We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven in the Heart of Boulder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2151 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Boulder B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven in the Heart of Boulder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Briar Rose. We stayed one night so we could enjoy Boulder along with the Shakespeare Festival. From the front gate you can easily walk to Pearl Street or the Boulder Creek.

Even with road construction on Arapahoe Avenue there lies a wonderful garden just on the other side of a fence that welcomes you with benches and rocking chairs. We enjoyed excellent tea which is offered all day long along with fresh baked treats.

Our room, the Teakettle, was the perfect size with a very comfortable bed along with antiques, fresh flowers, and filtered water on the nightstand. There were no vacancies the night we stayed, but we felt nearly alone in the house. We even got to smell the gluten and dairy free muffins baking for breakfast. It is very peaceful and quiet. A perfect escape.

For breakfast the next morning we enjoyed every bite. The apple muffins we smelled the night before were amazing along either the homemade granola and jams. The egg dish was made with ingredients that came right from the garden outside. Their website has many of the recipes we enjoyed. The employees take pride in their jobs and make everyone feel welcome.

We enjoyed our second visit as much as the first and we look forward to our next stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    27
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
62
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is one of the best B&Bs it has been our pleasure to stay at. We found it when we were visiting Boulder a few years ago and have been looking forward to returning. Our second stay was all that we had hoped for. The rooms are lovely (beds great!) and the common areas are inviting. Breakfast is wonderful with freshly prepared meals each morning. All natural foods. The location is only about a 15 minute walk from Pearl Street and the heart of Boulder. The Boulder walking trail also runs close by. And if you are into Zen, the Boulder Zen group meets in a building on the B&B grounds. Very peaceful. Good off street parking too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a cute B&B in Boulder that is within walking distance of the shopping/dining of Pearl St. The room was nice. The grounds weren't as cute as many other B&B's we've stayed in but there was plenty of seating in various areas to enjoy the outside. The breakfast in the morning was really good. As always, my favorite part of staying in a B&B is meeting all the other travelers and hearing their stories and where they are from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Briar Rose and it was the perfect setting for our one night in Boulder. Aside from the relatively close proximity to Pearl Street, Artist's Point, and Avery Brewing company, the staff and venue itself was wonderful.

We stayed in the Huron Room which I believe was just recently updated. The room is at the end of the hall and includes a private terrace overlooking the yard and gardens. The bathroom was like being at the spa and included the biggest Jacuzzi soaking tub I have ever seen. The thought of bathing in any tub but my own usually grosses me out but I couldn't resist.

The staff was very friendly, offering tea as we arrived (and helped us pick some out) and breakfast the following morning was delicious. They make their own granola which I ended up having them bag the leftovers and scrumptious apple zucchini muffins, along with eggs, french toast, fresh fruit and yogurt.

We hope to find ourselves back in Boulder sooner than later and will definitely seek out to stay at the Briar Rose.

Room Tip: Huron room was plenty of space for 2, nice private-ish balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our 10th Wedding Anniversary trip to Boulder. We were given our stay as a gift from my family and it was perfect. The staff was warm and friendly and our room was very homey with a great rainfall shower. I think I probably gained 5 lbs eating the butter shortbread cookies (available 24/7), and the breakfast (and coffee) were delicious and made with care. I only wish there wasn't construction going on right outside our window during our stay. Obviously, that wasn't by the fault of Briar Rose. If given a choice, we would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a very comfortable, relaxed B&B conveniently located in Boulder. What stands out are the staff and the food -- friendly young people who cook good food! The breakfasts were very good, and it was a treat to have cookies and other baked goods out for snacking all the time. I was amazed how many people showed up at breakfast in the morning, because the B&B is so quiet, I didn't think there were other guests here.

While the room was nice enough, guests should be aware that the property is not a luxury property and is a bit frayed, for lack of a better word. You walk in the front door and enter an area in which the finish has been scuffed off the wood floor -- this immediately made me worry I had made a mistake. On the whole, the property is clean and comfortable, but, if you want someplace picture-perfect, keep looking. The photos are also a little deceptive about the overall property size. There is a modest-sized lawn and garden, but this is not a spacious property out in the country -- it is in a residential part of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed a number of stays at The Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast. We chose it the first time as an Anniversary get-away, and we liked it totally from moment we entered. Friendly personnel greeted us. Our reservation was in order, and the tea and cookies were superb, served in our cozy, comfortable, spacious room. We became fans of the ginger tea by the Rishi company, and we have subsequently ordered it to have at home. Breakfasts are sumptuous, healthy, and vegetarian. Options include yogurt, granola, egg dishes, French toast, pancakes, quiches, and the like. Coffee is great, and tea selections are available. The location is close to the big walking mall to the east on 29th and also to the Pearl St and East End of Pearl Street where there are many shops, galleries, and restaurants. We are come back customers. That's the true recommendation. We always look forward to our return.
PS. The biscotties are delicious!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2151 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder, CO 80302
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Boulder offers organic breakfast, fine teas and ecologically conscious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Hotel Boulder
Briar Rose b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.