We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quality in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent 2 nights. Beautiful accommodation - great room design, beautiful bathroom with deepest tub I've ever seen. Right in the middle of downtown walking area. Staff from housekeeping to valets was first-rate. Concierge provided terrific suggestions. One small quibble - ate breakfast and dinner at Jill's. Service was slow and food, while good, was not hot. However with so many dining venues nearby there are other great choices of places to eat. I will return St Julien.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear EM,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit to St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm pleased you enjoyed the hotel's design, location and service; however, I'm sorry to hear your dining experience at Jill's did not live up to our high standards of service. I am pleased to hear you'll make a return visit to our property.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    103
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
108
171
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bar staff was terrible! We went with high expectations of an elegant experience. Waitress couldn't be bothered to take our order, then when she did was rude! Staff not experienced in high end guest services, belongs in a cafeteria. Over priced awful drinks! I love Boulder, have to believe there is a better place to go celebrate!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear bsimmons599,

I'm sorry to hear your recent experience at T-Zero Bar was not up to St Julien Hotel & Spa's standards of service. I will share your feedback with our team directly. I hope you'll try T-Zero again, so we can demonstrate the high level of service we consistently strive to achieve.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Back recently from our trip, this is one I wanted to review - then I noticed the most recent review criticising it - but they stayed there in 2012! We stayed there 12 days ago...
This hotel is gorgeous - very luxurious. The room has great bedding, lighting, masses of hanging and drawer space. The bathroom has a fabulous shower and toiletries, with a lot of space. WiFi strong signal, free. Good coffee free in room and free water as well. Lengthy happy hour(s) in nice bar. Really great staff - friendly and helpful with ideas for what to do in Boulder. A late checkout happily provided for us. A really excellent hotel in a good central location within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jacky P,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit. We're pleased you enjoyed your accommodations at St Julien Hotel & Spa, as well as the hotel's complimentary wi-fi and bottled water, and most importantly, the level of service you encountered. We sincerely hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Most of the staff was over friendly and helpful. The checkin, valet and concierge were wonderful. The location of the hotel is great and you can walk to shopping and restaurants easily from the hotel. We didn't notice any other hotel options in the area. The King room we were given seemed a bit small, but had enough room for a chair and desk. Our balcony overlooked the valet and front entrance of hotel so not such a relaxing spot. The room has a cork board wall which is very unique, but I'm guessing it has a purpose as a sound barrier between rooms. My biggest issues with this hotel all go back to housekeeping. The sheets on our bed had some tears, the shower was covered in mold and the service was lacking. We were out of our room from 7:30am until 3:15pm and no one had serviced our room. At 4pm, as we were showering, the housekeeper shows up. We asked her to return in 30 mins so we could finish showering but she said her shift ends and she cannot service our room unless it was now. This was quite disappointing, especially because we were hoping to get the mold issue resolved. We checked out a day early and doubt we will return. I hope management takes a look at the dirty moldy showers and stocks up on some Tilex. Housekeeping's time management is an easy fix too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 5startraveler,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. We're happy you enjoyed the hotel's location and service. I apologize for the housekeeping challenges you encountered, and will share your feedback with my team directly, to ensure any issues are resolved.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff shared secrets of the inner workings of the hotel.. No wonder they had no hot water during our stay. I guess it's just falling apart behind its wall sadly.
Service was that of a sophomore college student.. Not experienced in high end hotel lodging, guest needs.
We will not be staying in Boulder again. Thank you the Four Seasons in Denver!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jeremiah C,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit. I'm sorry to hear you experienced challenges during your stay. I hope if you do return to Boulder, you will give St Julien Hotel & Spa another chance to demonstrate the level of service, and quality of accommodations that keep us consistently ranked as a Four-Star, Four-Diamond property.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
683 helpful votes 683 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been staying at the St Julien for what is now 7 years. This makes it our most visited from a large list of hotels. It is everything we want in a Boutique hotel stay. Nicely appointed rooms, fun atmosphere and friendly, hospitable staff.

We have never had a bad stay. The caliber of the accommodations and service had never wavered. Even when something is not right, they go out of their way to make it so.

Kudos to the management for maintaining a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Msk6261,

Thank you for your repeat visits to St Julien Hotel & Spa. We strive to maintain a high level of service, and return customers are the best validation we receive to verify that we're meeting that goal. We hope to continue to welcome you as our guest for many years to come.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina, canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for four nights while attending a conference. Nice hotel with largish rooms, stone bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. One block from Pearl St, which has a large assortment of restaurants and shops. Service was very good, and value was excellent, although we did get a conference rate. I stayed here for business but if I come back for a vacation with my wife this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear livetotravelcdn,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear our rooms, beds, service and location made your visit enjoyable. I certainly hope you’re able to bring your wife to St Julien for a vacation.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.