We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pillows!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Buff Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Buff Lodge to your Saves list
Golden Buff Lodge
1725 28th St, Boulder, CO 80301-1042 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best pillows!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a spacious room on the second floor and especially enjoyed the quality linens and abundant bed pillows! The hotel was very affordable for the high quality of its amenities. We had time to enjoy the pool in the late afternoon. The exercise room was very small, but no one was present when I worked out so it didn't matter. The breakfast was plentiful with several hot items like bacon, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, etc, but I'm a sucker for those silly waffle makers and always treat myself to a waffle when I see them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Golden Buff Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Susan F,

Thank you very much for the positive review! We are glad to see that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities we offer, and we always recommend trying those delightful waffles. We sincerely value your feedback, and thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
36
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

check in was done fast, we got a Room on the backsite of the building and it was pretty quite. The decoration in our room was in lightly colour with wooden furniture with the exception of the chair.
The breakfast items corresponded to a hot breakfast. But here we found several compaints. The Breakfast room was the meeting point for all Room Maids. They blocked waffle maker, coffee maschine, Toaster and so on. appr. 10 staff member took several breakfast items away for there personal breakfast. As guest I had to wait much more than normal average. two of this Ladies put several Items like ketchup, milk, mustard, salt, to fill their pockets completly. One male Maid took away nearly 80 % of bacon and started eating direcly form the plate. Breakfast Maid mostly sit on a chair with table has drunk coffee and only looked around, maybe to see what the guest eats.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Golden Buff Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear hanuta99,

Thank you very much for writing a review. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused by our staff. We greatly appreciate the feedback and value your business. Please contact us if you have any further questions or concerns at 303-442-7450.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel was clean and well appointed, staff was great (very friendly and helpful), breakfast was good and filling. Nice affordable lodging near everything in Boulder whether for business, pleasure or visiting campus

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Golden Buff Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear David B,

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Okay, it's not the most attractive motel to look at, but I found it a great place to spend a couple of nights. The rooms was a little dated, but contained everything we needed. The bed was quite comfortable and we had no complaints here.
The breakfast room was light and airy and well stocked with the usual buffet fare.
There are a couple of bars and eateries within a short walk (and Domino's is just around the corner!)
It is about a thirty minute walk to Pearl Street, which is a great place to eat, shop and people watch!
The motel is reasonable value for money and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Golden Buff Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Welshman101,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad to hear that you found The Golden Buff comfortable and convenient for your travels. Thanks again and we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here because of the location and price. This motel is so out dated and rundown that I had to leave early and move to the Marriott despite the price increase. Everything about the entire place is rundown and in disrepair. A light bulb was missing from the strip vanity lights, the carpet was torn, the dispenser in the shower was empty, the hair dryer is circa 1970's and I had to cut my daughter's hair out of it! The walls and ceiling sound like they are made of cardboard because you can hear everything. The breakfast area is gross and run down- coffee comes from a machine. We left all day and came back to an unserviced room. I had trouble with the internet connection and once I got connected it was so slow I gave up. The location and price are great but I will never stay here again- would rather pay higher price and get a clean room and some decent service.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here at least get on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Golden Buff Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Anne D,

I would like to personally apologize for your recent experience at The Golden Buff Lodge. Many of the issues you mentioned should have been prevented by our staff, and I take full responsibility for that. I noticed that you stayed with us just a few months ago, and I am frankly surprised that your experiences varied so drastically. Our goal is to provide consistent quality service every single day. Regardless, your most recent stay was clearly unacceptable, and I will be sharing your thoughts with our team in order to address every issue. If you have any questions, please contact me at 303-442-7450.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our room was large, very clean, double sinks, and very quiet, even though the hotel is on one of the main busy highways through Boulder. I booked through Hotels.com and I do believe other reviewers when they say if you book through a 3rd party instead of directly through the hotel, they always give you a room as far away as possible from the front desk, pool, breakfast area, etc. This has happened many times to us. You might want to ask for a closer room, if that is your preference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Golden Buff Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Iowa Sunshine,

Thank you very much for the kind review. While the layout of our property is somewhat sprawling, I assure you that we do not assign third-party reservations to any one specific area. In fact, our deluxe rooms are the farthest from our lobby (and typically a quieter area). The Golden Buff's layout enables each guest to conveniently park next to their room. If you stay with us again, we would be happy to honor any specific requests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent value but the appearance is poor. Service staff good, rooms clean but the hotel needs a face lift. If you just need a place to spend the night before a trip, here's your place. The appearance will disappoint you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Golden Buff Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We are sorry that the appearance was not aesthetically pleasing to you, but we're also glad to see that you found our service to be favorable. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you the next time you're in Boulder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Buff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Buff Lodge

Address: 1725 28th St, Boulder, CO 80301-1042 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#7 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Golden Buff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Buff Hotel Boulder
Best Western Boulder
Boulder Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Buff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.