We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Boulder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% savings with B&B Pkg
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must stay in Boulder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every trip to the CO front range would not be complete without at least a one night stay at the St. Julien.
This trip we also visited the spa, which would extremely sleek and a real treat. Also, make sure to reserve the mountain view rooms, they are worth the extra price.
It's like staying in a 4 star mountain resort but down in the eclectic town of Boulder.
Food is fantastic and the lobby music and buzz is always so much fun. My wife and I always enjoy!

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mark090702,

Thanks for your review of St Julien, and your repeat visits. I’m happy to hear you were able to experience Spa at St Julien on this trip, and that you and your wife enjoyed it. We’re looking forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    122
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
118
194
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is a gem of a hotel in the perfect location. We have stayed here twice. The service is impeccable and the staff is over the top friendly and helpful. The lobby is always bustling with music and people gathering. The rooms are surprisingly quiet for being on a busy street. We've stayed on mountainside and "city" side and both rooms were spacious, quiet, and nicely appointed. The spa is good and the pool is lovely. The location is PERFECT- walking distant to more than enough eateries, bars, shopping, and just strolling. This is the only place we'll ever stay when we're in Boulder!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear TomRec,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit to St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We’re grateful for your repeat visits, and look forward to your next stay with us.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I and our two children (1 adult and 1 teen) stayed in 2 rooms for 6 wonderful nights at the end of March. Rooms were comfortable and clean with the exception of the carpeting, which could have used a shampoo. Bathroom amenities were wonderful- bathrobes, loofa and bath salts to use in the soaking tub, body wash, lotion, soaps and shampoos all in the canyon mint scent used at the spa, making for a seamless transition from spa to room. We enjoyed waking up to the city view ( although we could see the mountains as well) each morning. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Concierge and valet services were great. My daughter and I relaxed with facials and she and her dad had massages. Spa service was a nice experience for us all. Spotlessly clean lap pool and large hot tub with waterfall were nice perks at the end of busy days. Location was awesome- just steps to hiking path, boutiques, coffee shops and trendy restaurants. We felt very pampered during our stay and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 550travelgirl48,

We appreciate the feedback regarding your family’s recent stay at St Julien. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, the service you received, Spa at St Julien, and the hotel’s location and views. We hope to have you as our guests again in the near future.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel was gorgeous, lobby beautiful, great patio for drinks, awesome (though small) indoor pool and amazing spa. Had the best massage of my life there. The hotel rooms are very nice as are the bathrooms. And the location cannot be beat in downtown Boulder. I have no reservations recommending and encourage you to stay here if in your budget!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear KVG_11,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay – and spa treatment, and hope to have you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I initially picked the St Julien because of location and did not really expect much given that it is not associated with any of the 5 star names that we were so used to, such as the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc. but our stay ended up being one of our most memorable ever! We were really impressed with everything about the hotel - rooms and bathrooms were extremely cozy and luxurious and there is so much attention to small details. The staff was super friendly and the place is run very much to the standards of a five star establishment. The lobby was fun and lively at night with a live band. Of course, the location can't be beat - we walked to the nearby breweries and restaurants. Parking was so convenient being right downstairs from the hotel and and can be accessed via an elevator in the lobby. We won't stay any other place in Boulder - this place is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Pam M,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien. I’m so pleased you found the hotel to be of five-star quality – it’s what we strive to achieve every day. I’m also happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the hotel’s live entertainment, location and service. We’re looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed there with my husband and two kids while my my husband attended conference for a couple days. Service was Ritz Carlton level!! The location was great, we were able to walk around to most locations. Concierge was usually very helpful. I liked the fresh fruit and constant availability of water bottles - such an inexpensive way for them to add value. The doormen were always so helpful. My son left his jacket in the car and they went to get it from the valeted car for us.

Would definitely stay there again if we are in Boulder!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear familyluxurytravel,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your family’s recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service you experienced, and some of the extra touches, such as fresh fruit and complimentary bottled water. We look forward to having you as our guests again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the St Julien in January for three nights to relax after a week of skiing in Vail. I picked this hotel based only on the fact that it rated so high and the location was great in Boulder. It is just 2 blocks from Pearl Street Mall. There is a Chophouse across the street and Rio Grande restaurant is one block away.

Hotel:
The hotel is casual but classy. Lots of stone, glass and wood. Not huge like a big hotel chain which was nice but a full service hotel in every respect. The door men, valets, check in, concierge and bellmen were all top notch. Very helpful and made some great suggestions as to places to eat, see etc. Service was prompt and courteous every time without being pretentious.
Parking was $20 per night but the valets were ready 24 hours and your car was secure as opposed to parking in the public lot next door. Valet was worth it.\
There is great happy hour every night and entertainment in the lobby on weekends. They even put out lots of wide screen televisions when the football playoffs were on.

Room
Not the biggest rooms around but very nice with high end linens, towels, fixtures, four poster bed and a great bathroom all done in stone. We had a nice balcony that looked at the mountains and had furniture outside that would be great if it was not 10 degrees outside.
Very quiet hallways and spotless.
Housekeeping visited twice daily and turn down service was nightly.

Spa
Again excellent facilities and staff. Very clean and all services available. Make sure to try services particular to the Hotel.

This place is rated number one for a reason and it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Room high up and facing mountains is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear waimea2vail_12,

Thank you for the detailed review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased your accommodations, Spa at St Julien and the hotel’s location, service and entertainment offerings exceeded your expectations. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.