We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in luxury and sassy Boulder panache.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relax in luxury and sassy Boulder panache.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Our room and amenities were classic comfort with our shower and bath having gorgeous slate flooring, glass enclosed shower, beautiful double sink vanity and spa amenities. Our beds were ultra comfortable, pristine white sheets & down comforters. Our room looked out over the foothills of the Rockies. While the room was a little piece of heaven, the spa was wonderful, with a large indoor swimming pool and super large double jacuzzi. I swam until closing time!
The bar has an urban hip vibe with many locals. Service was little slow as the staff was quite busy with the Christmas crowd enjoying a piano/violin trio. Upscale Rocky Mountain class is waiting your stay at the St. Julien.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    107
    30
    19
    17
See reviews for
113
177
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Beautiful amenities and I received A wonderful massage by a good hearted therapist, but Boulder is full of excellent massage therapists with all of the schools here. The unprofessional staff at the spas front desk made the whole thing thoroughly stressful, repeatedly asking me if I was finished with my locker during my 3 hour stay at the spa and pool, as well as just being snooty in various ways. I wouldn't expect to be treated that way at a Days Inn, what to speak of at such a beautiful, high end hotel. Not the Boulder mood at all. If you are coming for the Boulder experience, this isn't it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I visited the St. Julien for a conference and stayed for 4 nights, and would definitely recommend the hotel.

Highlights:
- Lovely lobby and separate bar and restaurant - lovely to have the bar with happy hour option.
- Great service - ask for toothpaste and get a toothbrush, Scope, and toothpaste on a doily within minutes. Doormen are very friendly.
- Great rooms with a view - the in-room furniture is lovely with four-poster beds and free-standing closet/entertainment system combo. Keurig coffeemakers and large soaking tub + marble shower.
- Those chocolate covered oreos as the turndown treat
- Location - very walkable and close to lots of dining options

Lowlights:
- The power inexplicably went out for 40 minutes in prime morning time on a sunny, calm day.
- Wasn't hugely enamored with the breakfasts available for order, and the first morning they completely forgot to bring my breakfast order. The food in the restaurants is fine.

I also want to thank the staff of the St Julien - I made the mistake of leaving a small box of valuables in the unlocked safe when packing. The St Julien staff located the box and helped me arrange to have it shipped back. Can't express how meaningful that is!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The St. Julien was truly a pleasure to visit. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was gorgeous, and the people were all wonderfully friendly and helpful. Each day they left me a free bottle of local spring water (although the tap water in Boulder is very good) and two chocolate-covered Oreo-like cookies. The location is great — very close to shopping and many excellent restaurants — and the conference facilities were fine for the smallish meetings we had the first day. The lobby is attractive and cozy, with many chairs and small tables and at one end a gas fire. The hotel has only four stories, and the stairs are attractive and easily accessible, instead of being hidden away behind concrete walls and a fire door.

I would change three things:
1. The pillows are ridiculously thick (about 8") and not very compressible. They cannot be healthy for anyone's back. After getting almost no sleep the first night, I asked them to bring me thinner pillows. They were there very quickly with down pillows that were nice and plush, but compressible as down is. (If you're allergic to feathers you might want to stay somewhere else.)
2. All the toiletries had a scent called "Canyon Mint". Some of the people at my conference liked it, but to me they made my hair and hands smell like toothpaste.
3. The in-room coffee comes with Coffee Mate. I would have expected a luxury hotel to provide ultra-pasteurized milk instead of that nasty fake stuff. The front desk did have the restaurant give me a small amount of milk when I asked about it the first night, but I decided that that was just too much trouble and I didn't ask on subsequent nights.

If I stay there again I'll take my own shampoo, so (2) is not a major issue. But I would ask for the smaller pillows in advance, so as not to risk finding that they had run out of them. That's a make-or-break thing for me.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Our stay at this hotel was absolutely wonderful. The room was charming and inviting with all the amenities one can expect ( bathrobes, bath salts, complimentary water bottles, turn down service) and a lovely bed with all white linens ( which I love since always looks crisp and clean). Spa was a small urban affair which provided a nice post -ski escape with an array of services and wonderful organic products ( gift shop looked little tired, though). On weekend evenings hotel features live music, and on the weekend we visited it was lively and packed - so fun! We did not try the restaurant but only because it seemed like there were million amazing restaurants to choose from within the walking distance ( many featuring local food, organic foods and just about any ethnic angle). Location is spectacular, allowing for a hours of walking on the river path, shopping, eating (yes!) and an easy access to the Eldora mountain. Valet parking is the best option during the week, but during the weekend a public garage right under the hotel is free so that is the least expensive option during Sat and Sun. Staff was extremely friendly - from front desk, spa , valet, concierge, housekeeping - everyone! The only thing I did not like ( but cannot be changed) is that due to the U-shaped design of the property there was no privacy in our room -at least dozen of rooms had 100% view inside it with curtains open - which was a bummer since our room had a great mountain vista. Still, can't wait to go back in the summer. Oh, and I loved the historic tid bits all over the promotional materials and wall photographs!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

About a year ago I made a massage appointment for a friend as a gift since she was facing a small surgical procedure and I thought it would make her feel good. After her hospital appointment she was in such pain that she was unable to keep the appointment. The staff at your spa was extremely rude when I called to cancel the appt and told me I would be charged full rate unless I brought proof of medical procedure to them in person before the appointment time. I couldn't believe that request but I left my friend alone and traveled several miles to bring them the paperwork work so I wouldn't be charged. Upon arrival, I was told I would have to meet with the head spa person who wasn't going to be available for a while. I waited about 45 minutes before she returned. Just unbelievable! I should never have had to do that...and am mad at myself for putting up with such unprofessional behavior from your hotel.

Stayed March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here with my fiance! We visited Boulder just for fun from Chicago, and were very impressed with the location (we had a great view of the flat irons). We walked only a block to Pearl Street so the hotel was conveniently located near shopping and great restraurants. We were so warmly welcomed by the staff and our room was impeccable. We had such a great night sleep- bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.