We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel in CO hotspot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% savings with B&B Pkg
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel in CO hotspot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Julien for a family wedding and had a great time. The best parts about this hotel are the location (very near the flat iron mountains) and the service. Every single staff person was nice, helpful and engaging. The only reason this is not a 5 star is that we had an issue with out A/C unit that took longer than it should have to fix over the course of our 3 night stay.

I would stay there again and would highly recommend this to anyone that would like to stay in style in Boulder.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room with a balcony and you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Tom B,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m glad you enjoyed our central location and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I apologize on behalf of our team for any inconvenience caused by the issues with the air conditioning unit. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    122
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
118
194
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've stayed here 5 times in the last two years and have never been disappointed.

The rooms facing the Flat Irons are my favorite and a little quieter. The beds are the standard all hotels should strive!!! AMAZING sleep night after night. Where can we get this bed, please?

Housekeeping is fantastic, the place is immaculate. The amenities are so cool and upscale.

The spa is so nice as well, pricey but worth it if you get the perfect therapist for you.

All the food options at St. Julien are for foodies! Hang out in the lobby near the fireplace for starters and the local band. Always great for people watching.

The staff is 5* all the way and willing to do anything to make your stay the best.

This is what most would expect with any stay at a luxury hotel.

Make sure you hike, go to Salt and walk along Pearl Street Mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear AOneWorldTraveler,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review, and for your repeat patronage of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm pleased to hear that the hotel's views, beds, amenities and more made your stay at St Julien comfortable and pleasant. Our mattresses are specially designed for St Julien, and are not sold in the retail market, unfortunately! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work - hotel is beautiful. Rooms are modern and clean. Facilities are very nice. Great location. Didn't get a great view but I know they have rooms with good views so be sure to ask for it. Concierge is great - and hotel staff is second to none. If you can afford it, stay here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Golfer_Girlie,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the service our team provided. We look forward to having you back again soon – hopefully for leisure next time.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old greenwich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great place to stay, in the heart of the historical district, just a block from Pearl St where there are a ton of good restaurants and shops. The people here are very nice (like everyone in Boulder...what's to not be happy about?) Rooms aren't huge but very nice. The pillows were all bumps and rocks, which was amazing given how good everything else was.

Room Tip: It's this or the Bolerado. mountain view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear edwardvick,

Thank you for your kind review - we appreciate your feedback. We strive to make every guests’ stay as comfortable as possible, and are always happy to provide, upon request, alternate pillows or linens to satisfy our guests' needs. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent staff, location, room, everything! Special thanks to Kristi at the Spa. I've had many massages in my life, but this was amazing! She was so caring, strong, sensitive and found the exact points on my body that were causing challenges. What a jewel !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear DeeDee16_12,

Thank you for the positive review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your service from Spa at St Julien, and will pass along your kind feedback to Kristi directly. We hope to have you as our guest - both in the hotel and the spa - again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location with views of the Flatirons from the courtyard. The patio has great atmosphere and it's a pleasure to linger there in the evenings for a drink and music provided several evenings during the week. The food is delectable and many healthy optiosn are available; service is flawless.
The rooms are spacious with natural tile showers and whirlpool tubs. Bath amenities are from their spa and quality products. The hotel is within walking distance of Pearl Street Mall and close to many good restaurants. The rooms facing Walnut Street can get loud at night with the music from the surrounding bars and restaurants. The spa is upscale (and expensive), but I highly recommend it.
Drawbacks: There is no free parking close to the hotel and the garage or valet parking is expensive. The St. Julien is the best hotel for business and leisure travel in Boulder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ingrid,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind feedback regarding the hotel's amenities, dining, location and more. Regarding parking, the Hotel offers valet parking 7 days a week, but there is complimentary city garage parking adjacent to the Hotel on weekends and holidays. Thank you once again for your feedback; we hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped here for a night during our trip across Colorado. Compared to the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, I thought this was a much better value for the money! The hotel is in a great location, very close to pearl street. Staff were extremely friendly, and we got to see fireworks at two different places from our hotel room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Milla3131,

Thank you for choosing St Julien Hotel & Spa for your recent visit to Boulder. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel's central location, as well as its views, and most importantly, the team at St Julien. We hope you'll return to the hotel again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.