We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great night!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado Shakespeare Festival

Colorado Shakespeare Festival
University of Colorado campus, Boulder, CO
+1 303-492-8008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 45 Attractions in Boulder
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Colorado Shakespeare Festival is a professional theatre company in association with the University of Colorado Boulder. Since 1958 the festival has celebrated and explored Shakespeare and his continuing influence and vitality through productions of superior artistic quality, education and community engagement. CSF strives to preserve the classics of the past and pursue the classics of the future. Fueled by artistry and scholarship, the festival seeks to expand the cultural richness of the region by inspiring, challenging, and cultivating the imagination of audiences and artists. Plays are performed beneath summer night skies in the historic Mary Rippon Outdoor Theatre and in the newly renovated indoor University Theatre.
boulder, co
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great night!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you like theater, you will love the Colorado Shakespeare Festival. It is on the campus of CU Boulder, the performances are great, as is the sets, costumes and audience. Always memorable, if you have the ability to catch any of these shows, do yourself the favor!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get your bard fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been going to the Colorado Shakespeare Festival for decades, before we could afford it. We started out as ushers, just to get to see the plays. Val Kilmer as Hamlet was amazing! We've seen much of the canon now, but the CSF now does other interesting plays along with traditional Shakespeare. Always a good time. Get a seat back (free) and extra cushion (free) and don't forget your raincoat!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Bard Under the Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've been going to the Colorado Shakespeare Festival for 25 years and it's a summer tradition I'd never want to miss. It's most fun to attend the plays in the outdoor amphitheater on a warm evening. Overall, the productions are quiet good: professionally acted, interestingly staged. My only quibble with the festival is that in the last couple of years, they've reduced the number of Shakespearean plays and added other non-Shakespeare productions.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent performances!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have gone to the Festival for the last couple of years and they always put on really good performances. Last time it rained on us, but we still had a lot of fun, and it is definitely worth going. We see comedies, and those are usually great and they have fun quirky twists which make them even better.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Summer Entertainment in Boulder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Shakespeare Festival at CU is such a treat. My first visit was when I was a kid and won tickets from the Crossroads Mall to attend Love's Labours Lost. It was so much fun. Shakespearean rhetoric is difficult to understand (for adults and children alike) if you have not read the plays, but the costumes, sets, and staging at these plays allows the audience to understand what is going on in context. Anyways, you get used to the language after about 20 minutes. I always find the plays at this festival very moving or hilarious. My favorites are the comedies. they have folding seats to use at the outdoor ampitheater, and you can bring your own if you have a preference. Also, bring a sweater, it can get cold once the sun goes down. They have a concession stand to get a hot chocolate or coffee during intermission. Consider passing through an art exhibit on campus before the show...or taking a walk to see the campus historic buildings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colorado Shakespeare Festival also viewed

 

Been to Colorado Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colorado Shakespeare Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.