We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Spa nestled among hobo and hippy capital of the nation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Luxury Spa nestled among hobo and hippy capital of the nation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

St. Julien is one of the finer hotels in Colorado, if not the west. It is nestled at the base of a canyon in the foot hills, with the flatirons nearby and CU just a short distance off. It's also a short walk from the Pearl Street Mall, a delightfully funky promenade showing the work of local artists, a variety of food, some great coffee shops, street performers, and musicians. But after 8pm on a late spring weeknight, ironically, brings the luxury of the Spa into contact with what may be the hobo and hippy capital of the nation, as aggressive 20 somethings challenge passersby for food, cash, and womenfolk. It is an experience to, well, experience at least once.

In the meantime, the Spa is also an experience to experience at least once. Many rooms have an awe-inspiring view of the flatirons and foothills, as do the sitting areas and restaurants. A fire and patio provide a great environment for work or reading or chatting. Rooms are well-appointed and extremely comfortable and quiet. Large bathrooms with elaborate stone and tile furnishings are more than needed but are gorgeous.

Some will be annoyed or even alarmed by the juxtaposition of the hobo and the hotel. Enjoy the wonderful hotel experience but do consider the humanity of the hippy and how each of us can best provide hope and even constructive help for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Vince V,

Thank you for your kind words regarding St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed Spa at St Julien, your accommodations at the hotel, and Boulder’s colorful local culture. We hope to have you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    103
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
108
171
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

While staying in Boulder, Co. for a few months I treated myself to a half day at the St Julien Spa. I started with a facial, massage and ended with a pedicure. Every procedure was more than excellent and very relaxing. The Spa area is very nice along with the people that work there.

If you check into the hotel or spa they seem to remember you from the last visit and always greet you with a big smile. I think it is very impressive when a hotel/spa pays that much attention to the details.

If you go only for a spa procedure and are not staying at the hotel you can valet park your car.

The hotel is a very nice place with all the high end amenities and if you ask for a Flat Irons view and get it that is one of the best views from the hotel one can get. This hotel is located walking distance to Pearl Street and is walking distance to several great restaurants within a block from the entrance to the hotel. I recommend Brasserie 10 10.

Here is the link for the St Julien Hotel http://www.stjulien.com and the link for Brasserie 10 10 http://www.brasserietenten.com

Room Tip: Ask for a Flat Irons view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear kwanie,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit to Spa at St Julien. I'm pleased you enjoyed your treatments and the service you encountered. We look forward to your next visit – hopefully for an overnight stay as well.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the ratings having stayed at a Marriott here before that was awful. The rooms are small but well kept. Enjoyed the coffee maker although had to ask for extra capsules and Splenda. There was a large group that took up a lot of the lobby and outside area, our service was still good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Platty73,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations at St Julien Hotel & Spa, and hope we have the chance to host you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at the St. Julien for a long weekend and were highly impressed by its staff, room, and amenities. The pool was lovely as was my experience at the spa. I was thoroughly impressed by the concierge and the valet parking attendants. They were so courteous and accommodating. One of our daughters has celiac disease and the restaurant staff made sure she could safely enjoy her meal. Also love the free wifi and turndown service! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Tula E,

Thank you for the review of your long weekend at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and service you received, and that the staff at Jill’s was able to accommodate your daughter’s dietary restrictions. We look forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The St. Julien has it all, great location, staff and vibe. Spent the afternoon at their spa which was very nice. Outdoor patio was full of guests listening to the local band during happy hour. Rooms are contemporary style and spacious, bathrooms have granite/rock features that tie in nicely with the Boulder landscape. You can easily walk to all the shops and restaurants in downtown Boulder; Pearl Street is a shirt block, ask for a mountain view room if you aren't a local to see the unique features of the Flatirons.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Traveltoujours,

Thank you for your review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re glad that you enjoyed the location, accommodations and Spa at St Julien. We hope to have you back as a guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an awesome hotel, specially how attentive their staff is. I stayed here for 3 months on work, and would leave all my clothes and luggage, taking back only my laptop. The staff would also give me my favorite rooms, and take care of every tiny detail - eg: leaving chocolates on my pillow in the flavor I liked!

Room Tip: Make sure to order the ahi tuna, in whatever form the restaurant offers it up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear TomSosa,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I am glad you enjoyed your extended stay with us – we hope to have you as our guest again, perhaps next time for pleasure.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We drove up from Denver and spent a night at the St. Julien in Boulder in advance of the annual Bolder Boulder race on Memorial Day. The property is great, location is outstanding and the service was excellent! It's definitely pricey but it's warranted relative to other Boulder alternatives. They did a special/discounted "carb loading" buffet for the racers on Sunday night and had complimentary shuttle service on Monday morning. We plan to make this an annual tradition!

Room Tip: Request something other than "terrace view". It essentially means "roof"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Dan A,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a nice home base while you were in town for the Bolder Boulder. We typically offer these types of pre-race amenities to runners each year, and are glad you enjoyed them. We are looking forward to having you back for the 2014 Bolder Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.