We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Boulder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Southern california
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best in Boulder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The St. Julien is our favorite Boulder hotel! The rooms are tasteful, new and comfortable. The hotel has a great location, very easy to walk to the Boulder Mall or up to "The Hill" area. The restaurant is reliably good though not crowded and there are so many other restaurants just a few minutes walk away. The lobby bar is festive and lively, especially on football weekends. The outdoor patio area has a great view of the Flatirons and a big grassy space that the kids can goof around on while the adults have a cocktail. It's been a while since I used the spa but my husband likes the facilities and as I remember they are fairly large and decorated in a stone and wood, zen meets mountain style.

Room Tip: The Flatiron view is very lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Lovethelux65,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel and Spa. We are pleased to hear that so many aspects of the hotel exceeded your expectations. Your review is what we strive to deliver and appreciate your positive recommendation. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    109
    30
    19
    17
See reviews for
115
181
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for business and would like to stay longer. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel has a wonderful relaxed feeling to it. My room is very nicely done and super clean. Lots of nice dining choices in walking distance.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear seaandski4us,

Thank you for taking the time to review the St Julien Hotel and Spa. Your compliments regarding the staff are greatly appreciated and we are pleased to hear that your stay left you feeling relaxed. We hope to have you stay with us a bit longer, and for leisure, the next time you’re in Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stay here if you can, but if you can't, then at least check out the spa! Beautiful and relaxing, with all the pampering extras you would want. I had a great massage a while back, and I'm looking forward to returning in the future. Easy, downtown location in Boulder.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jetfiretraveler,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your visit to Spa at St Julien. I'm pleased you enjoyed your massage, and you left feeling relaxed. We look forward to your next visit to the spa, as well as the hotel.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had never been to Boulder before and was enjoying it very much and previously didn't plan on spending the night there. After a few drinks, shopping and some tapas my girlfriend and I stumbled upon the Hotel St. Julien. We decided to fork over the $200+ (almost 300) for a mountain view facing room. I've gotta say, I was very, very glad we did. Not only was this one of the nicest hotels I had ever been in in my life-besting even $500 a night places in Europe, but the view was breathtaking. The in room jacuzzi also made for an extremely awesome night. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.

Room Tip: Get mountain facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear whatitdothug,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel and Spa. Your enthusiastic response is what we strive to deliver to each of our guests. The mountain view rooms are a favorite at the hotel and we are pleased that you and your girlfriend were able to enjoy one. We hope to have you both as our guests again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in January on business.

Its not my first time in town ,having stayed at the Boulderado before - which I enjoyed - but this was a very fine stay indeed.

Its difficult to find fault with anything really. The rooms are very well fitted out and I think the staff are excellent.

As a business traveller sometimes its the small things/attention to detail you notice. For example as a habit I do enjoy a cup of tea 1st thing in the morning- especially when travelling. In so many places the single Breakfast tea bag you get and use is not replaced. Perhaps they think that fruit teabag still remaining is enough if they indeed even give that any thought. Not so here. The exact tea I used was replaced . After the second day - they left me two ! Someone thought - hey ,maybe he would like a second cup. A small thing perhaps but a big sign of standards,training and people who care.

Finally the view out the lobby window is wonderful with a large glass vista onto the mountains.I could have gazed out for ages.

The only slightly un-pleasant aspect is the occasional electric shocks you receive from the conditions created by the altitude on pressing the elevator/switches. Certainly not their fault but be aware.

I'll be glad to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear dvdstv,

We are pleased to hear about your recent stay at St Julien Hotel and Spa. Our goal is to provide each guest with exceptional service and ensure their stay is as enjoyable as can be. We look forward to having you as our guest next time you visit Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A good friend and I were planning to see Robin Williams in Boulder so I decided to make it a mini-vacation and book a room at the St. Julien. I live in Denver and my friend lives in Nederland. From valet to check in to the bar to room service to the room it was luxury all the way. My friend spent over an hour in the bathtub after we got home at midnight! Local blues band The Delta Sonics played from 7 to 10 and the lobby was filled with dancing people. A very lively scene. I wish I had (and could afford) another 24 hours at the St. Julien and in Boulder.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear brentholio,

We are pleased to hear that you and your companion enjoyed your recent visit to St Julien Hotel and Spa. Our goal is always to provide guests with exceptional service, and we are happy that you felt that the experience provided luxury throughout. We hope to have you for another “stay-cation” soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is my second stay at St. Julien's and as always, I was warmly greeted by the bell hops and my car whisked away so I didn't need to worry about it anymore. I was staying this time with a girlfriend in a double queen room with views of the flatirons. The rooms are as always spacious and comfortable, however, I noticed a lot of stains on the carpet and that it felt very hard underfoot as if it was wearing out - which it was. This is the reason I've only given 4 satars this visit as I would have expected a hotel of this quality to have attended to this matter many, many months ago and replaced the carpet. I pointed it out to the manager who saidit would be replaced soon. But "soon" is too late for me.
All the staff were wonderful, from the bell hops to the turn down maids, to the wait staff and the spa. However, the spa prices seem to have risen astronimically and being expected to pay an extra 15-20% gratuity onto what was an already steep price for treatment left a bad taste in my mouth. So did the 20% gratuity for room service. However I couldn't fault the food or service and we reluctantly left after 4 nights, well fed and relaxed. Since I felt the spa prices were so high and i wasn't impressed with the worn carpet, I'll probably be looking elsewhere for my next spa experience.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room with views of the flatirons, they're bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Aussiewriter,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel and Spa. Your repeat business is greatly appreciated, and I am happy to hear that the service you encountered during your stay exceeded your expectations. Your comments on the room appointment upgrades and pricing will be taken to heart. We hope to host you again in the near future.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#2 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.