We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Hotel and Spa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Boulder
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Hotel and Spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent staff, location, room, everything! Special thanks to Kristi at the Spa. I've had many massages in my life, but this was amazing! She was so caring, strong, sensitive and found the exact points on my body that were causing challenges. What a jewel !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear DeeDee16_12,

Thank you for the positive review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your service from Spa at St Julien, and will pass along your kind feedback to Kristi directly. We hope to have you as our guest - both in the hotel and the spa - again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    119
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
118
188
39
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location with views of the Flatirons from the courtyard. The patio has great atmosphere and it's a pleasure to linger there in the evenings for a drink and music provided several evenings during the week. The food is delectable and many healthy optiosn are available; service is flawless.
The rooms are spacious with natural tile showers and whirlpool tubs. Bath amenities are from their spa and quality products. The hotel is within walking distance of Pearl Street Mall and close to many good restaurants. The rooms facing Walnut Street can get loud at night with the music from the surrounding bars and restaurants. The spa is upscale (and expensive), but I highly recommend it.
Drawbacks: There is no free parking close to the hotel and the garage or valet parking is expensive. The St. Julien is the best hotel for business and leisure travel in Boulder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ingrid,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind feedback regarding the hotel's amenities, dining, location and more. Regarding parking, the Hotel offers valet parking 7 days a week, but there is complimentary city garage parking adjacent to the Hotel on weekends and holidays. Thank you once again for your feedback; we hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped here for a night during our trip across Colorado. Compared to the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, I thought this was a much better value for the money! The hotel is in a great location, very close to pearl street. Staff were extremely friendly, and we got to see fireworks at two different places from our hotel room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Milla3131,

Thank you for choosing St Julien Hotel & Spa for your recent visit to Boulder. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel's central location, as well as its views, and most importantly, the team at St Julien. We hope you'll return to the hotel again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Expensive but excellent service. Room met but did not exceed expectations. Some road noise. Very attentive staff. Very accessible to Pearl street restaurants. Enjoyed lunch at Jill's. the free bikes were very basic and challenging to use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ksg2013,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the service you received during your visit, as well as your lunch at Jill’s Restaurant, and the hotel's prime location near Pearl Street. I hope you'll stay with us again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After the debacle of the Stanley Hotel in Estes the St Julien was "our kinda hotel" At the same price for a far superior establishment!!. Service was classy and all connections proud of what the hotel is about. Boulder Co is certainly worth visiting and more so if you choose the St Julien. We will recommend Boulder and the St Julien over Denver and Browns Palace and spa any time .

Room Tip: Just book Street side could be noisy but curtains windows etc all world class
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear graham e,

Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay in Boulder, and that St Julien exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The St. Julien is in the heart of Boulder. It is a quiet retreat in a convenient location to shops, restaurants and businesses. Their food is great and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful. This is a luxury hotel with comfortable rooms and a nice overall atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a quiet corner room on the 3rd floor with great views of the mountains. Be specific in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you for your kind words regarding St Julien Hotel & Spa’s cuisine, team, location and accommodations. I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback from your stay with us, and am happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. We hope to have the chance to host you again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at St. Julien and I'm happy to say that the hotel continues to provide 5-star quality services. The check-in and check-out processes were flawless. Mornings started off great, compliments of the incredible breakfast served at Jill's. I took advantage of the breakfast package which provided for a $40 credit for only an additional $15. Nothing says awesome like waffles, fresh fruit, coffee, and a mimosa to kick off the day! Kristen and Nick provided exceptional service.

The bars were pretty quiet and uneventful for happy hour, but I enjoyed conversation with Brianna, and it's hard to argue with half off food and drink, especially when you can get a quality IPA and sandwich for cheap. My friends - who live miles from the hotel - agreed with that assessment. I didn't utilize all of the spa services but the massage impressed yet again. The one area for improvement - some of the linens and towels were worn and marked and could use replacement. I was surprised to run into that issue on more than one occasion, especially when everything else was just about perfect.

Bottom line - I hope to continue making annual trips to St. Julien!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear ACE44444,

Thank you for your continued patronage of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm pleased you enjoyed your spa and dining experiences at the hotel, and will share your compliments with Kristen, Nick and Brianna directly. We look forward to your return next year.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.