We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Boulder, I hate to let my secret out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bradley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bradley to your Saves list
The Bradley
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2040 16th St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Boulder B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Boulder, I hate to let my secret out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The quick review…great room. great location, great staff, great food, great price, plus a parking space in the middle of downtown Boulder


We stayed here for a couple of nights this summer. I made the reservation based on price and location, but was a bit skeptical of the Bradley. My biggest fear was that it was going to be a bit too home spun, with overly talkative inn keepers and meddlesome guests. It was not like that at all. Our encounters with the staff were very professional and they were also very warm and accommodating. The Inn is small, as in number of bedrooms, but not small in size. Our room was very gracious in size and very comfortable. The decor is what I might call Colorado contemporary. It's is clean and sleek with a nod to the building's past. It is not, an over the top, boutique hotel and for that the Bradley gets 5 stars. The photograph showing our room, was right on the mark, very clean and comfortable. We stayed on the first floor, in the most accessible room. My boyfriend had just had his knee replaced and did not want to walk up and down stairs. There was not a room on the first floor with a walk in shower, but the tub with a shower was a good size and the staff provided us with an anti-slip mat. The only thing I would have added to the room was a full length mirror. I like to make sure everything is in place and covered before heading out for the day. There is a perfect place by the front door of the room. There may have been a full length mirror in the hallway..

So even better then the room was the breakfast, the afternoon snack, and the happy hours. Great home baked choices….They were cooking granola when we arrived. They served two choices of quiche each morning and I'm guilty I ate a piece of both, not to mention the lemon pound cake I could not stop eating. Luckily, the breakfast sweet bread reappeared as the afternoon snack. They had a lovely, help yourself, coffee and tea bar. They also had pitchers of ice water out. Each day the fresh garnish in the ice water changed, from lemon, to lime to cucumber. Due the high altitude I tried to keep hydrated, so I loved the help yourself coffee bar plus I needed something to drink with my third piece of lemon cake. The happy hour had a lovely selection of wines and beers, cheese and some homemade nibbles. A perfect place to unwind after hiking or shopping.

Then there was the delightful staff. Number one on my list, they all seemed to enjoy their job and understood the job's responsibilities. Everyone was very warm and hospitable. It was like staying in a home with loving family, but without any family drama. I liked that the perfectly clean kitchen was right off the dining area. Since I felt like a guest in a home, it was nice to walk into the kitchen and put my used plate in the sink…but this was not in the least bit expected of the guest…

The kitchen was just so inviting and smelled good, it was nice watching the goodies come out of the oven. It was also sort of relaxing and comfortable like being at home, but on a great vacation. As I said, I put my plate in the sink. I did not have to clean it, put in the dishwasher……you know what I mean

The location was great. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
128
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spent one lovely night here. The staff were so incredibly helpful with suggestions of where to eat, what to do, etc. Our room was quiet, with a comfortable bed. The "great room" is a nice place to unwind at the end of the day. Nice breakfast buffet served in the morning. Location of the hotel couldn't be better, you can walk to most places in Boulder. Definitely would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great location just one block off of Pearl Street. We were greeted by a very informative staff member and were very pleased. The room was nice and the place is larger than you think from the outside, the great room is beautiful! Our only complaint was that when we arrived downstairs for breakfast, we were expecting to have some more of the great service we had encountered at check in. While the person who prepared breakfast was not overtly poor in service, it was the lack of any service that surprised us. She mainly stayed in the kitchen after placing all the food on the buffet. We were also told that there would be gluten free options for breakfast, but the only option was granola really. We checked out shortly after and I had to go and find her in the kitchen. I know that this is an Inn vs. B&B so I was not expecting the personal touch for breakfast that you would get at the B&B, but I didn't leave there with a warm fuzzy about the service. But, I still recommend as overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Beautifully restored old home/building with roomy accommodations and private baths. I'm normally a little leery of B&Bs but this place is great. You have plenty of privacy and our room even had a balcony. The staff is friendly and helpful, the wifi is fast, and the breakfast is fresh and very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Sometimes, where you stay on vacation, is like buying real estate. Location is everything. Well not exactly if you are staying In a dump. The Bradley Inn in Boulder, Colorado is not in this category. It is a warm and friendly B&B located only 1/2 block from the wonders of Pearl Street. We walked everyday to fine restaurants, cafes, bookstores, and shops. The staff at the inn are helpful and warm. Breakfasts are satisfying and offer wide range of choices for most tastes and diets. Our room was comfortable but far from extravagant: no hi-def TV ( I am okay with that), a noisy A/C unit, and a serviceable but small bathroom. Wireless network functioned well and room decor was ala Pier1. Like most B&B's, if you want predictability and uniformity, then stay at the Hyatt. Room choices are kind of a crap shoot. The afternoon wine and cheese offering was exceptional. Again, whatever small deficiencies there were are more than made up for by the inn's proximity to the CU campus and Pearl Street. Lastly, parking spaces are few and small- be prepared if you bring a large car or SUV.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am taking my younger son to CU next week, and knowing I am staying at the Bradley is one of the highlights! I can't wait to stay there yet again, and feel the love, from start to finish. Yes, the location is great, yes, the rooms are lovely, immaculate, tasteful, extremely relaxing and comfortable, yes, the common area is fabulous, yes, the breakfast, "open kitchen" with water bottles and drinks available at any time, happy hour with generous spread, is all beyond fabulous (wait until you taste their baked goods!), BUT all of this pales in comparison simply to the feeling you get when staying there. The people are fabulous and incredibly welcoming both to me, and to my kids when they come hang out with me. Free wifi......on and on and on....... It makes leaving my kids at school much easier.........I wouldn't stay anywhere else......only downside is that I get VERY sad if I don't book early enough to get a room!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I recently stayed 5 nights at The Bradley in Boulder after reading numerous reviews. It is conveniently located on 16th Street a block above Pearl Street which is the heart of downtown Boulder. You can walk just about anywhere in Boulder from it's location. The room was clean and bright. The breakfast was varied, but mostly included yogurt, fresh fruit, quiche and a baked cake. The coffee is organic, which I enjoyed and is available for most of the day. The wine/beer and cheese around 5pm is also a great appetizer. Water and sodas are stocked in a cooler and available to take at any time. It's important to stay hydrated in Colorado, especially if you are not used to the altitude. Besides being convenient to downtown, Boulder is centrally located to explore the flatirons, Estes Park (to the north - gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park) and many small mining towns to the south and west. Staying at the Bradley was a great home base.

Room Tip: I think that most of the rooms are the same rate. Our room was room 12. The only drawback to this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bradley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bradley

Address: 2040 16th St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bradley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Bradley Inn, located in the heart of Boulder, with downtown restaurants and shops just steps away, and walking distance to the University of Colorado, pampers its guests daily with homemade breakfasts, wine and cheese hour, free snacks, drinks and movies. Enjoy features such as over-sized rooms with fireplaces, balconies and baths with jacuzzi tubs. This is it! You will be delighted! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Bradley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bradley Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bradley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.