We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to Christmas, 2012 family visit in Boulder, Colorado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites to your Saves list
Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites
6901 Lookout Rd, Boulder, CO 80301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great start to Christmas, 2012 family visit in Boulder, Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights (Dec 20-21) before our son's home was ready for us to use for the next 10 days. This was our first stay and were very pleased with our decision. The owners, Jacek and Halina were our hosts and you could not find more sincere polite people. While we were checking in Jacek made sure the heat in our room was turned up. The bonus was the gas fireplace which made our stay extremely comfortable. The rooms were spacious, clean and the bed was out of the world comfortable. We didn't want to leave the bed to go sleep on our son't spare bedroom bed. The "custom" breakfast that Jacek prepared is another treat and you could feel that there attention to making you comfortable when you are away from you home is sincere. We will be returning in 2013 for our upcoming family gatherings.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and did not hear any foot or road traffic. The location is set back suf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
36
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The rooms were fantastic, nice looking, well maintained etc. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a remote to control the thermostat because I hate the cold.

The service of the Inn were great also. Every morning when we went downstairs to eat he would pop out and tell us whats for breakfast and ask if we wanted some. Other than that they had cereal, fresh fruit, some yogurt, and some different bread products to eat.

I would easily go back to visit the city and the Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a great B&B, it's quiet, the room was very clean and tastefully furnished, no traffic or business noise and no farther than a few miles IBM where I worked for 4 days. This was my first time going to Boulder and Lookout Inn was a great place to rest after a hard day. Jacek and Halina were very helpful with directions since I was new to Boulder, thank you! I will surely recommend this B&B to my Boss next year when he sends the next person to Boulder,
Ren

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the best B&B I've ever stayed in. It's located in a very upscale residential neighborhood so it's quiet, no traffic or business noise, the stress melts away the minute I check in. It's very clean and tastefully furnished with fireplaces in rooms. I come to the area for business and pleasure and stayed at the Lookout Inn the past five years. Some of my local friends and business associates who live in the area stay at the Lookout Inn on their "date nights" so it has a romantic feel to it too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer Ma.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent 10 days at the Lookout Inn in July and we could not have been more satisfied. The room was very clean and comfortable and the balcony was a very nice place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee or tea while watching the hot air balloons drift by. Yes, the Inn was about a half mile away from the location where the balloons lifted off every morning and they almost always flew overhead. The hosts (Jacek and Halina) couldn't have been nicer. The breakfasts that Jacek cooked every morning were delicious and they always offered advice on the attractions in the area. Jacek even got up early on our day of departure so we could have something before going to the airport. The dining room was always open with coffee and tea available. B and B’s are our usual choice for accommodations when we travel and this is one of the best we have stayed in. If we return to the Boulder area, we will certainly return to the Lookout Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacek M, Manager at Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank You for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Unfortunately I booked this MOTEL!!!! based strictly on their high Tripadvisor rating. It's the only time I've been really disappointed. Tripadvisor has it listed as being in Boulder - it isn't - it is some miles away in Gun Hill, a light industry area and on what can be a noisy road. The room was very nice and akin to a small studio apartment but we specifically wanted a B&B. This is a motel with a breakfast. Food on offer was average and the Polish staff are friendly enough. There is no wifi but they do have an ethernet cable which is fine as long as only one person needs to use the internet. I didn't get the room I wanted but can't say if it was superior or not to the one I had. I have asked that Tripadvisor reconsider the categorization and location of this place so that other travelers are not disappointed too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacek M, Owner at Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Just to clarify. The Guest House is located in Gunbarrel (Boulder Subdivision if you will) with Boulder address. Being 13 unit Guest House trip advisor is not able to classify the Inn any other way but Bed and Breakfast. We call it a Guest House. Lookout Inn has WIFI available throughout the whole property as well as hard wired. The system has been in place since 2000.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here during our CO vacation. We spent two nights in the Ouray room. The rooms themselves are very nice. The front room had a couch, love seat, sink, flat panel TV, and a desk. The bedroom had a king sized bed, dresser, and a normal non-HD TV. Beyond the bedroom was a nice little wooden patio. In between the front room and bed room is the bathroom. All the rooms were nicely decorated.

