We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast & Appetizers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jill's Restaurant

Jill's Restaurant
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
720-406-7399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 507 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th Street and Walnut
The Colony
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hot, Great Coffee, Great Service, Standard really good breakfast, well priced - especially for a hotel restaurant. The Pizza served at the T Zero Bar - Really Really Tasty. Bar Staff, Amy and Andrew were really fun to visit with and really fun to watch them do their thing.... Lots of orders, short time, really fast and accurate.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've been to Jill's on and off since they opened for breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner. The food selection is fantastic and the quality is excellent. The service is always great too. I love how they treat everyone. But be aware, the prices are typical of many hotel restaurants... a bit on the high side. They are great at making special meals (e.g. anniversaries, birthdays, Mother's Day, etc.) worth the extra cost though. However, most of the time I've eaten here wasn't for any special reason. It was just because we like it. It's located inside the St. Julien Hotel.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Food in Boulder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I went there a few years back with a friend who was working at their hotel. The food was......amazing! I could believe how good it was. We ordered Jill's Bistro Tots they were out of this world amazing, nothing can compare if you decide to dine here, which I recommend definitely get the tots, a little on the pricey side, but for how good they are its completely worth it! I got the Spaghetti Pomodoro and it was absolutely scrumptious, a little pricey as well for the portions, but its Boulder and an upscale restaurant so no complaints there. If you are in the Pearl Street area you HAVE to check this place out

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Now a Happy Hour convert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Jill's Happy Hour is 4:30-6PM. It was a pleasure meeting friends we hadn't seen in ages. There are tables and chairs in the bistro bar area and most were taken by 5:15 PM....but it was also a Friday evening.
A generous serving of wine is $5/glass and beer was $3. No complaints.
We ordered a charcuterie board for the table and we all enjoyed it immensely.(at half price during HH it was $5 and worth every penny.)
One friend ordered onion soup and it smelled divine. He
said it was excellent.($3 at HH). Both friends ordered the steak sandwiches and they came w/FF or a salad. Liked the sandwich.
I had the Saint Burger! Superb! ($7 @ HH) Hubby was hankering for a steak and so he ordered the NY Steak w/peppercorn sauce @$15 at HH. A huge disappointment. The Saint Burger absolutely topped the steak. Imagine if we had paid the non HH $30 for the steak. We thought the FF were too salty.

Service was great and we sat a long while enjoying our friends. Again.....the room is quiet....compared to MANY restaurants these days w/noise reverberating off the walls.

For years, we were fans of Happy Hour at the Boulder Chophouse across the street. However, with a change of ownership,change of menu, increase in prices and quality not the same......there is really no reason to cross the street unless we want a change of scene.

BTW.......choices of salad,pizzas,sandwiches,calamari,mussels,etc are extensive at Jill's. Prices are half at HH. Try it......you'll like it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Tuscan lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Jill's restaurant offers a Tuesday Tuscan lunch. They discount for the 2nd diner and it is a very good value. I was able to choose from many ingredients as toppings for my pasta. Salads, bread, some meat and fish options, desserts are included. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The service was very good - can't wait to return!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jill's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jill's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jill's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.