We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like going home :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2151 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Boulder B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feels like going home :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Full of charm, this B&B delivers a genuine opportunity to embrace new friendships. Having spent a total of several months at the Briar over many trips in the last year, I've had the opportunity to experience a range of weathers, chefs, and rooms. Tea at any time, customized meals, and exemplary service from a devoted staff ensure that your needs will be met; if there's anything you need, just ask. The owners' consistent reinvestment in the building, and devotion to a long future are evident in the care exhibited in all activities.

My travels to Boulder are always work-related, and inherently solitary in nature; thus I always enjoy meeting fellow house-guests. I've discovered the Briar Rose to be a popular destination with the International scientific community, where conversations about Saturn's Moons, airborne particulates, electric cars, or modern european architecture occur over an aptly named "Waffle Wednesday" breakfast. -Like most things in life, your experience at the Briar Rose is what you make of it, indulge!

Room Tip: Every room is unique, check out their website to learn about each one; call when making your reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    29
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
67
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We only stayed here a night, but it was such a welcome sight after a long flight from London! What do they do the duvets to get them so fluffy? I have never seen anything like it.

It's a lovely relaxed place, very much someone's home, with books and paintings and so on. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was wonderful and our fellow guests also delightful. I could happily have stayed much longer, and if we go back, we may well do just that.

And finally, I know this is very British of me, but pot of tea that they made us was absolutely wonderful. It's rare to get a really great cup of tea in a hotel in the US, but this was superb. As good as I've ever had and supremely welcome after a long trip. They know their teas!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Antero room which had a log fire and a separate sitting area - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

I pay attention to the details. I was pleased to know that the briar rose does so as well. They are genuine, and are not trying to be anyone other than who they are. I really enjoyed hanging out with the staff. The fresh flowers are lovely. The tea is lovely. And the location (right across the street from naropa) Is lovely

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great Bed and Breakfast. It really is more of an inn, than a B&B. There are staff members present in the home. The room was very comfortable, quiet, and peaceful. There are plenty of sweet breads to eat, along with tea, that can be obtained any time of day. We stayed in the red cloud room.

The staff members are extremely friendly and helpful. The location provides easy walking access to downtown Boulder.

The breakfast is absolutely amazing. The homemade granola can't be beat, and you will not walk away from breakfast hungry. This was a great experience. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with attached bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This certainly didn't live up to it's reputation or advertisements and is situated on a noisy road. We arrived late, so a key was left for us which we didn't have a problem with but the directions to find the bathroom that went with our room was a different matter! We found a broom cupboard, someone else's room but it turned out to be a door marked 'private', which was the last one we tried although would have known had the note said that. Breakfast was disappointing, the fresh fruit salad looked very sorry for itself and seemed sparse, and there was no choice; at one point we had to clear space for someone to sit down. We had pancakes one day that were very heavy and stodgy. It seemed to be run by students, but by day three the lad serving looked in need of a wash and change of clothes. Information about the locality was non-existant, we chanced upon some kind of green fair; which could have been mentioned on the board or leaflets made available.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

When making our plans for family weekend two months ago, we were unable to find any rooms and stumbled upon this wonderful bed and breakfast. From the moment we arrived, we felt the stress and noise of travel from the east coast dissipate. The entry through a garden with an attractive waterfall into the homey front room was just the beginning. The smell of fresh baked goodies drew us in where we met several friendly people working in the kitchen. Our room was not ready upon our arrival, but we were offered delicious brewed tea from their extensive collection and homemade cookies. We were given a tour of the place and shown our room. We went to the CU family activities and returned to find our belongings happily tucked into our comfortable room. The bed was very comfortable...we slept for 9 hours! We awoke to the smell of fresh coffee (a local roaster) and homemade zucchini bread. Homemade yoghurt with homemade granola, fresh fruit, followed by fresh eggs scrambled with spinach, red bell pepper, and mushrooms with goat cheese atop completed our breakfast, which we ate on a covered porch. After a day of hiking, vwe returned to enjoy a cup of fresh brewed tea with the zucchini bread. Our tea was served on a silver tray complete with fresh flowers and herbs from the garden!
We have stayed at other places in Boulder, but if we can, we will always stay here in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Bianca room. While the street out front was busy, we didn't hear it at all (to be transparent in my review, we didn't open the windows...didn't need to). Parking was ample in the available lots. Pearl Street was only about a 10 minute walk away - nice. The breakfast was yummy - and the homemade granola is out of this world! The only problem with the shortbread cookies was that I know how much butter is in shortbread cookies, so that kept me from eating 5 of them. I steeled myself for only eating one. Very tough to do! The tea selection was fantastic. Love the tea in the afternoon and the mint-lemon ice water. Room is comfortable. If you absolutely have to have a TV in your room, then you must know that there isn't one there. No problem on our end. It was great not to have the glaring screen for one night.

For those lucky enough to stay on a Friday night, the Saturday morning Boulder County Farmers Market is a 10 minute walk away. GO THERE if it is happening, even just to walk around & gawk at all the wonderful things! So amazing!! Wish we had a comparable one close to home.

I was thinking about some of the not-great reviews that said that the owner does the welcome in the kitchen (and sometimes dishes are there) and that the young staff runs the place. This was our first time staying at a B&B, and being welcomed in the kitchen made me feel like I was staying in the owner's own house. I welcome all my guests into my kitchen at home, and there are surely some dishes there every now & then! A rushed intro to the place, someone said. Who cares? How much do you need to know besides where the tea & cookies are, the breakfast time, where your key works, whom to call in an emergency, & where your room is? A young staff? Well, they sure seem to know what is going on, so I don't feel the burning need to talk to someone who is older, just for the sake of talking to someone older. And Elizabeth makes a MEAN homemade breakfast bread (I think ours was ginger-spice flavor?), so have her on hand any night I am there, please!

All in all, a very fine place to stay, a welcoming setting - and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2151 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder, CO 80302
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Boulder offers organic breakfast, fine teas and ecologically conscious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose b&b
Briar Rose Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.