We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Boulder!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2151 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Boulder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find in Boulder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great b&b. We really enjoyed our visit... Staff was great, room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast the next morning was outstanding! The tea selection is worth checking out...it's impressive! The location is also quite good. Very convenient to many of the great spots to check out in Boulder. Will definitely stay here on one next trip to Boulder!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    34
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
80
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a cute little B&B. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is tasty and they leave out cake & cookies the whole day for you to nibble on. Our room was in the main part of the house and was small but comfortable.

We ended up driving to the more touristy areas of the city because the weather was too cold for walking around. But in the middle of summer, it is probably a nice 10, 15 minute walk to the center of town.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Rest, SC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is within walking distance of downtown if you enjoy walking. The staff is over the top helpful and nice. It was not a fancy place but quite comfortable. I really appreciated the tremendous effort to be environmentally friendly------recycling, organic cotton towels and sheets all natural toiletries in large bottles and as much as possible this time of year, locally sourced food.

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on their website and choose what suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a romantic getaway night in boulder and this didn't disappoint. We stayed in the bigger jetted hot tub room.

Positive things:
Staff was friendly and welcoming.
Room was clean and neat.
Like the Eco-friendly stuff, no surprise in boulder.
Tea was fabulous.
Coffee was fabulous.
DownStairs common area was cozy and comfortable.
Bed was very comfortable.

Constructive criticism:
The breakfast was just ok. I would like perhaps a house specialty dish rather than scrambled eggs and toast.
Perhaps a bit spendy for what it is, but may be in line with local rates.

Overall, we might stay again sometime if in the area. And I would recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotes D'armor, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

As with several other reviewers, we felt that the price (around $195) was far too high...and we have stayed at quite a lot of B/B's in the USA and know that they are mostly on the slightly more luxurious end of accommodation. It IS in an upmarket area of a university town but the road was definitely busy and the parking in the grounds can be difficult when the place is full. To try and give an idea of the ethos---think San Fransisco hippy background. Shabby garden areas where one is encouraged to sit with perhaps own wine- glasses provided helpfully. We also were greeted by being taken into the kitchen with its myriad teas by a very pleasant young chap. We were with 2 American friends; their room was in a sort of adjunct building up stairs and was quite large. Ours was in the main building, was small, not very good bathroom (with super towel "rail!) which is definitely in need of renewing, perhaps in an offbeat style to match the rest of the house. Bedlinen adequate- one upright chair but 2 large other furniture items. It had a door to a garden area, which was nice.
We had a very early breakfast the next morning to catch a flight; two young students offered us pancakes which we had not time for, so otherwise the meal seemed to consist of fruit and some sort of cereal . We saw the owner only briefly the previous p.m., whilst he was chattiing to a regular client. We gather he tends to employ students; the young chap who was at the "inn" the previous day waas really nice aand tried to be helpful; he baked some superb biscuits.
The test of any accommodation is always would one stay again- the answer this time would, sadly, have to be "no", which is a pity because we do like a change from the chain hotels...but that PRICE!! Oh-we'd recommend "Tossa" an Italian restaurant nearby, for a good, middle-of-the road meal.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the "main" road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We absolutely love the Briar Rose! Our son lives in Boulder and this is where we stay when we come out to see him. We love it. The Blanco and Altero rooms are wonderfully spacious and just lovely. The breakfasts are outstanding and meeting and talking to such fascinating and intelligent guests at the dining room table is always a plus. Though we only come once a year both Gary, the owner, and Dan, one of the chefs, remembered us.
On our last day we needed to check out by 5am to catch a flight and a lovely girl asked if she could pack us a to-go bag. She showed me how to start the coffee and when we walked in the kitchen in the morning, she had packed us a bag with granola, apples, and homemade bread along with to-go coffee containers.
The location is perfect. About a 10 minute walk to Pearl Street.
You truly get a feel for Boulder at the Briar Rose! Every night after dinner, it was like coming home. We'll be back! Paul and Nancy

Room Tip: Blanco and Antero are beautiful spacious rooms and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Briar Rose B&B in Boulder, CO is a sweet B&B in an excellent location, within walking distance to Pearl Street and a wonderful tea house which I cannot remember the name of. We stayed in one of the carriage house rooms which is separate from the main house. The room was very clean with a queen bed and bath with shower. Even though the B&B is located on a busy street, our room was quiet. The grounds could have used some sprucing up; lots of weeds in the garden. The staff was very accommodating. The breakfast was excellent. I agree with another review that the owners should put some of the money back into sprucing the place up a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRBB, Owner at Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We very much appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know that we do, indeed, plan on further renovations this fall/winter. Last year we put $40k into various upgrades and roof replacement, the majority of our net income for the year. This, in part, is why my husband has another job! This year we plan to upgrade at least one room, if not two, replace some rugs and carpeting, do some touch-up painting in our common areas and replace the final section of our roof.

Please know that staying on top of renovations is very important to us and, while it is a slow but continual process, it is always a top priority. When we bought the inn 8 years ago it needed a lot of attention, and we are working on it steadily. So far we have repainted all of the common areas, replaced some common-area furniture, replaced almost all of the artwork in the entire inn, and fixed up 7 out of 10 of the rooms, as well as made many energy improvements. Keeping up with the needs of a house built in the 1880's is an ongoing project, to be sure!

Thanks again for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#7 of 21 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.6 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#8 of 21 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
0.4 mi away
Millennium Harvest House
Millennium Harvest House
#18 of 21 in Boulder
3.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2151 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder, CO 80302
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Boulder offers organic breakfast, fine teas, and ecologically conscious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose b&b
Briar Rose Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.