We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Top Hotel in Boulder County by FAR!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Top Hotel in Boulder County by FAR!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We checked into a Junior Suite on the fourth floor on Christmas Eve. The hotel was alive with action, lovely XMAS decorations, and a LOBBY BAR SECOND TO NONE!!!! Naturally, we had to have a drink while looking out at the majestic FLATIRONS ROCK FORMATION at the foot of the mountains. What a view! I really did not want to leave the bar, and it was only about 1 pm!.
The valet bell service was the sharpest I have seen in a large city hotel. They were extra quick in handling our luggage. as my wife travels with many bags. When we finally arrived to our spacious quarters naturally our bags were there. I had to hurray down to make sure I tipped the bell person.
I thought the front desk personal were extra sharp, quick to check us in; and with a big WELCOME TO THE ST JULIEN with a big smile. When do we ever see front desk people SMILE?????
As we got off the elevator on the fourth floor we quickly noticed couches, easy chairs, etc. looking out again to the beautiful mountains through a large window. We had to sit and enjoy this experience before going to our room.

Later in the early evening they had a nice LIVE BAND playing in the lobby area. Naturally we had to sit and order a drink so we could continue having FUN at THE ST JULIEN!!!!

Room Tip: Choose one of the higher floors to allow either a city or mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Eddiethea,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. The holidays are a wonderful time of year to visit Boulder, and I am pleased you were able to spend them with us. We make quality service a top priority at St Julien Hotel & Spa, and I am delighted that everyone from the front desk attendants to the bellhops were able to assist with all your needs. I appreciate your feedback, and hope you will return to St Julien Hotel & Spa soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    109
    30
    19
    17
See reviews for
115
181
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver island
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

As with so many of my reviews this one is tricky because it is a bit mixed.

To start, check in was delightful and the person who helped us was wonderful. She found a room for us on the 4th (top) floor and found us better rates by using AAA —we were staying 6 nights so this helped. In addition, the bell staff, car attendants, bar servers, and virtually all the staff were amazing, helpful and pleasant.

The basic rooms are quite small but nice and totally functional. The windows open, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom, while only having one sink, has a separate tub and glass enclosed shower. The TV while large enough, does not have an over-abundance of channels.

The valet parking is the least expensive parking to be found in Boulder —-albeit still somewhat expensive at $20 a night.

On the downside, the housekeeping staff seemed to be iffy at best —our linens were not changed when that was requested, our coffee was not always replaced, and the room just never seemed totally tidied. But in the context of all that was good about this hotel, it was not a significant issue for us.

One of the nice amenities of the St. Julien is the very large lobby which also serves as a bar and gathering place as the actual bar is quite small. Unfortunately, on several of the days we were there the lobby was used for private functions and the bar was completely jammed with people requiring us to go elsewhere for a drink. One night when we were meeting our friends who live in Boulder, I was able to snag seats just as others left, but that was pure luck. In addition, on at least one of the nights we were there the restaurant was closed for a private party — I’m just glad it was not raining, although it was lightly snowing as we walked to have supper at Oak.

Bunch on Sunday was a very good value. We had great service and a lovely table. Jill’s restaurant is a pretty room and they used it well to set up the buffet. The buffet includes champagne, bloody Mary and mimosa and, while the spread is not quite as varied as it might be, it is more than sufficient with a nice range of eggs, seafood, meat, fruit, sweets etc.

Lastly, the location is terrific enabling us to walk everywhere during our stay. We would definitely recommend the St. Julien and we will return the next time we’re in Boulder.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The location can't be beat: downtown and quiet. We had a top floor corner suite. Two rooms, very comfortable and large. All rooms have 4-poster beds. Bathroom ammenities are good. Breakfast selections (Cali Muffins to Huervos Rancheros to in-house patries) are delicious - a great breakfast not to be missed. The hotel's spa (at least what our room key allowed) has a double hot tub with waterfall and a large pool. The hot tub is temperature hot and going back into the pool is like sauna to lake. Service, front desk and valet, are first class. The hotel hosted a number of parties during our stay, and the revelry was limited to the common area not filtering to the rooms. The balcony in the suite was small. If you want a large balcony over rooms size, go for the terrace rooms. If luxury and comfort are your requirements, this is Boulder's best choice.

Room Tip: If you want a large baclony - terrace room. If you want a large room the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The St Julien is just a lovely hotel for Boulder. The rooms are comfy, bathrooms are handsome (both shower and tub rock), nice views of the Flatirons, and on a cold winter night, there's no need to leave the hotel--great happy hour, gorgeous and huge indoor hot tub, live music in the lobby, and Jillian's for dinner. But if you do want to brave the cold, you are right in the heart of downtown Boulder. Restaurants, bars, and shops galore, or walk to the farmer's market, creek trail, and hiking. A perfect location. Good spa and masseuses as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I love this hotel. I travel to Boulder for business quite often and have made it a habit of staying at the St. Julien. The staff is always very helpful with directions, dinner reservations, deliveries and anything else that i need. I love the decor in the rooms and they are always clean and fresh. I adore the bathrooms, especially the large tub. I look forward to using the complementary slippers, bath salts and loofah. I think it is worth every penny every time.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I Stayed at the St. Julien last weekend. The hotel was overbooked with outside events the entire weekend, I was unable to eat at the restaurant both nights due to private events. Lunch Friday was moved to the overfilled lobby due to the setting up of the restaurant for the private restaurant event taking place that night. When I arrived back at the hotel after eating outside of the hotel, a bus was unloading party people to the hotel lobby to watch the a band playing in the lobby. The band was too loud and large for a lobby that size. The very efficient car valet staff was overwhelmed with all of the visiting guests that hotel guests would have long waits for their cars. I left the hotel on Sunday around 11:00 am. The entire hotel lobby was set up for a tea that would be taking place two times that day. It is obvious that hotel patrons are less important than outside guests. On a positive note, hotel staff are helpful and the spa is lovely. The rooms are very nice. As they should be for a hotel that charges top prices.

Room Tip: If you have a room that has a mountain view, make sure it totally faces the mountain. My room overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Ann M,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and Spa at St Julien on your recent visit, and that you found the St Julien Hotel & Spa staff to be helpful. I apologize for the challenges you faced as a result of the busy holiday season. As you may expect, we typically host a far greater number of local guests during the months of November and December, in addition to out of town guests, for holiday parties and other events. We hope you will return to St Julien Hotel & Spa, and you'll see that your experience is not typical year-round.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the St. Julien on our last night in Colorado and it was perfect. Beautiful hotel and facilities. Hopefully the next visit we will actually have time to use the pool, sauna and spa -- all of which look amazing. The bed was ultra-comfortable and the cleanest hotel we've ever visited. Expect to pay but it's a wonderful splurge if you want to treat yourself to a special hotel in a special city. Brasserie Ten Ten restaurant is wonderful and just across the street. Everything is within walking distance of the hotel. Gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear M M,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa.
We strive to provide a guest experience that is luxurious on every level,
and I'm pleased to hear we delivered such for you. We hope you will
return to St Julien Hotel & Spa during your next trip to Boulder, and
will have time to experience our pool, sauna and spa then.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;