We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review for spa only absolutely first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Boulder
Colorado
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“review for spa only absolutely first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I live locally and received a gift card to the spa. I had been to the hotel for various events and it is very beautiful with wonderful service. It is definitely for a higher end experience but still a little of the down to earth vibe that is Colorado and Boulder. I will admit that I wondered if the spa treatments would live up to the hype or if it would be posh for posh's sake. I can absolutely tell you that if you are looking for a first class class service the St Julien delivers. I have been to spas around the world and this one can definitely compete. The facilities are beautiful, well maintained and constantly checked. The spa is small, so I did find the changing area a bit cramped when there was a party of about 6 other guests present. Not really conducive to lounging and relaxing. However, when they left it was just fine. Use of the small fitness center. Hot tub, lap pool (approx two lanes unmarked), steam room, dry sauna are included. I did take time to partake of them all. My services with Eric were exceptional. He clearly knows what he is doing and is the ultimate professional. I had they High C treatment and a massage. I often get treatments that in some way left me wanting more. Not necessarily a bad service, just something missing. Both of my treatments left me completely content. The $5 valet parking is a very nice touch as well.

You can likely get a fine massage or treatment for less in the area, but if you truly want an exceptional all-around experience, I would definitely recommend the St Julien.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear coquelle,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit to Spa at St Julien. We are pleased to hear that the experience exceeded your expectations, and left you feeling content. Your compliments are greatly appreciated.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    119
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
118
188
39
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is in the center of the action in downtown Boulder. We stayed becuase we were attending an event nearby. We were "upgraded" to a mountain view king due to being an I Prefer member. Sadly, the room was cramped with little room between the bed and the armore/TV center. A check of other rooms that were being cleaned revealed that they were all pretty much the same size. The decor was pleasant and modern. The linens were superb as was the bed. The entire hotel was very clean. The bathroom was very spacious and featured a deep soak tub with a seperate shower and a seperate water closet. The toiletries were delightful and fitting for a 4 diamond hotel. Every staff member were encountered gace us a smile and a friendly greeting. Upon checking in the clerk provided all sorts of useful information as it was our first time visiting. We had the bed and breafast package and were suprised to learn that the gratuity for breakfast was not part of the package which was a bit unusual. The breakfast at Jill's was improperly cooked with both entrees which was dissapointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SilverBear303,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location, amenities and most of all, the service from our staff. However, we are sorry that there was a mistake in the preparation of your breakfast at Jill’s. We apologize for the error, and hope that you give us the opportunity to host you as our guests again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Don't even think about staying in Denver! Drive the 30 minutes and have your best stay ever. My buddy from Ohio and I are going to treat our wives on a trip to Boulder this winter. Relax and let them have an incredible weekend. Staff is the BEST! Concierge Catherine is the best I've seen. When I called in and asked for her to get me reservations at my favorite restautant she asked what day I was checking in and was going to see if there were going to be any room upgrades available during my stay. Who does that anymore!?! Front desk staff is so efficient and doorman and bell staff go above and beyond. Never been happier than the St. Julien to tip the staff. Sure you pay for your room but the extra money......actually I'd pay more! Don't miss out. And take the drive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear afbnoles1,

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding St Julien Hotel & Spa. Your compliments regarding our staff and service demonstrate the experience we strive to achieve for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you both, and your wives, this winter.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our son goes to CU Boulder, so this location is perfect PLUS it is within walking distance to everything. They have great customer service and the grounds are beautiful. When staying there I highly suggest a King Veranda room. The patio/deck is huge and you get a great view of the Flatiron moutains. You can also see the Gazebo and fountain down below. I like this side best as I once requested a 2 queen suite and was overlooking and intersection with a 4 way stoplight. Alot of the balcony rooms DO face Canyon Street, so make sure you tell them a King Veranda or if you want a Queen, I suggest a terrace view, no balcony, but nice room. The Lobby i very inviting and Jill''s is a great place to have breakfast and dinner. However the best place for Happy hour and tapas, is right next door at "The Med". Unbelievable! We also had dinner at "The Kitchen". Go to the one where you can make reservations. They have "the kitchen next door" and "the kitchen upstairs" (walk-in only), so it kind of gets confusing. Food was excellent! The Flatiron mall not to far for some great shopping, but if you feel like going to Denver, check out Cherry Creek Crossing. Lots to do here. Love this place.
Oh, and by the way, The Ritz Carlton in Bachelor Gulch is to die for (about 1 1/2 hour drive), but that is another review!

Room Tip: King Veranda..trust me :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear bling15,

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation of St Julien Hotel and Spa, as well as the wonderful town of Boulder. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, close to your son at CU, and look forward to hosting you next time you are in town visiting your son.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Everything about the St. Julien is excellent - rooms, staff, food, location and services. I stayed here on business for a meeting held at the hotel, and it was very pleasant. The St. Julien offers affordable luxury. I'd love to come back here again for a vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear happycat14,

We are pleased to hear that all aspects of St Julien met your needs from the rooms, staff and service to the food and location. Your positive feedback is the greatest compliment we can receive and we look forward to having you as our guest on your next vacation.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just about everything was top notch. Our 4th floor room was quiet, the bed very comfortable and I appreciated the blackout curtains. We walked to a different restaurant every night - did not dine at the hotel. The bell captain and his staff were exceptional. Our car was always waiting for us no matter how short the notice and the staff was helpful and friendly. The spa has a nice infinity lap pool and well stocked fitness room. They spa was understaffed when I showed up; the front desk couldn't find the concierge to show me to a locker. My only other issue was some of the housekeeping procedures. We had turn down service only on our second nite. The third nite, housekeeping arrived as we were getting ready for dinner and I asked her to comeback a little later. That didn't happen -- and nothing on the first nite. Also, I really like all of the green characteristics of the hotel. I hung my used towel up (per the printed instructions) to use again but it was replaced every day. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear STLJudy,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and location. We would love to have you dine with us at our own Jill’s Restaurant next time you stay with us and try its innovative food programs which incorporate local ingredients from Boulder and the larger Rocky Mountain region. I apologize for the turn down service and will personally address the issue with our staff. We look forward to hosting you as our guest next time you are in town.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful hotel at a superb location. Went there two times and was both times enthusiastic. Great rooms and service, good views of the Flatirons. Fantastic pool area. Very good experience all around. Can only recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear JayJay,

We are pleased to hear that your recent experience with us exceeded your expectations. Your continued visits are greatly appreciated; we hope they continue for years to come.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.