We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Escape Package
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Hands down favorite place to stay in a very cool city. Rooms are well appointed...great spa...upscale lounge...really good work out facilities and pool...close to all the action. No complaints other than it can be pricey if you are on a corporate budget.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed St Julien’s accommodations, amenities and location, and look forward to welcoming you as our guest again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    92
    27
    17
    15
See reviews for
97
163
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while looking at CU for my daughter. The hotel could not have been nicer or the staff more welcoming. The room was immaculate and beautiful, and every staff member I came in contact with, from the front desk to the valet, was terrific. When we were departing, the valet asked if we had everything, listing items people often forget...I then remembered to run back up for my phone charger! I am not usually one to hang out in the lobby, but the huge fireplace and comfy seating made it very cozy. Should my daughter decided to attend school here it will be my home away from home. (she asked if she could live there instead of the dorm!)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a view of the Flatirons. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear skigolf,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We are pleased that the service you encountered on your recent visit exceeded your expectations. We look forward to becoming your “home away from home,” should your daughter decide to attend the University of Colorado.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I took a runaway weekend to Boulder and stayed once again at this wonderful hotel. If possible I think the St Julien has become even more perfect than our last stay. The room decor, the bed and linens, the bath products are all the very finest. The location is ideal for roaming the famed Boulder Pearl St Mall without being right on the mall, and the nearby restaurants were wonderful. See a review of brunck at Brasserie 1010.
This is a great getaway hotel and spa! We love it, and enjoyed concluding our evening out with a glass of wine in the lobby with a jazz combo playing in the corner. Great people watching, and great customer service.
here is a tip - Parking is free in the adjacent Boulder parking structure; so save some $$ as you don't need valet parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear denverrjd,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel & Spa. We are pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your accommodations, the hotel’s live entertainment and most of all, the customer service you received during you recent stay. We appreciate your comments and feedback (please note, however, that the parking structure adjacent to St Julien only offers complimentary parking on the weekends). We look forward to your next getaway with us.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here while my daughter was visiting CU-Boulder and was amazed by this metropolitan jewel in the middle of Boulder's bohemian downtown Pearl street area. Each evening they featured a different type of live music in the reception area. (...Wednesday - Salsa, Thursday - Jazz/Classical, Friday - Funk, etc.) The rooms were large and fresh with exceptional views of the mountains; though It seems every "view" around boulder is exceptional. The staff was friendly and accomodating and the housekeepers were not at all intrusive. Instead of an early morning knock and "HOUSEKEEPING" call through the door - they were attentive to our comings and goings. We always returned to a freshly made bed and full ice bucket.
Our first morning was spent in the Spa. (It was the best decision, and one I plan to make again.) We started our visit relaxed and refreshed.
I rarely post reviews about my travels but couldn't let this one pass. The St Julien hotel and spa in Boulder was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear rshaver13,

We understand it takes time to post these reviews and we greatly appreciate you doing so. Thank you for your kind feedback – your experience is what our entire team strives to achieve for each of our guests, and we are pleased to hear you call our property ‘exceptional.’ We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you’re in Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I recently stayed here for a quick overnight and was very impressed. Upon arrival the doormen greeted us and I could just tell the rest would be as good. In fact, the rooms, lobby, service and facilities were all top of the line. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable and modern rooms and an excellent location are all reasons to make me go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear BellinaRaffy,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at St Julien Hotel and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, the lobby, facilities, and most of all, the service from our dedicated staff. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in February for a business meeting. The hotel is gorgeous. Very well-appointed rooms, not too big, not too small, in a wonderful location. The staff was extremely attentive and pleasant. Their catered food for the business meetings were more than above average. The one time that I ate at the in-hotel restaurant was a Sunday brunch which I thought was also above average for a hotel of this caliber. I did have one "frownie" moment. On the Friday night, they booked a live dance band for the main lobby lounge which drew in a large number of people who literally whooped it up for the entire night. Literally there was no place to hide from the high volume party. The hotel bar, located right beside the lounge, was crowded with the spillover, and was basically intolerable. So the notion of going out for a nice dinner and then returning to the hotel for a relaxing drink before retiring was simply not a possibility. Even in the room, you could hear and feel the noise. I felt sorry for those on lower floors than my fourth. I was told by the wait staff that this was actually more common than I had thought. I found it quite odd that a spa hotel promoting relaxation would convert into a night club. Saturday night, they booked a more sedate jazz band so the experience was less painful but still intrusive if you wanted to simply chill in peace. You may want to check with the hotel if they have booked bands and of what genre during your stay.

Room Tip: Highest floor in case there is a live band booked in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Waterloon,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s accommodations, dining and service. I apologize that you found the lobby to be noisy and overly crowded one evening during your stay. The entertainment does vary, and is typically situated outside on the Terrace in the summertime (depending on weather), which makes for a more relaxing ambiance inside. For more information on whether or not entertainment will be available in the lobby or Terrace during your stay, and what genre of music will be represented, visit http://www.stjulien.com/events-entertainment.

Thank you once again for your feedback; we hope to have you as our guest again the next time you visit Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the St. Julien for a long weekend during the Boulder Film Festival, and it was a great choice. I was in a King Mountain View room, which was very comfortable. Beautiful, big bathroom, comfortable bed, nice view of the flatirons. Everything is walkable from here -- many great restaurants and bars. Unfortunately never had time to try the spa but it looked nice and I heard great things. The staff was very friendly and the whole experience was great. I did visit colleagues at their hotel, the nearby Boulderado, and it made me very happy that i had chosen the St. Julien.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear duggernaut,

We are pleased that you chose St Julien Hotel and Spa for your recent Boulder vacation. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel’s rooms, location and staff. We hope you are able to experience the spa during your next visit, and look forward to having you back.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Hotel
St Julien Boulder
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.