We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Comfort and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Boulder
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Luxury, Comfort and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I were here first weekend of June for three nights. Best location for downtown. Convenient to everything. There is valet and self parking. We did the latter and it's free on Sat and Sun. There is a parking garage under the hotel and is accessible via elevator from lobby - very convenient. Comfortable bed, stall shower. Small one bedroom. Good hotel service. Jill's restaurant is good for breakfast and service was good in the dining room. Small gym, indoor lap pool. Fast elevators. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    119
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
118
188
39
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I was so impressed by this hotel. I travel often and tend to be a bit jaded, but I was overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff. I was greeted by name and my company affliation (though I was traveling on leisure). It was so wonderful. The view from my room, the bath tubs and the restaurant were true highlights. There was a band in the lobby on Saturday night which set a nice mood. It was a memorable, stand out experience!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I really liked the St Julien. The hotel was relatively empty early and mid-week, but the room was beautiful. Front door staff VERY attentive and polite. The bar staff equally professional.

Nothing whatsoever to complain about and really a fantastic business hotel in Boulder. The location is very central to Boulder and easy to walk to many restaurants and Bars with Pearl Street just a street away. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
The Executive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Boulder has been starving for a hotel like this for years and finally the St. Julien delivers. The rooms are very nice and the beds are fantastic. The lobby decor is hip and modern but tasteful. The bar area can get a little rowdy. Seems like there are a lot of trendy dressed 20 and 30 somethings looking to hook up but this makes for great people watching and a good vibe. I don't know what scent they are pumping through the central air system, but the entire hotel smells wonderful, like a day spa. Now for the downside. Since they are the only decent, upscale hotel in Boulder, their lack of competition seems to give the staff an attitude problem. Mediocre service keeps them from getting 5 stars in my book. Our room had a dirty shower curtain and when we complained to the front desk about it, basically their attitude was..."Yeah, so?" Totally unacceptable in a hotel of this quality. A small hiccup, but when you're throwing down $300-$400 a night you don't want a shower curtain that looks like somebody urinated on the bottom of it. If they tighten up their customer service, this can truly be a great hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We are on a driving trip though the Western States. Arrived in Boulder after a long day on the road. Everyone from the bellman to the front desk did everything to check us in and get us to our room immediately. The room and bed were so comfortable with a view of the mountains. Happy hour in the lobby was the best time we had in many years. The music was so exciting and everyone was dancing throughout the lobby and bar. Our dinner and breakfast at Jill's was exceptional. We travel for leisure over 100 days a year and this by far one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. The staff went out of their way to make our stay an exceptional one. Next time you are near Boulder, stay at the St. Julien.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The St Julien is a beautiful hotel, centrally located in downtown Boulder. The rooms were beautifully decorated, a bit on the small side, but very cozy. The beds are very comfortable & the soft linens make getting out of bed very hard! While customer service during our stay for the most part was great, we did encounter some staff at the reception desk & valet that acted as though our request to check in or have our car valet were an inconvenience to them. Definetely not cool! We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we did have several meals delivered through room service, and the food was very good.

During our stay we decided to check out the spa & get facials. While the therapists & therapy rooms were fantastic, we were disappointed with the lounging facilities. The lounge is co-ed. This would have been fine if we were told about it, but we were not. There also were not any signs posted about the lounge being co-ed either. There is also no service entrance for employees to enter the treatment room section, so while you are trying to relax in the lounge, there is a constant stream of employees entering, leaving, walking through the lounge. Not the least bit relaxing in my opinion. The locker room facilities are great with a sauna & steam room, showers, etc. & they provide all the bathroom condiments you may need. There is only 1 pool/spa for the entire hotel. While we appreciate the effort, we can't recommend the spa lounging facilities as a relaxing environment. Treatments & therapists are awesome, but once your treatment's are complete, you'll have to return to your room for relaxation. We travel to Las Vegas quite often for spa getaways and in our opinion, the St. Julien has potential to be a really great spa. Just need to improve the lounging facilities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I really wanted to like the St Julien, as it has the appearance of providing a lovely pampering experience. Unfortunately, appearances are deceiving. The utter lack of concern for my comfort was felt from all levels of employee, from the front desk right up to the general manager. The spa botched my reservations and no one seemed to appreciate that this was the opposite of a relaxing experience. It was left to me to track down the manager and relay the problem. I was left feeling like it was my fault for not knowing how their spa operates. The hotel lobby on the weekends is over-taken by an obnoxiously loud, untalented live band with bad acoustics. Walking through the hotel on those nights one feels as if this is a Ramada Inn during an 70's era class reunion. The music was so loud it was distorted and reverberated up to our 4th floor room. Drunks from the lobby were spilling into the pool area as they had jammed open the door. All the other hotel guests were grumbling as well when we rode the elevator together. We were informed that most of the crowd in the lobby were locals. Sadly, the desk said this was a common complaint and that management never responds to the complaints. I too found this, when I had to ask the GM, Peter Walstra, to call me as he had not responded to my comment card after 2 weeks. He told me that my complaint was not valid, as other people liked the loud music and therefore it was just a matter of taste. I was made to feel as if he could care less about the $900 I spent for one day at his hotel. Clearly, bad customer service is a top down problem at this property.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJGeneralMgr, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
I hope you will accept our sincere apologies. We pride ourselves on the quality and service we deliver to our guests, including our locals who frequently stay and dine with us. We regret that your experience was not a positive one and potentially not up to our standards either.

Regarding your feedback on our selection of live music, while we try to appease a broad audience, we like to bring in local bands to give our guests a taste of Boulder during their visit. Our diverse selection ranges from Jazz and Soul to Tengo, Brazilian, and music of Zimbabwe. While we get many compliments, we also take this complaint very seriously and regret any dissatisfaction. We continually review our entertainment selections to make sure our guests enjoy their time here.

We appreciate your feedback and I'm glad I got the chance to speak with you personally about your specific concerns during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.