We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Boulder
regina, canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for four nights while attending a conference. Nice hotel with largish rooms, stone bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. One block from Pearl St, which has a large assortment of restaurants and shops. Service was very good, and value was excellent, although we did get a conference rate. I stayed here for business but if I come back for a vacation with my wife this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear livetotravelcdn,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear our rooms, beds, service and location made your visit enjoyable. I certainly hope you’re able to bring your wife to St Julien for a vacation.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    104
    30
    19
    16
See reviews for
109
174
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Absolutely beautiful spot near Pearl Street mall. I felt refreshed and recharged after two nights. Near great restaurants and Boulder Creek trail. Great friendly staff, well appointed rooms, excellent fitness facilities, and great restaurant. Spa looks very good as well. I'll give that a try on my next visit here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Kweezen,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our amenities, including our fitness center and Jill's Restaurant. We always aim to have our guests depart feeling recharged and refreshed and I'm pleased to hear that was your experience.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

By far the best accommodations in Boulder- luxurious, clean, beautiful decor, great food and tasteful use of lobby/dining space. We stayed in Boulder for three nights and enjoyed every moment at the St. Julian. The staff is extremely professional and demonstrate the best customer service you could ask for. There is absolutely no other hotel I would recommend!

For a spa experience, you can expect quality locker rooms, showers, sauna, and an excellent steam room. While waiting for treatment, the spa lobby is comfortable, spacious and opens to the pool and jacuzzi. The couples massage is delightful and includes champagne afterwards to perpetuate your relaxation...

One major recommendation is to borrow the complimentary cruiser bikes available outside the front door. The location of the St. Julian allows for an easy ride down the Boulder Creek Path, quick cruises to nearby parks, and of course a fast pedal over to numerous restaurants and shops on Pearl St.

If you are looking for the best quality of hotel in Boulder there simply is no other choice than the St. Julian.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear RKtravel1,

Providing an exceptional experience for our guests is always our primary goal – I'm pleased that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at St Julien and had time to take out our complimentary cruiser bikes to explore Boulder, enjoy a spa treatment at our acclaimed Spa at St Julien and enjoy our food and beverage menu. We hope to have you stay with us to experience it all over again the next time you're in Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently spent four nights at the St. Juilen while visiting relatives. It is a beautiful hotel just a short walk from Pearl St. We arrived at around 5pm and I believe check-in is at 4:30. Check in was pleasant and smooth. Our room on the 3rd floor was a very long walk from the elevator. In route the hallway was lined with uncollected room service trays. Include glasses outside our door. For a hotel at this price point it did not present a good first impression.
The good:
Our room had a beautiful view of the Flat Irons and a small balcony to enjoy.
The room was nicely appointed. Very comfortable bed.
Staff was friendly and capable.
Tea on Saturday was sparse, but tasty.
The bad:
Nasty stain on the carpet by the bed.
Remote control needed batteries.
Try to call housekeeping, connected to the restaurant (twice), and person answering did not know how to transfer me (when make reservations for tea I mentioned the problems to the concierge who assured me some one would address the issues). Never resolved. Glad they provided slippers!!
The indoor pool was nice, but very few lounge chairs.
Bacon and eggs at breakfast took over an hour!

All this said I would return to try again, as the staff tried very hard to please, location and amenities were above par.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking - ask for a room close to the elevators. Room 367 was a several minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear monkeyjah,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location, your room and its bed and views, and that you felt our staff tried hard to please. I'm so sorry to hear that there was a miscommunicaiton with our staff when it came to remedying the issues mentioned above. I will follow up with you directly to address your concerns.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the St. Julien after moving my daughter into CU dorms. My husband never stayed there and so I wanted him to see what it was all about because all he has done is complain how much it is to stay there. Well, he was in awe!! He doesn't want to stay anywhere else for future visits. We booked through I Prefer and so you get perks like later check out and upgrade in room if available so we did get a balcony room. Service as always was top notch. Love the in and out valet of the car. Ordered room service twice, it was good and quick. Overall great customer service for our stay!! We had the most amazing couples massage at the Spa with champaign right after. We will be back, can't say enough about this hotel. It is the best in Boulder!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Views on Pearl street side still give you mountain views. No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear pmazcomm,

Many thanks for your kind review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm happy to hear your husband was in awe, and even more so that you both enjoyed our property and all of our amenities, especially our level of service. I hope you and your husband will stay with us the next time you're in Boulder visiting your daughter at CU.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a business meeting here and wow, what an introduction to Boulder! St. Julien is conveniently located within walking distance to many attractions. It's also a beautiful place to be if you don't want to do anything away from the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and eager to assist. The bathrooms are huge and luxurious. Overall, just a great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Mike W,

I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your time at St Julien Hotel & Spa during your recent business meeting. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests and are glad we delivered such an experience for you. We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you’re in Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The St Julien is my number 1 choice for a stay in Boulder. I love the location, interior design (slate tiles and muted colors), the indoor pool, and the most comfortable beds. Book early because this hotel often sells out during certain University of Colorado events.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi ABWAIS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m pleased you enjoyed our prime location, interior décor and our amenities, and even more so to hear that you feel we are the number one hotel in Boulder; we certainly aim to provide guests with an exceptional experience and are very happy you enjoyed your time with us.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.