the hotel, also this room is very loud with traffic as it overlooks a busy intersection. There was a view of the mountains but not worth all the noise in the room.

It did not feel like you were in a historic hotel, it felt like you were in a Holiday Inn at best. The bathroom was very sterile and cheap looking, old maroon carpet, really needs to be updated to be a more classic decor. It did not fit with the hotel's era at all. No photos on wall and just very plain. I travel allot and love historic hotels, I have to say this one was a disappointment. Also the walk to the room was the farthest in hotel, you had to take 2 elevators and walk through skywalk and then long winding hallways....farther than some massive hotels in Vegas.

The rate was very overpriced for the ammenities of this hotel, no fitness center, bath products lacking, towels and bedding not up the the standard of a $280 a night room. Housekeeping poor. The location is great, you can walk to all the shops, restaurants. Food at hotel was not great, room service was slow and not much to choose from. Went out everyday instead in town found some great little places. If I ever stayed again I would ask for room in old section of hotel to experience the history. Would not recommend unless you want the in town location. The St Julian is much nicer for the price.

Room Tip: Stay in the older section to experience the historic hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    175
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
82
151
19
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Hotel Boulderado is a parade of superlatives. The architecture is beautiful, the history and period charm is ubiquitous and the service is very proper if not exaggerated. The hotel sprawls in different directions, so be clear when booking as to if you will be in the historic main building, or the newer, not as historic but still nice newer section connected by a elevated hallway. The lobby featured a fun, old school elevator that could only be operated when accompanied by staff and also a very special water fountain featuring glacial water!

The location was great if you are interested in strolling around Boulder's side streets and shops and well situated by the Pearl St. pedestrian mall. Overall, while the hotel was very nice, it was pricey and my rating reflects the value. When all was said and done the room came to about $250 a night whereas based on my travels including other venues of historic registry, it was overpriced and I felt the room and booking was worth more in the $150-$175 range. Perhaps if you can get a deal or discount bringing it to that range with taxes included, I'd recommend a nights stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

First I have to say, that I have not stayed at the hotel, just went there with family for the Holiday tea. The hotel is beautiful, charming and we enjoyed the atmosphere, the holiday music and decorations. I have been to many teas in Colorado (England as well) and this tea was disappointing, especially for the price we paid. The tea selection was fine and the scones were tasty. The sandwiches and the desserts they served were nothing special and even disappointing. If you have ever been to a tea, you know the serving size is typically small. We had plenty of food and dessert left over as not much of it was eaten by our party. The hotel is beautiful but I will be looking elsewhere for a Holiday Tea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I loved my stay at the Boulderado.

Its packed full of history and interesting features such as the drinking fountain from glacier water;operator controlled elevator ;and old fashioned telephones. Location wise its perfect for central Boulder - in itself a great town

There were two bars and a decent dining room although I did tend to eat out mostly. It does also seem to be a popular place for local people to meet for lunch/dinner and cocktail hour

Of course the staff are also great here

If there were criticism's its the lack of an in-room safe . You can get a deposit box but you have be mighty careful with the key.Also missing is a drying string across the bath[ helpful for those wet outdoor clothes and also dry your gym gear ]

Finally the lack of a gym. Its not far to the Boulder One gym, which is free to Hotel Guests, but it was -7c one morning I went . Thats not a great idea either going to or coming from the gym and you should take care not to chill yourself on the trip back . A hotel of this size and stature should have a gym as standard. Please note this is not a criticism of Boulder One Gym which was a very good one- and opens at 0530 for you jet-lagged/time-zoned travellers.[ I would be glad to be a member there]

That said I really enjoyed my stay at the Boulderado and would come back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel is from another century...which in this case is a real compliment.The rooms are very romantic, quite big, clean and cozy. I had room 302: a living room with a sofa and two chairs/TV a desk, as well as direct access to a very large balcony with tables and chairs (although it was too cold to sit outside); a bedroom with a king size bed, a bench and a chair, as well as a commode and TV. The hotel is centrally located, close to shopping and public transportation, as well as many restaurants. It offers valet parking for 10$/day. The hotel also offers free broadband wifi (it really is broadband!) everywhere in the hotel and has a business center.
I particularly appreciated the old world ambiance of the whole interior..the owners have been able to preserve a lot of the decoration and this makes the setting quite unique.

I will stay here again when I come back.


.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Loved this hotel! We were only here one night to attend a wedding, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lobby of the hotel is stunning with the amazing ceiling. We stayed in a clean, quiet and super comfortable room in the north wing. The second sink area outside of the bathroom and the full size mirror in the room really helped when we were getting ready to attend the wedding. All of the staff we encountered were so nice and helpful. The location is very convenient and we were able to squeeze in a trip to the Pearl Street Mall - fun to look in the shops! The wedding was beautiful. The ceremony was held on the huge staircase landing and the reception was in one of the banquet rooms. The food and service for the wedding were both good. I do agree with other reviewers that there is walking involved when you stay in some of the rooms, so do consider that if it is a problem for you. We took advantage of the valet parking which worked out well for us - just left the car and walked around town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

A fantastic hotel with a antique charm. Comfortable and full of History, in the best location of boulder.
Don't leave the elevator.

Room Tip: In the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Boulder
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boulderado 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has been in the city's National Historic Register since 1909. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boulderado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.