There were a few downsides as well. First of the shower was a joke. It's supposed to be one of those rain forest shower heads but the water pressure is so low water only came out of the first few holes and even then it was only a trickle. It took my poor wife about 30 minutes just to wash her hair.

The next downside is the guesthouse is right next to a highway and the railroad tracks. The highway noise is pretty well muffled by the brick walls out front, but on one of the nights we were there I was awoken by a train at about 3am in the morning. It wasn't loud enough to wake my wife though so I may be the exception, no the rule.

My final downside was the breakfast. It's not your typical B&B breakfast at all. It wasn't even that good of a hotel breakfast. There was cereal, fruit, a few breads, and then one "hot" dish, only the "hot" dish had actually been baked over an hour earlier and then just left on the counter with some foil covering part of it. Everything was self-serve, including cleanup afterwards.

One last important thing to note! Tripadvisor has this property in the Bed & Breakfast section, but this is not the case. This is a remodeled hotel (see my photos). They took two normal sized hotel rooms, combined them, and then remolded them. You can tell because there is a hallway that leads to nowhere, but if you go to the back patio there is the continuation of the hallway. That hallway, at on point in time, lead to the entrance of the old second room, which is now the bedroom. All of the rooms exit to the out doors. You then take a partially covered hallway to a set of stairs. The stairs empty to an outdoor courtyard.

The Lookout Inn wasn't necessarily bad, it just wasn't what we were expecting. Next time we will spend the extra $$ on a real B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacek M, Manager at Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi, my name is Jacek the manager of Lookout Inn. I would like to respond to the comments made and make some clarifications. Regarding the first downside being the shower head. A day later we had a couple from Arizona staying in the Ouray room and they were nice enough to tell us about the shower head problem. There was a seal bent which was restricting the water flow and the problem was fixed in 5 minutes. Please, that goes to all people staying at the hotels, motels etc…let the staff know so they can make sure and attend to all issues. Nobody can’t fix anything if they don’t know it’s broken.
The GuestHouse is located in a residential area, six blocks away from the railroad tracks and the highway NOT NEXT to the railroad tracks and the highway.
The final downside….we provide full breakfast with hot meal at no cost to our guests and is advertised as such on our website. All of our hot meals are prepared fresh with natural ingredients. The dish mentioned in trip advisor was freshly baked that morning as with all casseroles they have to be taken out of the oven simply can’t keep a baked one in the oven for too long it would surely burn. We have guests that stay with us for more than 2 or 3 days and to keep breakfast interesting we switch to different hot meals. There is a plastic bin to put dirty dishes in,but it’s up to every individual to use it or not. No one ever in the last 26 years of the Lookout Inn existence actually complained about that as being self-serve cleanup.
The Lookout Inn is NOT a remodeled hotel. All rooms are original built as a GuestHouse. The hallway serves as an emergency exit for the second floor mandated by the City of Boulder. I am sorry but this guest got it really wrong. Please do not make any assumptions in the future and tell other guests the wrong information it’s simply not right and very misleading.
We at the Lookout Inn strive to be the BEST, work very hard every single day to ensure pleasurable stay to every guest, unfortunately not always will be the case. Please keep us informed so we can make sure all of our future guests have the best stay ever.
Thank You for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites

Address: 6901 Lookout Rd, Boulder, CO 80301
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn is a favorite lodging choice for visitors of beautiful Boulder, Colorado. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business trip accommodations, the Inn is a perfect spot for all. The Lookout Inn is composed of King & Executive suites, and a long list of amenities that will help you relax or conduct business both effectively and efficiently. All rooms have gas fireplaces, high speed internet, kitchenettes and more. Every room comes with a complimentary Hot breakfast each morning of your stay. Our business traveler's enjoy free dedicated Hi-Speed T1 wireless internet service and comfortable conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Inn Guest House Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Inn GuestHouse & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.