We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leaf Vegetarian Restaurant

Leaf Vegetarian Restaurant
2010 16th St, Boulder, CO 80302-5446
+1 303-442-1485
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Leaf Vegetarian Restaurant is dedicated to creating a superb vegetarian dining experience in a tranquil, sophisticated environment. Leaf uses the finest organic, seasonal ingredients in providing vegetarian global cuisine and a health conscious dining option for herbivores and omnivores alike.
NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Early dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We sat the bar because we didn't have reservations on a Friday night and it was still fantastic! The beet steak, served with carrots, was amazing and definitely one of the more creative meals I've had in a restaurant. We splurged for the pimento cheese poppers which were also very tasty. Service was a little slow at first, but they were busy. All around a great dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a great vegan meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

They really do a good job in trying to accomodate vegans. They identify the vegan items very clearly and the food is wonderful. The beet steak was delicious and not at all what I expected. The service was really good and the restaurant was overall a good experience for us when we took a small group out to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by staff at a local hotel and they were right to do so! I am vegetarian, although I don't often eat at a strictly vegetarian restaurant, however, I was so impressed with this one! The restaurant is easy to walk to from Pearl Street, and has an outside front terrace. I started with their beet salad, which was a special that day (wonderful) and then had a dish from the menu, which was fantastic. As everything was just so good, I had to try dessert too and wow, had a chocolate/peanut butter pie, which was also made with silken tofu. The texture was like cheesecake and was simply amazing. This restaurant also has very good wine selections and I is simply an amazing experience. I'm quite certain that non vegetarians will love the food, wine and experience. This is fine dining!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice lunch on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Three of us had a very nice lunch on the patio. My husband ordered the jerk seitan, which he really liked, it was layered and spicy. I had the flatbread pizza which had delicious toppings but we thought the crust was a bit dense in texture. Salads were great!! Grilled artichoke was fantastic and we are going to try making it at home. Next time I would ask that the artichoke dressing be served on the side since I would have preferred less, but that is a small thing. If you order iced tea, beware, it is mildly peach flavored - not for everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I have had "vegan" food in Amsterdam and in gastropubs in Britain. In Europe, a vegetarian item on the menu is quite routine, and the quality similar to the rest of the menu offerings. I was intrigued by this restaurants menu on its web site and decided to try it. The ambience and service were very good.
As an appetizer, I had the potato beet gnocchi with spinach and walnuts. All individual items were good, but the overall effect was a bit too much salt, probably from the spinach. The main course was miso glazed tofu with forbidden rice and some perfectly cooked vegetables. This was excellent, on a par with the vegetarian food at " The Five Flies" restaurant in Amsterdam.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaf Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Leaf Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaf Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.