We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Quite surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Buff Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Buff Lodge to your Saves list
Golden Buff Lodge
1725 28th St, Boulder, CO 80301-1042 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Birmingham, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay. Quite surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We usually stay at more upscale type hotels, but we liked this price and location, so we decided to take a chance. I'm glad we did. Not only did we save about 125 a night, but the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the staff VERY friendly. It's only about a mile to the Pearl Street mall and the Golden Buff Restaurants is a GREAT place to have breakfast. We didnt have a chance to try their continental breakfast as the Buff is one of our favorite places to eat breakfast. Very retro place, and LOVED the putting green out front! If I had one bad comment, it might be that the carpets seemed a bit old. Will definatley stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
36
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Husband and I were traveling with two adult children and reserved the "family room". It was two rooms, one with king bed, one with 2 queens. One bathroom but sink outside. This room was very economical and worked great for our 3 day outing. The room was clean and quiet. Great air conditioner. Wifi was a little sporadic at times. Staff at front desk were unremarkable. The breakfast had much variety and the room was large. The motel is walking distance to campus and many good restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

easy going perfect for business!!!! everyhting you need and in a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Decent rooms, superior continental breakfast, and great staff make this motel a keeper. Also it is in a great location because it is only about a mile from the Pearl Street historic district yet it is still close to the major freeways and highways. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Locate in the "rear" building which is quieter and closer to the Pearl District
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very clean accomodations and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. There is a nice outdoor pool area that is well kept. The indoor hottub and saunas are also very well maintained. They have a fantastic hot continental breakfast with a huge variety of food! Seriously, I have never seen so much variety in a free breakfast. The beds were comfy, pillows were great, and overall very nice stay. The only drawback I can think of is that the window shades don't cover the windows very well so the room gets bright as soon as the sun comes up. Will stay again when in Boulder.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh Nc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great value for the money. Older motel but very comfortable beds, refrig in room and breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Good location.
Excellent breakfast.
Not so close to Pearl Street Mall, the main street in Boulder.
Easy acess to/from Denver.
Staff very kindly.
Room clean and big enough.

Room Tip: To avoid noises it's better rooms at second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Buff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Buff Lodge

Address: 1725 28th St, Boulder, CO 80301-1042 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#7 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Buff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Buff Hotel Boulder
Best Western Boulder
Boulder Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Buff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.