We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Escape Package
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel was gorgeous, lobby beautiful, great patio for drinks, awesome (though small) indoor pool and amazing spa. Had the best massage of my life there. The hotel rooms are very nice as are the bathrooms. And the location cannot be beat in downtown Boulder. I have no reservations recommending and encourage you to stay here if in your budget!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear KVG_11,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay – and spa treatment, and hope to have you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    92
    27
    17
    15
See reviews for
97
163
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I initially picked the St Julien because of location and did not really expect much given that it is not associated with any of the 5 star names that we were so used to, such as the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc. but our stay ended up being one of our most memorable ever! We were really impressed with everything about the hotel - rooms and bathrooms were extremely cozy and luxurious and there is so much attention to small details. The staff was super friendly and the place is run very much to the standards of a five star establishment. The lobby was fun and lively at night with a live band. Of course, the location can't be beat - we walked to the nearby breweries and restaurants. Parking was so convenient being right downstairs from the hotel and and can be accessed via an elevator in the lobby. We won't stay any other place in Boulder - this place is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Pam M,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien. I’m so pleased you found the hotel to be of five-star quality – it’s what we strive to achieve every day. I’m also happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the hotel’s live entertainment, location and service. We’re looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed there with my husband and two kids while my my husband attended conference for a couple days. Service was Ritz Carlton level!! The location was great, we were able to walk around to most locations. Concierge was usually very helpful. I liked the fresh fruit and constant availability of water bottles - such an inexpensive way for them to add value. The doormen were always so helpful. My son left his jacket in the car and they went to get it from the valeted car for us.

Would definitely stay there again if we are in Boulder!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear familyluxurytravel,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your family’s recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service you experienced, and some of the extra touches, such as fresh fruit and complimentary bottled water. We look forward to having you as our guests again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the St Julien in January for three nights to relax after a week of skiing in Vail. I picked this hotel based only on the fact that it rated so high and the location was great in Boulder. It is just 2 blocks from Pearl Street Mall. There is a Chophouse across the street and Rio Grande restaurant is one block away.

Hotel:
The hotel is casual but classy. Lots of stone, glass and wood. Not huge like a big hotel chain which was nice but a full service hotel in every respect. The door men, valets, check in, concierge and bellmen were all top notch. Very helpful and made some great suggestions as to places to eat, see etc. Service was prompt and courteous every time without being pretentious.
Parking was $20 per night but the valets were ready 24 hours and your car was secure as opposed to parking in the public lot next door. Valet was worth it.\
There is great happy hour every night and entertainment in the lobby on weekends. They even put out lots of wide screen televisions when the football playoffs were on.

Room
Not the biggest rooms around but very nice with high end linens, towels, fixtures, four poster bed and a great bathroom all done in stone. We had a nice balcony that looked at the mountains and had furniture outside that would be great if it was not 10 degrees outside.
Very quiet hallways and spotless.
Housekeeping visited twice daily and turn down service was nightly.

Spa
Again excellent facilities and staff. Very clean and all services available. Make sure to try services particular to the Hotel.

This place is rated number one for a reason and it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Room high up and facing mountains is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear waimea2vail_12,

Thank you for the detailed review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased your accommodations, Spa at St Julien and the hotel’s location, service and entertainment offerings exceeded your expectations. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My room was very comfortable, scrupulously clean. I loved the large cozy armchair and ottoman. As mentioned by another review, I didn't love that the bedpost stood between that chair and the TV. But for reading, it was perfect.
Service was flawless and unassuming everywhere: bellmen, valet parkers, front desk, concierge, restaurant. Dinner at Jill's was delicious and inventive. The pool was clean and inviting. It was slightly awkward to have to walk around the pool to get to the gym, which was surprisingly small but well-equipped and fine for my needs.
I liked the lobby, expansive yet warm at the same time with its comfortable, casual furniture and large fireplace. It was snowing throughout my visit: it was a constant struggle to keep the dark, wood floors clean. I wondered whether they wished they'd used stone.
Location in Downtown Boulder was great.
I was on a business trip and didn't have time to use the spa. I look forward to coming back for leisure and try their services then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear SuzyG1,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. I’m happy you enjoyed the service you received, as well as your meal at Jill’s. We too look forward to having you back for pleasure next time, and hope you have a chance to take in that spa treatment.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao paulo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed four nights and loved it. Top staff, breakfast, sauna, room, and great live music at night. The happy hour on the weekend was an event. Beautiful, with great location! Concierge service helped particularly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear felipevaz,

Your compliments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your kind review of the St Julien’s service, location and entertainment. We hope to host you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed at the St. Julien on a number of times in Boulder, most recently on my wedding night. The accommodations are superbly clean, comfortable, and thoughtfully designed. The staff is helpful and nice. Some rooms have excellent views - others less so. It's worth asking if they have any view rooms available during your stay.

Not a five-star experience on the level that you might have in a cream of the crop hotel in a large city, and sometimes seems every so slightly expensive for what you'll receive here in Boulder, but certainly a very good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear bmust,

Thank you for your comments, for choosing St Julien Hotel & Spa for your wedding night accommodations, and most importantly, for you repeat business. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Hotel
St Julien Boulder
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.