We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Room - Very Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% savings with B&B Pkg
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Tiny Room - Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I agree that this hotel is luxury level with great service, nice indoor and outside common areas and excellent location to Pearl Street. I felt cramped and claustrophobic in the king bed mountain view room. It was so small there is no space for a closet - it is in the furniture with the TV. There is very little counter space for your belongings and virtually no space for the luggage. The bathroom was the highlight with a nice stall shower, separate toilet room with pocket door. The bed was comfortable. We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of June then we changed hotels to the Marriott Courtyard (for the next 5 nights) at the other end of Pearl Street and for approximately $150 less a night, free parking and a king suite which included a balcony, living room, bar area with small fridge and microwave and separate bedroom with comfortable bed and excellent lighting throughout, this was a good deal and very livable. The bathroom was no comparison to the St. Julien's. Next time in Boulder we will search for a vacation rental as we like a lot of living space.

Room Tip: ask for high up with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Kabear,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent visit to St Julien Hotel & Spa. I am pleased that your party enjoyed the hotel’s common areas, oversized bathrooms and location. I’m sorry you found your room to be small for your tastes. We do have a variety of room types available, including suites. I hope you expressed your dissatisfaction to a staff member and that alternative accommodation options were offered. I do hope you’ll stay with us again, on your next visit to Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    122
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
119
195
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
omaha, ne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was my third trip to Boulder and my third stay at the St. Julien. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, fluffy towels and a balcony! Room service, housekeeping and front desk were excellent. The house car (with cutie driver Cameron) took us to the grocery store and back. The staff go the extra mile.

Room Tip: If you want to hear the music that is offered daily ask for a courtyard view. If you want to see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear mcarollo13,

We appreciate your thoughts on St Julien Hotel & Spa, and your continued patronage. I am pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, and that our staff has made your repeat visits exceptional. I’m also glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary Boulder-area shuttle, and hope you return to St Julien again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Best hotel in Boulder bar none. Denver, Colorado Native, being going to boulder and seeing shows there from The Who to Paul McCartney. Great location next to the Pearl St. Mall, close to The Hill and university.

Service is second to none, in room dining is fine, spa and sport preparation and rehabilitation services are available. The Sunday Brunch is guiltiness, but a must as it is also second to none.

This time I went for two nights, staying before and after my triathlon at the Boulder Reservoir.

I would recommend this hotel to my mother and my brothers. There is simply nowhere else to stay in Boulder. Try to get one of the balcony rooms in the summer. This way you can really enjoy the mile high air.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Lioness WhtG-D,

Thank you for taking the time to review St Julien Hotel & Spa; we are pleased to be your go-to Boulder hotel. I am happy we have been able to accommodate you on so many occasions, and you have enjoyed so many of our onsite amenities over the years. I am also pleased that you’ve indulged in brunch at Jill’s Restaurant - it is a weekend guest favorite and a great way to reenergize after an eventful Boulder weekend - or a triathlon! We hope to see you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I travel a lot for work, and this hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. The hotel itself is beautiful, inviting, and clean. The lobby is a great place to get breakfast in the morning or a night cap after a long day. My room had a great view and all the amenities including a sewing kit. We had our meeting during a very bad snow storm out east and the hotel was very accommodating. I will def be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear phillygirl808,

Thank you for sharing thoughts from your stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, the amenities (and views!) provided, and the hotel's lobby offerings. I hope you return again soon, hopefully next time for pleasure, rather than business.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a mountain-view room and basically had to fend for ourselves. A local wedding--held right in the lobby, they don't seem to have event rooms--displaced hotel guests literally and in spirit. Service was just nonexistent. Housekeeping had to be called for everything from a shower cap to a corkscrew. The spa is attractive but they had no towels for the showers, and no attendant--not what you want to discover after a massage with oil. Dirty plates stayed in the hallway for a day, along with a half-filled glass of red wine balanced on a windowsill. The concierge advertised a dinner at a local restaurant but then couldn't get us a reservation. When we needed our car at 6 am to go to the Denver airport, their parking garage hadn't opened and we waited and waited...finally the lone person manning the front desk went and got it for us. We tipped everyone, constantly, and that helped, but it is tiring to have to put in so much effort when you thought you were checking into a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms on the third floor include a view of guests in their bathrobes on second-floor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Joan B,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent St Julien Hotel & Spa stay. I would like to apologize for any and all challenges you faced while in our care. While events that take place in one of our private event spaces sometimes flow into the lobby, we never wish to make other guests feel inconvenienced or displaced. I also apologize for your challenges with housekeeping. There is no excuse on our end, and I will be sure to bring your concerns to the attention of our staff. I regret that you had a hard time retrieving your vehicle, although the public parking garage adjacent to our property is not owned or operated by St Julien Hotel & Spa (we do offer valet as a convenience to guests who do not wish to find parking on their own).

I’m sorry to hear your stay with us was anything less than exceptional; I hope you return to St Julien again in the future, and allow us to display the standard of service for which we are known.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Top shelf all the way. Nice outdoor facility. They are near the mountains and most rooms have a great view.
Very close to thePearl Street mall and lots of great restaurants.
I have stayed there around 6 or 7 times and it is one of nicest places that I have stayed.
Some of the staff ever recognized me from previous stays.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Reverenkeith,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to St Julien Hotel & Spa; I sincerely appreciate your feedback. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the convenience of our location and mountain views on so many occasions. I do hope you plan another visit soon, as your repeat patronage is the best compliment we can hope to receive.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great stay in the heart of Boulder. The staff, food,service were all top notch. Very comfortable atmosphere. The spa is also a must do. Very clean and comfortable. This is a must stay hotel while visiting Colorado.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Tim F,

Thank you for contributing such a kind review of St Julien Hotel & Spa; we appreciate all feedback from our patrons. I am pleased you were satisfied with your recent stay, and that you found the time to dine with us and utilize Spa at St Julien. We hope you return soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.